Customer Reviews


278 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete change of genre and a real return to form
It's been a while since I've read anything by Tony Parsons. Loved Man and Boy And One for my Baby but then found the subsequent books became repetitive,cloying and just versions of the same story even if there was always that smart turn of phrase or cultural reference that Parsons does better than most - not too surprising for a guy who was at the hippest end of the NME...
Published 7 months ago by tpryan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Managed to get through most of it befor I gave it up as a bad job. Poorly written unbelievable characters and a story ...
I bought the book because it was written by Tony Parsons and wish I had not . Managed to get through most of it befor I gave it up as a bad job . Poorly written unbelievable characters and a story line that was totally daft .what happened Tony ?
Published 8 months ago by Mr Anthony John Connor


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete change of genre and a real return to form, 21 July 2014
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
It's been a while since I've read anything by Tony Parsons. Loved Man and Boy And One for my Baby but then found the subsequent books became repetitive,cloying and just versions of the same story even if there was always that smart turn of phrase or cultural reference that Parsons does better than most - not too surprising for a guy who was at the hippest end of the NME school of journalism.

This is completely different. It's a shift to crime genre and Parsons does this well. For a first foray into the genre he brings something genuinely new. There are references to police work, procedures and premises that are different to other books. And the lead character is of course a flawed copper. But again Parsons does this a bit differently by casting Max as a male single parent.

This all adds to the book and there are quite a few twists along the way. You kind of work out where it's going but it's still entertaining and gripping enough. The final twist is a master stroke. I did find the cover of the book a bit less than its' contents: the strap line 'do some people deserve to die' is neither particularly compelling nor a theme - thankfully - that's much pursued in the book. And 'cutting the throats of the rich and powerful' is misleading too: these aren't random killings and the second victim is living on the streets. Another example of the story being rather better than the blurb.

The last page tells us Max will be back in 2015. That's good news as this has the makings of a genuinely different addition to the London crime scene genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Managed to get through most of it befor I gave it up as a bad job. Poorly written unbelievable characters and a story ..., 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Kindle Edition)
I bought the book because it was written by Tony Parsons and wish I had not . Managed to get through most of it befor I gave it up as a bad job . Poorly written unbelievable characters and a story line that was totally daft .what happened Tony ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 29 May 2014
By 
Patricia Hill "triciahill" (Hanwell, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Kindle Edition)
I finished it, but only just. And the much-touted twist at the end? What was the point? Is Max going to do anything about it?

The body count is high, but several of the deaths are fairly pointless (especially the guy who commits suicide. Twice.) The major motivating factor behind the murders is, by this point, a total cliche.

The bait and switch with the wife irritated me and, again, what was the point? Was it an attempt to make Max more interesting? Max attends several funerals, which are an excellent excuse for larding the book with vast chunks of prose from rather better writers. And the Peggy Sue wish fulfilment with the character Max ends up with? Ugh.

In the end, I didn't care about any of the characters and the plot wasn't interesting enough to make up for that.

But the most irritating factor was Max's car - he has a BMW X5, you know. Well, if you didn't after the first time it's mentioned, you soon will. "I lowered the window of the X5", "My X5 was parked further down the street", "I picked up the keys for my X5", and so on and on and on. By the end, I was convinced that BMW were sponsoring the book. Was it really not possible just to say, "I got into my car"? Just once? Please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Kindle Edition)
An unoriginal plodding yarn. We've heard it all before- cop with a broken marriage caring for his adorable little girl tackles a by the numbers murder series. This is such a shallow and cheap read - I was hoping for better from an ex anti establishment music journo. He is the antithesis of his ex partner Burchill who writes with such scathing venom and if only he had used this approach to this genre instead of this maudlin fawning yawning plot. Without a doubt a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gave up, 10 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
Tony Parsons can be a very effective writer, but not here.

Clearly Parsons has decided to get in on the police franchise act, stepping onto the kind of territory in which we might find Mo Hayder or Peter James.

The trouble is, in doing so, Parsons leaves no cliche unturned: troubled cop with authority issues, check; tabloid journalist who is willing to be used as human bait, check; loner pretending to be a serial killer and the police falling for it, check and so on.

Also, Parsons does like to over tell the reader various facts. Our hero drives a BMW X5 and we are reminded of this every time he parks his car, for example. His description of the Palace of Westminster is like something out of a primary school textbook.

The Murder Bag will probably be a bestseller. It doesn't deserve to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had promise but become to try hard., 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
I love Tony Parsons and because of that I persevered with the book. I know it's his first novel in a new genre however I felt as though he tried to cram too many twists into the story. It's difficult to like the main character and some of his actions do not fit with the story or that of a policeman in some ways. We also are not given a description of him which I found really difficult. All you find out is he is 6'. Difficult to explain without spoiling the storyline for people. Also felt as though the technical detail he used in the book was given in almost a patronising manner and didn't always help the flow of the book.

For die hard fans like myself it's difficult to write anything but glowing reviews for Tony and switching genres is no easy task I imagine. Undecided if I will read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glad to finish it., 17 July 2014
By 
Lily (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This could have been such a good book - the story itself is a good one. I was put off by the fact that it was obviously written by a middle class writer. Overall it came across as a tacky American detective story. The name 'Max Wolf' says it all! He was sensitive but tough. Why does the writer need to dress this up in such a cliched way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great disappointment., 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Doreen Hunt (France.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
Tony Parsons just hasn't got what it takes for this genre. Also his facts are not always correct, as in what happens at a Crematorium. Also since when would a Detective Constable work a case alone, without a Partner? Constables are barely more than tea boys!
Sorry he should stick to being a journalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Setter man (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As other reviewers have noted, some liking this book, and some not, this move into crime thriller by Tony Parsons is not entirely successful. In terms of character-building and background, he writes well, though perhaps over-doing his attempt to show the personal life of his detective, Max Wolfe, behind the harsh and unpleasant world of his police work. But in terms of plotting and the development of the central story the book sometimes falters and shows signs of the author's lack of experience in this genre. Maybe the future Max Wolfe tales will be more complete and satisfying reads, but this one left me feeling that it didn't live up to the publisher's hype and puff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for the read and laugh file., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
David Craggs (CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Murder Bag (Kindle Edition)
Frankly,to amass this number of five star reviews, Parsons must have friends and relatives to burn.
The Murder Bag is a big piece of nonsense that joins the lower ranks of the police procedural by numbers.
The central character is completely unbelievable - a DC driving a BMW X5 with a central London loft apartment - give me a break.
Furthermore the plot is weak and the whole thing is badly written.
This genre is now so crowded that you have to be truly new, different and better to break through. What we have here is old, the same and worse.
Buy J.K.Rowling's new series or Stuart Neville. Don't waste your time on this. Life is too short!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Murder Bag
The Murder Bag by Tony Parsons
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews