Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! (again), 29 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I love reading Pam Howes novels and this one is just as good as the others. The period of the 50s and 60s is evoked through her writing and this story of love and family tragedies, together with the threat of a really horrible step-father keeps you guessing which way it will go. I went to a few fairs during the 60s and remember the young men on the waltzers (not all as good looking as our hero here though!). Times were a'changin' during this period and Pam catches the mood very well. Would highly recommend this to everyone who grew up in the sixties and to the younger adults of today if they want to experience those times vicariously through Pam's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the fun of the Fair., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's official. Pam Howes is the queen of sixties fiction!
I can see Cathy's Clown developing into another successful series.
As ever, it is well documented with the fashions and the exciting music scene of those times, and the author has a firm handle on the very different hopes and expectations of women.
Cathy has ambitions to become a nurse rather than marry and be trapped into a world of nappies and child rearing. The behaviour of her dead-leg stepfather further cements the way she feels about her blossoming career and all seems rosy when she secures a place at nursing college.
Gianni, her handsome biker boyfriend is her cherry on the icing but before long he faces issues of his own, and the death of his mother re-stirs a pot of curiosity about his estranged father. With Cathy intent on her career, he swaps a secure office job for life on the road with the fair.
It's young love against all the odds, well characterised and written in the authors unmistakable style.
I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant novel by Pam..I can't wait for the sequel, took me back to my early teens, Pam really has a talent for taking the reader back in time, I really cared about the characters and am looking forward to following their journey through life with all the many ups and downs that I am sure life will throw at them. Well done again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cathys Clown, 19 Mar 2014
By 
carol (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well another good book from this very talented author i am awaiting the next week, when i start one of these books i cant put down, the are all based in the 60s which was my teens so can relate to the time it was set in keep the books coming i say thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book read it in two sessions, about a young girl who's wanted to become a nurse meets young lad who after finishing his apprenticeship decideds he needs to find the father he haven't seen for years. Story of young lovers who want to be together but also want to fulfil there own individual dreams, will their love for each other survive the separations and problems they have to endure along the way. I have only just started reading Pam Howes books in the last few months, all set in the north west of England I have loved everyone can't wait for the next one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sad to get to end of book, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Pam Howes is a brilliant writer of 50s/60s novels. i have read everyone of them, absolutely loved them all, and this one is the same. i was sorry to get to the end, a sign of a great book.
Gianni is a lad of the sixties, has a good job, but has a pull of the fairground and ends up working on them. Cathy his girlfriend wants to have a career as a nurse, doesent want be tied down with kids. Gianni goes traveling with the fairground, do they end up happy together, i wont say.
Gianni's father owned the fairground and worked on the wall of death, wasnt with his mother. when his mother dies, he wants to know more about his father. Cathys stepfather is a horrible man. what happens next? its up to you the reader ,to read the book to find out.
i found myself singing to every song that is mentioned in the book, an added bonus. many i forgot came back to me, and i remembered the words. i was a child of the sixties, loved the music, the clothes, the freedom. fairgrounds were a big part of my life, as were the bikes. we had a triumph 'bonnie' same as Gianni.
it felt like forever waiting for this book. and wow.....it was worth the wait, like all of Pam Howes books.
now i must wait for the next in the saga. hope its not long.
i would recommend this book and the series to young and old alike. for the young, so you could see how your parents lived, and for the older (i am 65) to relive our youth. it has sadness and happiness, some edge of your seat things, a great saga. highly recommended. well done Pam Howes, you done it again. ps get it at a great price, at 99p, its a bargain. cant get a magazine for that.
well done Pam Howes. now waiting for the sequel please xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant wait for the next part of the story!, 3 Feb 2014
Although I was born after the 60's, Pams descriptive prose conjours up the fashions, the style and the feel of the 60's. The story was gripping and i was willing for a happy ending! I read the book from start to finish in a day and cant wait for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia-fest - enjoyed it all., 17 Jan 2014
By 
E J Miller (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Pam Howes has a knack of taking her readers right back in time to re-experience exactly what is was like way back then, or to introduce younger readers to a period they may only have heard about through their parents or even grandparents. The characters are crisply drawn and endearing, with the two main characters perfectly balanced against those who would drive them apart.

Settings are well depicted and the emotions generated my Ms Howes on behalf of her characters totally believable and sympathetic.

The book ends with plenty of scope for a sequel(s) and I, for one, hope I don't have to wait too long to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the Rock and Roll series I looked forward to Cathy's Clown and I wasn't disappointed. Pam shows a great insight into the 50's/60's capturing those times perfectly evoking happy memories of my teenage days. The story is so believable I have to remind myself Cathy and the love of her life Gianni are characters in a book, Iv'e cried with her at sad times and laughed with her at happy times. I was surprised at what seemed to me to be a sudden end to the book it felt like a cliffhanger but I can't wait for the sequel and find out what becomes to Cathy and Gianni. Thank you Pam I love your books they give me enormous pleasure reading them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet romance with depth, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CATHY'S CLOWN (THE FAIRGROUND ROMANCE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Pam Howes writes with authenticity about life for a woman in the 1960s. Cathy's expected to marry and have babies, but she wants more from her life, having seen how her mother has been trapped by family and a no-good alcoholic husband. She's set on a career as a nurse and even Gianni, her dark and handsome biker boyfriend, can't persuade her to give it up for love. But Gianni has issues of his own to resolve and soon Cathy's torn between working for her own dream or life on the road with his.

This is unashamedly romance, young love and with everything you'd expect from the genre. But it has depth and flavour. The author captures the heart and soul of the times and what it meant to be young and single in the 1960s. I look forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews