Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good
First of all, I have not seen the original Get Carter so I don't have anything to base a comparison on. Therefore, I have to say I rather quite enjoyed this film. I think it could've done with a short back story to explain why Richie, Gloria and Jack were estranged. I thought Rachael Leigh Cook gave a good performance as the troubled teenage girl, Doreen. It wasn't...
Published 18 months ago by The Wolf

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please someone get stallone out of this rubbish remake!!!
what an unnecessary and insulting remake.
another hollywood attemped to cash in on ,has stallone walking around with a silly looking goatee, mumbling lines as usual in this glamourized ,absurd american take on a classic british crime drama.
stick to the michael caine original.
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by film buff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please someone get stallone out of this rubbish remake!!!, 2 Sep 2009
By 
film buff (south africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
what an unnecessary and insulting remake.
another hollywood attemped to cash in on ,has stallone walking around with a silly looking goatee, mumbling lines as usual in this glamourized ,absurd american take on a classic british crime drama.
stick to the michael caine original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
First of all, I have not seen the original Get Carter so I don't have anything to base a comparison on. Therefore, I have to say I rather quite enjoyed this film. I think it could've done with a short back story to explain why Richie, Gloria and Jack were estranged. I thought Rachael Leigh Cook gave a good performance as the troubled teenage girl, Doreen. It wasn't Stallone's strongest offering, and Miranda Richardson's portrayal of Gloria is nondescript. There is also nothing wrong with Carter showing his softer side, although I think he should've shot Kinnear; personally. The action is quite well paced. All in all, it was a good movie, - not a great movie, I have seen better, but it was very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 14 Jun 2006
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Why? More importantly, WHY?

Michael Caine must wonder why Hollywood has it in for him with its morbid obsession of remaking his classic films. "Get Carter", "The Italian Job", "Alfie"... what next, Ben Afflick as the sole American who saves the plucky Brits at Rourke's Drift in a remake of "Zulu"? Far fetched? About as unlikely as getting mumbling muscleman Sylvester Stallone to take on perhaps Caine's finest role, the cold eyed, morally dubious killer Jack Carter.

And yet here we are in a film that, on its own merits is an average thriller, and Sly isn't too bad, but as a remake of a classic movie is utterly pointless because you cannot improve on perfection. Again, why? WHY?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT A PATCH ON ORIGINAL, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
NOT A PATCH ON ORIGINAL. Extremely weak B film. I expect SS agreed to this for a new kitchen or some such. Hard to believe I actually watched to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Not-So-Hard-Boiled Thriller, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The original "Get Carter" is a classic and this isn't but - unless you're the sort of viewer who screens "Citizen Kane" on a weekly basis - you're probably more interested in whether tha Stallone remake is any good. The answer? Actually, yes.
Whereas Michael Caine's Carter was an ice-cold uncompromising killer whose orgy of violence seems more a product of ego than family feeling, Stallone goes to the opposite extreme. For his Carter he gives us a man looking for a last chance at the family he never had or valued: a big softie capable of extreme violence and senseless mercy. It's Rocky in shades.
This is a star turn from a star on the way down. Director Stephen Kay assembles a strong supporting cast to ensure that Stallone looks good: Alan Cumming as a slippery millionaire, Mickey Rourke impressively nasty and Michael Caine redeeming himself with a great last line. Kay also keeps his direction slick and uncomplicated, keeping things ticking along towards an ending that is diametrical to the bleak original.
This is a DVD to pick up for rental or a bargain price. Like several other of Stallone's later films, it shows that this is an actor whose talent for humane action has lasted far beyond his box office expiry date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A blatant cash in and a complete failure..., 11 July 2007
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The original was atmospheric, credible and gritty to the point of being brutal and remains one of the best films of this genre.

Whoever it was that convinced Stallone he could possibly emulate Michael Caine's screen presecence and acting ability, play the part of a London Gangster, or capture the same essence of the original needs their head examined.

Avoid!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!!!, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have no idea what the director was smoking when he decided to cast Stallone as Carter but it must had been some strong stuff.

The movie is a joke. Its BAD....I MEAN ITS BAD!!!! everyone I know who has seen this wish they hadn't. Me included.

Don't watch this unless you are mean and want to give it to someone you secretly hate and you can be sure they will want to kill you after you subjected this piece of misery on them and that's a promise! I nearly cut my throat when I first saw this.

GARBAGE. DO NOT SEE EVER EVER EVER EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, 13 Jan 2009
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
First of all if you are thinking of buying this based on your love of the original then don't...You'll hate it...But if you love any of the following then this is for you..
1/Stallone shows the start of the return to form he is now at ..Carter is a return to a rough tough character he hasn't played for years
2/Mickey Rourke....I've always loved Rourke and he is always watchable in whatever he is cast in...Great in this.
3/A cut above the normal action movie...It's more in line with Stallone's Nighthawks i feel than say Rambo or Cobra..

The film is well made,good scenery in Seattle and there is enough in here to hold your attention for it's run time..

Yes it is no where near as good as the original but it is not trying to be the original.....
Enjoy it for what it is...I did .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of stallones better films, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Get Carter [Blu-ray] [2000] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
before i write anything, let me make it clear that i have not seen the original get carter with michael cane, i am sure its a far better film with the reviews that i have read about it, however i have seen this and i think its an entertaining film, stallione excels as the bad brother seeking revenge on the perpetrators who murdered his brother, i found it entertaining from start to finish, also i think the soundtrack deserves a mention, its top notch from the train journey at the begining to the fight at the party at the end.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Alf Roberts being chucked off a Newcastle multi storey car park, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Get Carter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This was the the most stupid thing not to include in a remake. It ruined the whole film for me.

You are supposed to bloody include this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Carter [Blu-ray] [2000] [US Import]
Get Carter [Blu-ray] [2000] [US Import] by Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray - 2014)
9.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews