Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Kings
I first got into KISS in late 1997, and as such, was giddy with excitement at the thought of a new album. Unfortunately, the expectations could never be lived up to, but the album remains strong, without being incredible.

The main highlights are the energetic title track, Within, Into the Void and the fist pumping anthem I Pledge Allegiance. Others are very...
Published on 1 July 2006 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I think this piece disappointed many a KISS fan. But, hey! The boys were back together, after 17 odd years apart!! There are some cool tracks, like the title track and, Ace's Into The Void etc. They tried to recapture Destroyer here, but, I think Revenge already did that.
Published 1 month ago by J.J.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Kings, 1 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
I first got into KISS in late 1997, and as such, was giddy with excitement at the thought of a new album. Unfortunately, the expectations could never be lived up to, but the album remains strong, without being incredible.

The main highlights are the energetic title track, Within, Into the Void and the fist pumping anthem I Pledge Allegiance. Others are very fine like We are One, Dreamin' and Journey of 1,000 Years but the album is a little too let down by (seemingly) overdone celebration about the Reunion. Also I do not like the production which sounds far to heavy in bogging down the music rather than just letting it growl.

Overall, a strong album, although not quite up there with KISS best, it is still worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KISS at the top of their game, doing what they do best... writing rock n' roll anthems., 22 Mar 2009
By 
David Calcano (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
It is well documented that his album is not fully with the original lineup, but I tell you, even being a huge an of Ace & Peter myself, this is album blew me away at ALL angles. Clearly, when the band was writing they wanted to recreate Destroyer in terms of the structure of the record, they even wanted to get Bob Ezrin to produce it but he was unavailable. Their goal was to make a brilliant record, and according to this reviewer they did it, no matter what the recording lineup was. The songs speak for themselves.

Incredible fells short of the quality of the songwriting of this album, the title track will take you another level, it's one of those songs that should be up there with "detroit rock city", Paul Stanley's writing and vocals are just at the top of the game. It is probably in my all time top 10 songs from KISS. "Dreamin'" and "Raise your glasses" are in the same level, some of greatest songs Paul has written. The riff from Dreamin' is fantastic, just classic KISS... the guitar solo is also brilliant no matter bloody played it.

"Into the void", is the only track where Ace sings lead vocals in the entire song, and it just rocks tour world man, the melody of chorus is fantastic and the verses are just plain Ace at its best. This is probably one of the best song on the record.

"Journey of 1.000 years", is musically in the vibe of 'Great Expectations' , is just amazing! fully orchestral... this again one of those songs in my top 10 of kiss songs. The melodies are just from another world, and is probably the best songs that Gene has written in 20 years, he just has THE MELODY, when he pens melodies like 'Goin' Blind' is unsurpassable, this song is one of those.

No matter what other reviewers said, this is an AMAZING album, and should be at the top of the KISS records, you won't regret it.

Let the music play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back and Rocking, Long Time Coming, Worth the Wait, 29 July 2005
By 
J Kilby - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
Fans screamed for it, the record company demanded it, and the "Hottest Band in the World" finally got their act together to put a new record on the shelves.
We wanted the best - but did we get it?
This album kicks off in high gear with the growling title track, PSYCHO CIRCUS. Very heavy, an excellent "WE'RE BACK!!" showcase for the return of Peter Criss and Ace Frehley to the band, and a fine opening number for their live shows. But can we trust this track? Is it the best on the album, as is so often the case with opening tracks on rock CDs? Nope, you can breath easy, PSYCHO CIRCUS is no one-trick pony.
The album has a bunch of VERY catchy anthems - far more than any KISS album since the 70s - RAISE YOUR GLASSES, YOU WANTED THE BEST, and I PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE TO THE STATE OF ROCK AND ROLL. All of these are absolute winners, and they're not alone.
Ace Frehley's INTO THE VOID is a kick-ass return to form for the SpaceAce, a thundering surf tune shining with his signature playing style. Frehley's freewheeling style has been missing from KISS' albums for 20 years, and though his replacements have been terrific guitarists, none have such a distinctive character!
WITHIN, WE ARE ONE and DREAMIN' are good tunes that get overshadowed by the strength of the other tracks, but don't write them off - these are not disposable tracks.
The album is slightly tainted by a truly awful ballad that I skip every time - I FINALLY FOUND MY WAY. Sad to say, this is Peter Criss' only vocal lead on the album, but to be honest his performance on this song is weak and a poor reflection of his tremendous singing voice.
The album closes with a slow but rather stirring track, JOURNEY OF 1000 YEARS, which is rather hard to describe. There's something almost Beatles-esque about it, with hints of orchestration, but it fits perfectly into the album.
The slight cheat here is that a number of additional musicians allegedly contributed to the album, covering for Criss and Frehley when things did not run so smoothly with core members Stanley and Simmons. I was surprised to see that Frehley contributed one song, and Criss none.
But does this affect the album? Actually, not really.
PSYCHO CIRCUS was a long time coming, and on the whole it was very much worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Circus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Got the 2014 reissue on vinyl and was amazed with the look of the album. It's a must have if your a kiss collector just for the 3D cover. It truly looks amazing and the sound quality is superb. It may not be your typical sounding KISS album but the songs are good either way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is regarding the vinyl reissue, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Circus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
fantastic rarely leave reviews but must for this as its an absolute joy to at last have an offical copy of this great album. great cover ,great songs ,i think i like this album even more than i did before on this format highly recomend getting this to anyone who likes kiss worth every penny !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost...., 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
This is a good comeback album from the original band line up, it just isn't the classic that was needed to consolidate the position they found themselves in following a hugely succesful reunion tour. Although its possible, that while there was a massive demand to see the legendary live show one more time, there were nothing like the same number of people interested in seeing an album of new material from the band.
Anyway, whatever the resaons that it failed to do as well as expected, the boys certainly did their best to recreate the sound of their 70's heyday. The best tracks are We Are One, Journey of a Thousand Years, Raise Your Glasses, Finally Found My Way and You Wanted the Best. Definately worth a purchase and, happily, bears no resemblance to Carnival of Souls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KISS are back with a bang!, 13 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
Oh man, does this album ever begin with a not so much a bang, as an earth-shattering, ear-splitting explosion! The opening track is one of the best KISS tracks in a very long time, really high powered. The next six tracks are all very good, albeit not classic KISS....but they are all good aditions to the KISS library. Peter Criss' song "I finally found my way" is a bit of a let down, as it isn't a patch on "Beth". The ninth track, "Dreamin'" is a direct rip-off of Alice Cooper's "Eighteen", and isn't anything to write home about anyway. The final track is far too ponderous, and was a big anti-climax. However, just on the strength of the first seven super-charged tracks, this album is worth getting....although any true KISS fan would get it anyway, as it is such a historic album, being the first studio album for well over fifteen years by the original line-up. Go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift item, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Circus (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift. Well received. Shipped quickly and packaged well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Psycho Circus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I think this piece disappointed many a KISS fan. But, hey! The boys were back together, after 17 odd years apart!! There are some cool tracks, like the title track and, Ace's Into The Void etc. They tried to recapture Destroyer here, but, I think Revenge already did that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho Circus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
So glad to now own this on vinyl! :-) been far too long waiting for this to be released on this format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho Circus [VINYL]
Psycho Circus [VINYL] by Kiss (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews