Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR HOUSE KILLED MY DOG
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No wonder WB gave this a small release
When frightening events start to occur in their home, young couple Kelly and Ben discover they are being haunted by a presence that was accidentally conjured during a university parapsychology experiment.

The horrifying apparition feeds on their fear and torments them no matter where they try to run.

Their last hope is an expert in the supernatural,...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No wonder WB gave this a small release, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Apparition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When frightening events start to occur in their home, young couple Kelly and Ben discover they are being haunted by a presence that was accidentally conjured during a university parapsychology experiment.

The horrifying apparition feeds on their fear and torments them no matter where they try to run.

Their last hope is an expert in the supernatural, but even with his help they may already be too late to save themselves from this terrifying force....

So this is the film that ended the relationship with Warner and Dark Castle, thus earning it the smallest ever cinema release Warner ever gave a film.

But despite all the controversy, its still a stinker of a movie, something that has been done a hundred times before and much much better.

Greene plays the haunted person, what has something to do with her boyfriend doing a séance with Tom Felton and some blonde, so they spend the majority of the movie in a tent.

So as you can tell with my little synopsis, I couldn't care less about this movie.

Felton is woefully miscast and gets dragged into a cupboard, and though Greene is really easy on the eyes, her character does nothing but a Grudge impression right at the end.

The scares are literally not there, and nothing happens that really makes you want to see I'd it all turns out okay at the end.

A pointless waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN SCARY MOVIE..", 14 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Apparition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like a good fun scary movie then this is probably worth checking out, there are better out there but its fun and has some genuine scares etc., the story basically follows a group of friends who believe in spirits and ghost etc. and open a rift between dimensions of sorts and let a demon through and it haunts them as it tries to be part of our world, its sort of an original concept, the best and spookiest part of the movie is probably the very end scene, the only major downer for this is the run time its only 1hr 13mins long which until the credits roll, its worth checking out if your easily spooked or if your a fan of Ashley Greene from the twilight movies as she is major eye candy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR HOUSE KILLED MY DOG, 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Apparition (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a good simple ghost story that the teens can watch. The film starts out with a seance in 1973. It then abruptly switches to the present where a "scientific seance experiment" is going to be performed. The crew wires up their heads in order to intensify the energy field for the entity to pass through. Things don't go that well for Patrick (Tom Felton, Draco from "Harry Potter") and his crew as something has happened.

The film jumps again to Ben (Sebastian Stan) who was part of the experiment and Kelly (Ashley Greene, Alice from "Twilight" ) one of the world's worse house sitters. Their house number is "2812" which flashes for a moment. It adds up to 13, although we really don't need a premonition of things to come. Like a good ghost story the odd events in the home build up slow until they reach a boiling point at which time my cat jumps on me.

I enjoyed the build up. I also liked the way they integrated the "found footage" into the film and didn't rely strictly on it. Thank you Todd Lincoln. Ashley Kelly, who was allowed to act in "Twilight" gives us a good performance in this one in spite of Sebastian Stan being unconvincing in his part. As the lead actor in this film, his character was written rather shallow, which was the downfall of the film. I didn't like the repeated narration near the end of the film and the ending needed to be tweaked.

Makes for a decent film for the sleepover, especially if they are sleeping outside in a tent.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Ashley Greene in bra, panties and a shoulder up shower scene. Minor swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Boring, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
This film really is a waste of time. Literally, nothing very scary happens at all throughout the entire film and I didn't even find the ending scary in the slightest. I kept watching, because I thought something good would happen, but this was not the case. It was a major disappointment in every way and promises so much when it actually delivers very little. The only reason to watch this film, if you are male, is Ashley Greene, who at least provides some tasty eye candy. I recently learned that this film was put back for release by Warner for about two years and now I can understand why. I have never felt so bored watching a film before. If you are really desperate to see a good ghost or haunted house film, then check out the original Amityville Horror or the first Poltergeist film, because these are both landmark films and at least they are original. You may choose to ignore this review and watch this film, but I guarantee that you will be as bored as I was, so don't say I didn't warn you. I cannot recommend this, unless you enjoy films that make you fall asleep. One star for this dull, derivative garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This wasn't even worth the 1 I paid for it in Cash C. Glad I didn't pay full price, or even half price., 17 July 2014
By 
H. Grocott "addicted2film n book" (Cheshire. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this last night after watching Mortal - City of Bones and Frozen Ground. I drifted, intermittently, in and out of sleep it was that boring and totally pointless. I don't usually fall asleep through a film. Good job I watched two decent films first or the evening would have been wasted. This DVD will not go to a charity shop. I wouldn't want it imposed on anyone else. Can I have my hour and half of life back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good But Sometimes Predictable, 27 April 2014
This review is from: The Apparition (Amazon Instant Video)
I did enjoy watching this film but found myself guessing the next scene and was sometimes right. It has some very good bits that have you wondering. The end scene was not what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for this formula., 27 Feb 2014
There are so many films like this out there, they range from terrible to scary as hell. This one comes towards the positive end of the spectrum. It has it's moments, builds the tension well, though the ending leaves the film a little lacking. The acting isn't bad, and there are plenty of scares in there. I would recommend this to horror genre fans, though only on the basis that it's not anywhere near as bad as it could've been. There was obviously some thought put into this, as simple as the storyline was, and they should get the kudos for that. Especially considering the amount of rubbish that has saturated this genre in the last few years. At least it's not yet another 'found footage' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok sums it up, 12 Feb 2014
By 
L. Lowe "lisajb" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apparition [DVD] (DVD)
I like a good suspenseful horror and this wasn't it

What I liked
The acting was and the characters do generally draw you in
It has a reasonable storyline despite being predictable
It was entertaining

What I didn't like
It was predictable most of the way through
The special effects were pretty cheap and none of them really grabs you
Shocks and scares were lacking in this
It feels like a whole lot of horrors you have watched before pieced together into a new film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Nailbiting, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this movie rather difficult to follow, especially as much was filmed at a very low light which almost blacks out the screen. I was quite good but not as I expected it, certainly not very frightening, more tension making than anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pulse 4, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Apparition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is what happens when a movie is a clone of a clone. A few years back a wave of Asian horror produced a spate of Hollywood remakes. The first Hollywood version of Pulse was decent with two poor sequels in pursuit. With the law of diminishing returns in force The Apparition arrives. Clocking in at 80 minutes with a miniscule cast it's a cheap looking version of Pulse with the "entities" this time having been drawn from another dimension initially at a séance gone wrong. Found footage is also thrown in to the mix.

There are a couple of decent scary moments but The Apparition is wholly unoriginal and when the special effects budget is eventually displayed the entities just look and act like their forebearers from Pulse.
Add in the downbeat apocalyptic ending for the perfect copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Apparition
The Apparition by Todd Lincoln
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews