Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!
This is one of the best book on nutrition I have ever read, and I have read many hundreds during the last 35 years! Not only is i very well written, it is well documented, undogmatic and eclectic. I will review it in the Norwegian Helsemagasinet and recommend it to all our readers. Sincerely, Dag Viljen Poleszynski, PhD, editor-in-chief Helsemagasinet (Health magazine...
Published 9 months ago by viljen@powertech.no

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction
I would recommend this as a good introductory book for anyone wanting to learn about nutrition. It debunks many of the myths we are told by public figures, and examines exactly what's wrong with the conventional advice; a.k.a. the Food Pyramid.
However, I was personally disappointed that the book didn't seem to be as detailed or as thorough as her blog. I felt that...
Published 8 months ago by Morgana


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
I would recommend this as a good introductory book for anyone wanting to learn about nutrition. It debunks many of the myths we are told by public figures, and examines exactly what's wrong with the conventional advice; a.k.a. the Food Pyramid.
However, I was personally disappointed that the book didn't seem to be as detailed or as thorough as her blog. I felt that she left a few loose ends- (for instance, she disregarded sugar as a possible culprit in heart disease a bit too readily, based on one man's research. It wasn't clear if he looked at fructose specifically, or even how sugar affects insulin levels). I also felt the chapters explaining the terms used in nutritional studies were unnecessary; I would have rather read more about actual studies, or had more detailed information about nutrition. There were good points to the book of course, but all in all, I felt like this book was more like an introduction to her blog- (which I quite like)- rather than the other way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
This is one of the best book on nutrition I have ever read, and I have read many hundreds during the last 35 years! Not only is i very well written, it is well documented, undogmatic and eclectic. I will review it in the Norwegian Helsemagasinet and recommend it to all our readers. Sincerely, Dag Viljen Poleszynski, PhD, editor-in-chief Helsemagasinet (Health magazine science and reason), Norway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 1 Jan 2014
By 
Carl K (Douglas, Isle Of Man. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Kindle Edition)
Well done Denise, great work.
If you watched Denise on YouTube you might think she was a little dipsy ;)
She may well be, but also a genius, this book will save your life if you are on the SAD (Standard American Diet)
If you read this and her work on "The China Study" you will understand how clever she is.
The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf has always been my recommendation for a first book on health,
I think this will be up there at the top of my list from now on.
Covers how we got into this mess and how you can repair the damage done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Light on How to Reclaim Your Health, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
This book starts out well and promises much. The author dissects various health studies and points out the many conflicts of interest of the people tasked with producing eating guidelines so that they become more about promoting products instead of than health.

Regrettably, after various studies are pulled apart, there is very little in terms of concrete conclusions or suggestions as to what people should or shouldn't eat. In the end it starts to look like an exercise in fence-sitting and using the excuse that everyone is different and therefore different diets suit different people. Frankly, this is nonsense and seemed more like an attempt to placate various groups.

I couldn't help but feel the author had yet to reconcile her previous misguided adherence to a raw vegan diet and later discovery that it isn't well-suited to long term health, so was keen to give vegetarianism a free pass despite its many failings from a health perspective.

In summary, this book is good at pulling apart the ludicrous claims based on poorly executed studies, yet is not a manual on how to turn your health around. There are many far better books covering that ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No surprises here, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Kindle Edition)
Don't be fooled by my headline above it wasn't meant to be a damning indictment of this book, just an observation about the corporate and political shenanigans that is prevalent in the so called higher circles.

This book is excellent! If you haven't already done so, it's time to take your lifestyle and diet into your own hands because if you rely on those in the positions of power and influence you may live a long-ish life but it won't be a pleasant one healthwise.

A brilliant book, well written, well researched and compelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Kindle Edition)
Challenges what you really should believe, couldn't recommend it more for someone lost in the sea contradictory and inconsistant advice we're given about what we should and shouldn't eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
Incredibly well researched book. Lots of information about nutrition, without being prescriptive. This is the conclusion I come to, after
reading this book, that there is no 'right' diet' just guidelines.
I recommend this book to anyone interested in a balanced diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent really topical, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
well written and most informative. An ideal reference book for any caring home . Such books are always welcome in the home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, well-written and essentially unbiased review of the state of current nutritional science., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Kindle Edition)
Does not prescribe (or proscribe) a particular diet. Does give you the tools both to adjust your own nutritional intake for yourself, based on your own preferences and criteria. Crucially, also equips you to keep learning and adapting as the science evolves (and provides useful tools to help weed out poor research). And it's eminently readable, to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Death by Food Pyramid (Hardcover)
Fantastic insight to many nutritional myths and well written for those interested in the topic.One of the best books i've read hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death by Food Pyramid
Death by Food Pyramid by Denise Minger
£11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews