Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice for victims
Sadly we seem to forget the victims of crime.Whilst I am not sure that the death penalty is the answer I am convinced that only when life sentences mean that perpetrators KNOW that it IS for life will the victims families find any comfort.A truly good read -thought provoking
Published 14 months ago by Mrs Sue Mee

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Author Went From Hero To Zero For Me
For me this author went from hero to zero. I read a previous book by her and it was an easy 5 stars-just terrific-but this one is terribly written and I got to 85% and started flicking through pulling out pertinent information till the end. I'd had enough. I certainly won't be buying any more by her. So disappointing when this happens-you think you've found a great new...
Published 7 months ago by Lynda Kelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice for victims, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Sadly we seem to forget the victims of crime.Whilst I am not sure that the death penalty is the answer I am convinced that only when life sentences mean that perpetrators KNOW that it IS for life will the victims families find any comfort.A truly good read -thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buried Memories. Great read. Millie Maxwell, South Africa, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story, well written. Scary how one woman could keep her true character hidden from others. End the end, justice was served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Author Went From Hero To Zero For Me, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Lynda Kelly "Lynda" (Shipton Bellinger, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
For me this author went from hero to zero. I read a previous book by her and it was an easy 5 stars-just terrific-but this one is terribly written and I got to 85% and started flicking through pulling out pertinent information till the end. I'd had enough. I certainly won't be buying any more by her. So disappointing when this happens-you think you've found a great new author then get horribly let down.
The last book had hardly any mistakes in it whereas it's not the case with this one. There are dropped words from sentences and complimented used instead of complemented and there were a lot of misused or misplaced speechmarks throughout. Then I.15am was used instead of 1.15am-just sloppy.
Betty was certainly a case-and-a-half. She just didn't care at all for anybody except herself, it seems. Just unbelievable. Thought it was very "white trash" to be getting married off at 15. Surely that's not normal behaviour in the States nowadays, is it ? Then naming her boys Robby and Bobby was a little peculiar. Seems she couldn't do without a man in her life and always had to marry them !! Yet the total of most of her relationships was barely a year together in meeting, going out, getting engaged, marrying then divorcing. Shocking stuff. Very odd too the way she involved her kids in her crimes with nary a thought for them in the least. Although they went along with her and kept quiet so they're hardly blameless.
In places it all seemed totally unbelievable with people getting duffed up by smalltime hoods and the way the lawyer defending Betty behaved was dire. I was totally baffled as to why she shouldn't refer to Barker in the Beets' case as I thought she was in court for both murders. It wasn't clearly explained and neither was the reasoning for a mistrial being requested. All a bit of a confusing mess. The referring to the 2 stolen swords and as it pertained to HER trial was never properly explained, either. Seems she even got bored with the whole project herself but put it out there anyway !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold blooded, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
don't normally read true crime books but would recommend this one to those who do. Betty Beets deserved what she got a eye for a eye as they say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book.Feel for her children,she loved them but loved herself more.Very complex woman deeper than the ocean.I don't agree with the death sentence, should have spent the rest of her life in prison.Would like to know how her family coped with her death.This book was a good read.Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
I usually read true crime and this one was excellent. It keeps you interested all the way through. She was a cruel woman to involve her children, just shows that side of her character. The lady got the right punishment in the end. Well written, would defiantly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Great book, its amazing what a woman will do even when hes not desperate, and to get her children involved is just unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. H. Macdonald (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Was exactly what I expected it to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried Memories (Kindle Edition)
Worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buried Memories
Buried Memories by Irene Pence
£3.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews