Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Staggering
This is a sobering and finally profoundly depressing book. For me, at any rate. As a child of refugees from the Nazi terror, who came to Israel believing in "old Zionism", I share Shavit's sense of bewildered disappointment. His constant echo of "where and why did we go wrong" resonates only too clearly. I only wish I could share his final summing up that somehow it will...
Published 5 months ago by jackrock

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "...a hardcore of hypocrisy & stupidity overlaid with a tinsel patina of arrogance & pomposity"
Zionist or anti-Zionist, anyone who feels obliged to read this piece of work should read it in conjunction with Norman G. Finkelstein's demolition of it, "Old Wine, Broken Bottle". I suspect no-one will take it at all seriously after they have done so.
Published 4 months ago by p l hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly sharp analysis of Israel past and present., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
Shavit's narrative is unlike any other account of Israel that I have read: deeply personal, part poetic, part elegiac, part polemic. Parts of the analysis may be flawed but the writing is majestic and one cannot doubt the integrity of the endeavour nor the intent to write a balanced account of the Zionist quest to settle the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to think of a better guide to understanding the complexity of Israel, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
I have long felt the need to be more objectively critical of Israel's governance and found Ari Shavit's
guidance and explanation invaluable. Ari's coverage of the contemporary birth of the Israeli state is both accurate and compassionate.It lays an excellent understanding for helping people to make a better assessment of how to be critical of current Israeli government behaviour and policy whilst respecting the sacrifices made by thousands of Jewish people to build a just society which can give them a sense of security they have been long denied and mercilessly persecuted for.
Essential reading for non Jewish people and it would help if more bigotted members of the Jewish community read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
Lot's of things to learn for those who only see Israel through the media. Proof that there are Israelis who understand that Palestinians cannot be treated as inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating, thoughtful & honest, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
This was easy bto read & kept me hooked, I also felt the arguments of many sides were well-put, while the author honestly declares his identity as a WASP (Western Ashkenazi Socialist Peacenik)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A balanced yet passionate perspective on Israeli history and sociey, 24 Feb 2014
By 
mcsmall "mcsmall" (Larbert, Stirlingshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
Shavit's book has that rare quality of being passionate about his country yet able to empathise with a range of perspectives that differ from those of the author.It is a far cry from the polemics that are often written about this subject in both its style and content.Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History that is still being written, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land (Hardcover)
A well written book that takes the reader through a history of the making of a modern day state.
The reader is still left undecided on the issue of Israel .

The style of the writer Ari Shavit leads you rather than tells you what to think . The uncovering of the complex and competing strands underpinning Israel is surprising.

A good book that is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book. It is very well written and gives an interesting account of Israel. A 'must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well balanced, gives a deep insight into the Palestine-Israel impasse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars honest book that I cannot recommend too highly, 11 July 2014
By 
A. PETERS (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A moving, clear-sighted, honest book that I cannot recommend too highly. As a (non-Jewish) admirer of Jewish culture, this book made me wonder what will happen to Israel, what will happen to that extraordinary expression of humanity that is the Jewish soul - its loquacity, its passion for learning, its constant self-criticism, its humour, its ability to overcome almost any catastrophe.
Shavit wonders whether there will be any Jewish society to speak of in places like America in 30, or 50, or 100 years. I cannot give any answers, but a world without Jews would be a world not quite worth living in.
Essential reading for anyone interested in mankind's plight in this scary and dangerous 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Promised Land: the triumph and tragedy of Israel (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on recommendation for my first trip to Israel. I feel so much better informed. A great, and I thought balance, insight into this modern nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews