Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars233
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£12.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2015
4 found Beyonce at her peak it was mature and took a direction into less mainstream affair that has culminated in Beyonce her best if not most palatable work. This is a rare thing in modern music an album in the very essence that hits are hard to harvest but great songs easy to be found. It's darker much more sexual but sultry and smooth with it. It's personal and mature and very alternative R&B in the vein of Frank Ocean. The album is heavy on atmosphere and takes a few listens to connect and click. There is funk in songs like Blow no too far from songs on 4, the great but different ballads like XO and the highly charged Partition, Haunted, Drunk In Love the three that most sum up the sound of Beyonce. Those hoping for a return to I Am... Sasha Fierce will be dissapointed this sees beyonce move up and beyond and finally finds her deserving of all her previous praise.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Wow, had this album for a while, I never tire of listening to it. The production, songwritting and depth of feeling are outstanding. I've listened to a few of Beyonce's album, but nothing is as accomplished as this. Set asside about an hour, turn it up and just enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
On December 13, 2013, while engaged in a world tour, and without any pre-release announcement, Beyonce released her self-titled 5th solo studio album exclusively via the iTunes store. In just 3 days, "Beyonce" sold 828,000 copies; music history was made, new industry rules were set. 14 songs, 17 videos, switching from uninhibited female empowerment to kitchen sink drama, it was not just merely a record by a megastar, but a statement, as everything about this dark and complex record suggested that, despite the eponymous title, Beyonce was demanding more of herself than just being Beyonce.

Co-written and co-produced by herself and A-listers such as Pharell, and Timbaland, among others, and with references to her competitive showbiz upbringing and acknowledgments of her beloved hometown, she continued the game of role-playing she is so good at: pop diva, fashion icon, wife, mother, herself, Sasha Fierce, revolutionary, provocateur etc. The result was a grown-up pop album that is mature without being boring, bold without being forced, and entertaining without being a drag. Not a small feat in pop music where so rarely something exciting happens.

3 months later, sales are growing steadily, and "Beyonce" is considered by critics and fans alike as B's creative and commercial peak. Sonically brilliant, and visually magnificent, "Beyonce" is among her most entertaining and sexually explicit work, yet substantive in every respect, easily her most accomplished project to date. Given the enormous enthusiasm of her overwhelmed fans, I would expect B herself to be extremely proud of such a bold, expansive body of work, and its well-deserved success. Where Lady GaGa failed with "Artpop", Beyonce triumphed with this.

This career highlight from one of showbiz's most hard-working superstars is now available in a CD+blu-ray set, in an obvious attempt to boost sales furthemore. Those who purchase the new edition, will of course enjoy the brilliant songs and videos, and marvel at the astonishing details in picture, the crisp sound, and pristine production. Unless one is a completist, this edition is simply an alternative to the original CD+DVD set, featuring identical tracklist, artwork and packaging housed in a slipcase cover. Nothing new for those who have already got a copy of the initial release, which undoubtedly is one of the best albums of 2013-2014.

PLATINUM UPDATE (6/12): 5 million copies sold, and following her highly profitable Mrs. Carter Show World Tour, the unstoppable Beyonce is back with this special edition box set of her record-breaking, self-titled conceptual opus. It features a live DVD with 10 performances from the aforementioned show, plus artist commentary, an extra CD with 2 brand new songs ("7/11" and "Ring off") and 4 remixes (including the remix of B's song for H&M, "Standing on the sun"), and a mini version of the official 2015 Beyonce calendar. So much to enjoy, but it is very annoying that the show does not appear in its entirety. Obviously a separate release for it is on the way, but it would be generous to include it here, too. The original CD+DVD are still here, though, making this a pristine package that truly lives up to its "platinum" status, which seems to have become synonymous with Beyonce. Whoever dismissed the album has certainly missed the point of one of the greatest pop records about freedom to express sexuality, to be imperfect, and to enjoy themselves (a notion further enhanced by the new, so very different for B's normal niveau, video for "7/11"). Those who have bought the original version of "Beyonce" are going to be frustrated, but this is a spectacular repackage that really has to be bought. I was going to slay Bey for shameless cash in, but this is simply too good to miss.
review image review image review image
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
The DVD helps you to understand the songs and the bonus track is amazing! I find the album great for listening to on my commute. I also find it interesting the songs that have been made popular from this album, drunk in love, XO because there are definitely other tracks that our my favourite but it goes to show how an understanding of digital music can revolutionise the way music is promoted i.e. people chose what should be a single via download rather then the artist or label.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Watched the videos first & I couldn't get the songs out of my head and for weeks the album has been on all the time.

Superpower is like nothing else! Jealous is friggin' marvellous. Heaven will break all hearts, it's just devastatingly brilliant. XO & Flawless are my current favourites but it changes every couple of days.

She's really created something unique & beautiful with this album. I highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
This is a great album, different from her previous ones. I would recommend this album if you love Beyonce. Enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
The sound quality on the dvd is poor. It starts off ok but as it plays it goes low and then high all the way through which is frustrating as I love Beyoncé's music and I have to keep turning the tv up when the sound goes low and then when it goes high I turn it down again

very disappointed!
has anyone else had this problem with the divd?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
As a huge Beyoncé fan slightly disappointed as this album is heading in a new music direction. Having said that the only tracks I really like are Pretty Hurts, Xo, Drunk In Love, Blue and Heaven. After a few listens still didn't get use to them maybe time will tell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Don't read the comments just buy it, BUY BUY BUY
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I seem to constantly be listening to this lately, I love the songs and Beyonce never fails to impress me with her beautiful voice. I would definately recommend for everyone to grab a copy, you'll be a fool not to!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.