Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album with revised listing for any age.
This is an amazing album which is ideal for anyone who likes their music with a dash of theatre.
Every track is meticulously put together although I believe the album sounds better if track 1(Bat out of Hell) is placed after track 7. This is because to me that song is like the peak of the album and incorporates everything which has gone before.
Also listen to it...
Published on 5 Dec 2005 by R. sum

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the surround then?
Okay, it's Bat out of Hell. If you are thinking about getting the SACD version, then you've probably already worn out a few vinyl copies and notched up a few speeding tickets driving too fast to this classic album. The music is, well, Bat out of Hell. Superb. The SACD though, has me puzzled. My version, contrary to other Amazon reviews and the Sony Europe website, does...
Published on 17 Sep 2003


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album with revised listing for any age., 5 Dec 2005
By 
R. sum "m22sum" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an amazing album which is ideal for anyone who likes their music with a dash of theatre.
Every track is meticulously put together although I believe the album sounds better if track 1(Bat out of Hell) is placed after track 7. This is because to me that song is like the peak of the album and incorporates everything which has gone before.
Also listen to it from start to finish a few times through headphones.
Don’t worry if your friends ridicule you as this is an album worth listening to at any age( It also covers every emotion so is ideal for any moody teenagers).
Enjoy
R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Just Don't Make Them Like This Any More, 10 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I'm only 16, but I've been raised on classic rock n roll. And Meatloaf has got to be amongst the best. Bat Out Of Hell is not only my favourite Meatloaf album, but my favourite album of all time. Bat Out Of Hell itself is an explosion of heavy guitarism and an awsome opening track, and the rest don't fail to disappoint. Big hits You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth & Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad are also on the album, and this is rock n roll at it's best. If this doesn't get you turning up the volume, nothing will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its an age thing!, 16 Sep 2006
By 
C. R. Lowe "Domtail" (Pontefract) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I got introduced to Bat Out of Hell whilst at University in the early '80s (well actually thats not true, my friend brought the neon single down for me whilst at school and i never realised it was so great (never realised until it was too late that he was great too!!!!))

There isnt a dud song on this album. And i think it strikes so many chords for so many people. Paradise by the dashboard light - well you cant argue with that at all. If only id listened and understood that this was so insightful a message id have saved myself a lot of angst.

But seriously it is fantastic. 24 years after my first purchase ive just bought it again. And it doesnt hiss as much on CD at high volume but it hits the buttons that id forgotten id got!

I went to see Meatloaf in the midlands in 1985. I could afford to go then, cant afford to see him this October but Mr Meatloaf "for crying out loud i (still) love you!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meat's Debut Rock Opera, 17 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Meat Loaf's debut album released way back in 1978, This album contains most of meat loaf's most famous songs such as the title track Bat Out Of Hell, Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad and the live favourite Paradise By The Dashboard Light.
There are so many live versions of these songs around today which can make the sound quality of this album now sound dull.
But this album is one of the best albums ever made and nothing will beat this album in my opinon. BUY IT
Written by Jim Steinman one of the most talented song writers on this planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bat is best, 20 May 2003
By 
AGH (Hamphsire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
Is it cool to say your all time favourite album was introduced to you by your Mother? 1977 this came out when I was 7 and I still listen to it today. All revved up with no place to go... was the first song I ever picked up the air guitar to. This album is nothing short of a legend in the rock/metal business (in my opinion) and still sounds superb along side all modern offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 5 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
you all know this album inside out. Newly polished up and shiny - the songs get that extra oomph. The live tracks offer little new but are interesting. Dead Ringer is a fine song and is not out of place, as it completes Bat as a "best of". The DVD is definitely of its time and posesses none of the gloss and pizzazz of the later MTV epics. This combo is excellent value and should be in everyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure that you will never tire of it., 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Three lengthy rock opera epics (I actually think that 'For Crying Out Loud' is the best love song ever to come out of rock and roll), two five-minute pieces that transcend all age groups and music genres, and two shorter ones; one of which is a 'rocker' and the other, along with 'For Crying Out Loud' still sends shivers up my spine after all these years (I won't say how many!) This album is a masterpiece. Any youngsters out there who are enjoying 'Bat Out Of Hell III': you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 19 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Saw a programme about this album and wanted a copy. This remastered edition with extra DVD of the main songs seemed to be the best version available - and I wasn't disappointed! The sound is great and the DVD contains good concert footage - fantastic value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding...IF you get the right one..., 31 Mar 2006
By 
D. Starck "Darren" (DORCHESTER, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
There seems to be a lot of people complaining about the lack of multichannel on this SACD. That is because it is a STEREO SACD, and does NOT have a centre channel even, despite what another review claims.
Stereo SACD's sound FAR superior to standard CD's.
If you are looking for the multichannel version, then head over to Amazon.de - the last time I looked they had some in stock. It's where I ordered mine from.
I did see a multichannel in MVC in the UK when they were still in business, however that was a one off. The Multichannel version is notoriously hard to find in this country.
I own both the stereo, and multichannel versions, as well as an audiophile grade half speed mastered vinyl, and I can safely say that the vinyl kicks them both into last week on a decent system, but for truly enveloping sound, the SACD-Multi is pretty damn spectacular. The stereo one is intended, like the vinyl, much more for purists.
I tend to listen to the multi more than my vinyl, purely because of the added durability an optical format offers.
Ollie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a "must have" for your SACD collection, 23 May 2003
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
The producers/engineers have done an absolutely fantastic job on this album. If you've never experienced SACD, then this one little silver disc will blow your mind!
Beware of what type of SACD you buy though - if you've got a decent surround sound set-up then ensure you only buy "MULTI CHANNEL" (Multi-ch) SACDs. Ordinary SACDs (such as Michael Jackson's "Thriller") will pump out music to the front speakers only. The quality of the music is a bit better (deeper bass, clearer treble etc) but that's about it.
Multi Channel SACD is a whole different ball game. "Bat Out of Hell" is multi channel and the resulting playback is awesome. This is a classic album superbly re-mastered for todays technology.
Sit back, turn the sound up, close your eyes, and prepare for an amazing experience.
Listen out for the motorcyle guitar solo in the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews