Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit
Lego games at their finest!

Minor quibble up front: The game requires an always online presence to play that and you have to have a steam account in order to play this. This was annoying as steam seemed down more than it was up the first week of purchase. /quibble off

The game itself is nothing short of what you have come to expect from the Lego...
Published 9 months ago by Shawn Badger Burns

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was not happy about this at all - but McAfee dealt with ...
Firstly, I had read that a Steam account was needed in order to play the game - but, once the account had been opened, I could hardly believe how long it took to load the actual game! 4 hours later, it was still loading.... really? In this day and age? It wasn't until the morning when I switched on the pc that I discovered why; somehow or other, McAfee had picked out a...
Published 5 months ago by Sarah Lois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Shawn Badger Burns "Lt Badger" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Lego games at their finest!

Minor quibble up front: The game requires an always online presence to play that and you have to have a steam account in order to play this. This was annoying as steam seemed down more than it was up the first week of purchase. /quibble off

The game itself is nothing short of what you have come to expect from the Lego brand. Immersive game playing, pleny of puzzles and a superior draw to keep playing once the game has finsihed.

I know that sounds odd but when you finish the 16 levels of the game [which follows the films telling of the story not the book], you have only completed 27% of the game.

My son [6] is loving the game and despite having played it since early april when it arrived he is only 40% or so though the game.

At £20 for the game [£16 for me cause of amazon's price matching guarentee] this makes it good value for money, both for the initial enjoyjoyment and the returnability.

After completeing the 16 levels at the minimum requirement, there is the opportunity to re enter the levels and complete them 100%. Collecting 10 minikits, 4 treasure trove items, 1 blacksmith design and getting a preset amount of lego studs.

Additional to this there are a whole bunch of quests [about 90 - 105 depends on which site you read] around middle earth. these quests reward a variety of things from Mithril blocks to other characters in the game.

There are 32 blacksmith patterns to collect and make. 16 in the levels and 16 in Middle Earth [most folks call it Overland]. There are also two types of results from the blacksmithing: a normally forged item and a Master Forged item.

Some new features to the lego games franchise are the ability to buddy up and create joint attacks on boss mobs and solve puzzles. Also is the ability to make 'super structures' inside levels and for quests.

Finally are the races, which utilise the fll range of character abilities.

Add to all this lego's unique sense of humour and you have an instant classic.

Overall, it is a highly enjoable, immesive game that is child friendly at least from the age of 6.

Looking forward to Batmen 3 in the Autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Got this game for my sister and she said it was a great present for her birthday and she loves it. So fair it has great game play following the storyline etc. Good quality packaging as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy - for a 9 year old, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My nine year old son loves this. It is PEGI 7 but to be honest (personally) I would not buy it for a seven year old. It is a great introduction to fantasy gaming and a bit more advanced than the other LEGO games we've bought to date. There is some commentary in other reviews regarding serious issues (even complete failures) with STEAM accounts - we did not get these issues. Admittedly the initial set up is not that intuitive and the 3-4 step load process (I forget now!) is very slow. But once installed it is a good game; good graphics for a game at this level with very smooth action. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpected Hit, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this due to the price compared with XBox variant. Installed onto Steam no problems and my sons love it. Excellent addition to the Lego gaming franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit short, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As someone who mostly enjoys story mode (rather than free play) it seemed a bit short - but otherwise another decent movie re-telling lego style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Cool game but the controls can be a bit of a problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was not happy about this at all - but McAfee dealt with ..., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Firstly, I had read that a Steam account was needed in order to play the game - but, once the account had been opened, I could hardly believe how long it took to load the actual game! 4 hours later, it was still loading.... really? In this day and age? It wasn't until the morning when I switched on the pc that I discovered why; somehow or other, McAfee had picked out a couple of viruses, most probably through the Steam account. I was not happy about this at all - but McAfee dealt with it efficiently! Consequently, the game loaded without event. However, it is rather irritating to have to sign in to an account every time someone wants to play the game..... especially when that someone is my 8 year old son, who wakes me at 6 am for the password..............!

PS He loves the game - but prefers to play when his best friend is here (and no, I'm not going to get HIM at 6am!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't buy another PC Game, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Ordered for my child who has played lego games on DS & Wii. Only got this as our consoles are now out of date but find you can't put disk in & play game without having to also install steam which now keeps interrupting our internet browsing with messages that we have no interest in. Have no interest in getting updates for the game - child just wants to fight trolls.

Something that should be simple spoilt and I assume that this means we can only play the game - that we've paid for, when we have internet access. Won't buy any more like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD)
LEGO The Hobbit (PC DVD) by Warner Bros Entertainment Limited (Windows 7)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews