Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars134
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2014
Like all the Lego games this is full of fun and silliness. There's a good variety of levels, from fighting orcs to racing a rabbit-drawn sled, and there's a huge selection of characters including Bilbo, Gandalf, Legolas and the many, many dwarves. You play through the events of first two Hobbit films (An Unexpected Journey & The Desolation of Smaug) with lots of mini quests and collectibles to keep you busy. This game is perfect for all ages - you can play solo or team up with a friend although the new 'loot' system may be overly complicated for younger players. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is enhanced by the original film music and dialogue. The open world layout is similar to Lego Lord of the Rings so you can explore the vastness of Middle Earth in all its Lego glory. The story is easy to follow without seeing the films and the somewhat serious nature of the tale is balanced with plenty of silly slapstick Lego humour. The occasional frustrating glitch loses this game a star but overall, a thoroughly enjoyable game for the whole family.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Brilliant but 'The Hobbit' has one major problem - simply cannot read the on screen hints! Really annoying. I have perfect vision when wearing glasses but binoculars are required to read any info coming up on the screen. ARGH!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
“Lego: The Hobbit” is a fantasy action-adventure videogame, which serves as a follow-up to the earlier “Lego: Lord of the Rings” game. It is part of the ongoing Lego franchise, and is based on the first two Hobbit films. It’s a really fun game, bright and colourful, and is suitable for children (age 7+) and adults.

The gameplay is similar to other Lego games, and you control a character – with over 90 to select from – as you proceed to engage in a series of missions. There’s lots of fighting, object-building, and puzzle solving. Each character has unique abilities, and there are lots to choose from, such as: Bilbo Baggins, Gandalf, and the Dwarves of Erebor: Thorin, Fíli, Kíli, Óin, Glóin, Dwalin, Balin, Bifur, Bofur, Bombur, Dori, Nori and Ori. And there are many different environments to play in, such as: as Lake-town, Dale, Erebor, Bag End, Goblin-town, Mirkwood, Rivendell and the High Pass over the Misty Mountains.

The story follows that of the films, being based on “An Unexpected Journey” and “The Desolation of Smaug”. Unfortunately, the third film in the series – “The Battle of the Five Armies” – is not included (nor is it available as DLC). The more serious elements of the movies are not included in the game, and instead it develops a more humorous approach.

The graphics are good, as is the audio quality, on the PS3. This is a well-made game, and brings to life – as only Lego can – the fun and adventure of the film series. It took me about 10 hours of casual play to complete the story (and I think it would take about 100 hours of re-playing the game to finish every aspect of it) – so there’s lots of stuff to do. If you’re a fan of the Hobbit films, and you enjoy the Lego videogames, then I fully recommend this game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
A standard lego game would be worthy of three stars however the promise of levels based on Battle Of The Five Armies are no longer coming via DLC or any other means. Warner Brothers confirmed no expansion will be released to conclude the trilogy. I bought this on good faith that a complete experience would be forthcoming as it was detailed on the box. Warner Brothers broke that promise and for lying I have to give it only one star.
Lego games are glitchy in places but the overall enjoyment of them is, for me anyone, enough to over look the odd game freeze and restart. But to lie to consumers, when they are quite content to sell you more DLC characters rather than allow you to finish the game, that is when glitches, a long and boring drawn out campain and the most dull set of standard characters of any lego game should be pointed at and highlighted repeatedly.
Should they decide to complete the game like they promised (Unlikely now as it has been two years and no future movies are planned), I will delete this review but as it stands, do not buy this game without knowing you are only buying two thirds of a game you were promised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Best so far of the Lego franchise - does not have too many of those "jump through hoops" timed games which I failed in with Lego Marvel Superheroes
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
The game as a whole is pretty decent. I bought it as my girlfriend and myself love the Lego games and each summer go through one. After completing LotR a few years ago on the PC, we figured this was the obvious next choice now that it had reduced a bit in price. Overall, as a game it's pretty good. Lots to do once the main story is finished and the free-roam around Middle-Earth is great as it was with LotR. However, this game really felt like it was lacking something (like a whole movie, which I was disappointed to hear won't be coming to the game). Unfortunately, it really felt like the game wasn't optimised for the PS3's hardware. The render distance is appalling with things sometimes only appearing when you're right next to them. Constant freezing, especially in levels, made it really difficult to play and it really felt like

Although I don't know if these problems still exist on the PS4 version, I think all my future Lego video game purchases will be for the PS4 rather than the PS3 (I only bought it for the PS3 due to a lack of access to a PS4 at the time of playing)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
all the standard lego fun, but you only get two of the films in here, leaving the game empty and unfinished. I see the only reason for this is so they could rush the game out after the second film and not spoil the third. It doesn't say this anywhere and left the children and I quite annoyed, especially as this is the same price as all the bigger lego games. BOO.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
If you like the Lego games in general then you will love this one, excellent gaming.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I am a huge fan of the hobbit so I am a harsh critic of anything related to it. This game doesnt disappoint. It sticks very closely to the game story and has an engaging free play, which is great after the game has been completed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
My 5 year old loves this game, as do I. I would have rated it 5/5 but sadly the game has so many glitches and crashes / freezes the ps3 every single time we try to play. We maybe get 20 mins game time before having to restart, annoying when you're in the middle of a level. Trying to collect everything is nigh on impossible as the last 3 levels won't load up now.

Such a shame as the game itself is brilliant, free roam is great fun with so many things to do and collect, but the whole experiance is ruined by the constant freezing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£14.00
£13.86

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)