Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Munsters return to video at last and on 2 terrific tapes
The Munsters are back. I loved these programmes as a kid and grew up with them. To see them back on video is great. Although the sales advertisement makes it look as though there is only one video, in fact it is a two video set - 2 for the price of 1. The quality of the tapes are superb. Each tape contains three black and white episodes of this weird family. If you...
Published on 13 Aug 2001

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amiable Family Comedy
That "The Munsters" is still enjoyable and entertaining viewing 45 years after it was made is testament to the quality of the writing and the acting. It is enjoyable family fun. Of course there are some problems with it - it is not as funny as it might be (I guess standards of humour have risen) and the core joke of the series - a family of the undead living a "normal"...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Mr. Ross Maynard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Munsters return to video at last and on 2 terrific tapes, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
The Munsters are back. I loved these programmes as a kid and grew up with them. To see them back on video is great. Although the sales advertisement makes it look as though there is only one video, in fact it is a two video set - 2 for the price of 1. The quality of the tapes are superb. Each tape contains three black and white episodes of this weird family. If you havn't seen them - it is a MUST. They are far more funnier than the Addams family. Hermann as a drag racing superstar is hilarious and when Grandpa and Hermann get themselves locked in a bank it's great. If you've never seen this family before or have forgotten what they were like and how funny they were - then buy this set. I'm now looking forward to seeing the second volume and I hope there is more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT MUNSTERS !!, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Here they are! The funniest scary family of them all. All six episodes are top notch. The picture quality and sound are superb. My only worry is that as Universal has not put the episodes out in order, (ie - like StarTrek!) will this mean that we don't get the entire run of the show? We Spooks need more Munsters not less! Still I am glad that this collection is available and it is well worth the price of purchase. GREAT SPOOKY FUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First shown on American TV in the 60’s, the Munsters is about a family who the outside world views as ‘odd’ to say the least while they themselves see ‘normal’ people as strange. Herman Munster is a Frankenstein look-alike, wife Lily and her father, Grandpa, are vampires while son Eddie is a werewolf. Also living in their mausoleum type house is Lily’s beautiful niece Marilyn whom the Munster’s pity as they see her looks as ‘unfortunate’.
This DVD set features all 36 episodes from season 1 and is presented on 6 discs. It is a typical comedy of that era, simple family values and good clean fun with the underlying message that it is ok to be ‘different’. The set features no extras, not even subtitles for the hard of hearing hence the four stars rating rather than five. It doesn’t look as if there has been much cleaning up of the picture either, although overall the quality is not bad. It’s a shame more effort wasn’t put into the DVD release but that aside, it is a worthwhile addition to the collection of any Munsters fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amiable Family Comedy, 17 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
That "The Munsters" is still enjoyable and entertaining viewing 45 years after it was made is testament to the quality of the writing and the acting. It is enjoyable family fun. Of course there are some problems with it - it is not as funny as it might be (I guess standards of humour have risen) and the core joke of the series - a family of the undead living a "normal" suburban life - wears a little thin after a while. Once you have seen the humorous possibilities with everyday events such as a trip to the doctor or to the bank you begin to get the idea. Nevertheless, our 7 year old is fascinated with it, and it is enjoyable family fare in an age of rubbish tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Munsters Vs Addams... and the winner is?, 9 Aug 2012
By 
subject2status (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a kid I always loved The Munsters and the Addams Family, but the Munsters were my absolute favourite. As an adult would I agree with this? I have all five sets of DVDs and so here's my view:

Entertainment Value - Munsters 10/10, Addams 9/10
I'm not sure how much of this is bias, I just love the Munsters and chuckle along to every episode. It's slapstick and has a more endearing bias towards younger viewers. All the characters are fantastic.
The Addams is slightly more sophisticated, maybe more aimed at the adult mentality and undertones of what will happen off-screen... Morticia is the best character for my money, I so wanted to grow up and have a wife just like her... hah!

Quality of transfer to DVD - Munsters 10/10, Addams 8/10
The quality is as good as you could expect from an old TV show. The Munsters picture quality is pretty clear and constant throughout with good clarity of sound. The Addams Family earlier shows are a little disappointing and look significantly older than later episodes.

Value for Money - Munsters 10/10, Addams, 5/10
Both programmes lived through two seasons however the Addams are cynically spread over THREE sets of DVDs so you are fleeced for extra cash. Here you get the whole of season 1 (not two thirds) and it's great value for money (especially if you slam this into your wish list and monitor the price as they do vary from day to day).

On balance, the Munsters still wins it for me, but mainly for different reasons to when I was a kid - who knew we might have DVDs back then?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment for everyone - I was surprised to find out how much my granddaughter loved the Munsters which were of course new t, 23 July 2014
By 
J. E. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just get it - what value and quality along with still valid humor even after all this time. Entertainment for everyone - I was surprised to find out how much my granddaughter loved the Munsters which were of course new to her. From an era when vulgarity was found to be unnecessary. Excellent service and the product arrived promptly and in perfect condition. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the munsters series 1, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. Crook (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just as good as when i first watched them on tv when younger when coming home from school in the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned TV, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my grandson, who is four !! He loves it, good old fashioned TV with no violence or swearing, his older brother and sister enjoy it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An All-Time Classic., 31 Oct 2013
By 
Trevor William Douglas (Gorokan, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased the Region 1 set a while back, I decided to revisit the show again. As they were released as double-sided discs, the second disc would not play anymore. So there went about a third of season 1.
Fortunately for me amazon.co.u.k. saved the day by having season 1 available as a six disc set, no troublesome double-sided discs to be concerned about.
Great packaging, perfect prints and must have for any collector of classic TV from the 1960s. Can you believe The Munsters and The Addams Family will both turn 50 next year! Both began in 1964, both lasted two seasons and both are still entertaining after all these years.
While Herman and co. are working-class and the Addams are strictly 'old money' both have something special to keep us coming back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on the strength of my childhood memories. Love the whole series, great quality albeit black and white, funny, I've got series 2 now as well, just as good. Shame they didn't do more series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sleeping Cutie
The Sleeping Cutie by Norman Abbott
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews