Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful
Firstly a disclaimer of sorts: this reviewer does not have cancer and cannot pretend to understand the feelings that those suffering from cancer experience. Yet looking at this book has given a little insight into this world that one hopes never to visit personally.

At first this reviewer did wonder why it was necessary to have a cookbook for cancer sufferers,...
Published on 16 May 2013 by I. Darren

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for us.
Unfortunately, this hasn't worked too well for me. I bought it to cook for my son who had cancer. A lot of the ingredients are expensive and although he is not a fussy eater, he didn't like several of the recipes I cooked for him. This was because he was unfamiliar with some of the ingredients. He hated the Goji berries in the chicken soup, (even though I think they are...
Published 4 months ago by Proud nan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, 16 May 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Firstly a disclaimer of sorts: this reviewer does not have cancer and cannot pretend to understand the feelings that those suffering from cancer experience. Yet looking at this book has given a little insight into this world that one hopes never to visit personally.

At first this reviewer did wonder why it was necessary to have a cookbook for cancer sufferers, yet the book patiently explains that good nutrition is essential and side-effects of treatment often make food unappealing and eating becomes a struggle. The aim of this book is to focus on nutritious food that can be easily tolerated and can help to alleviate common symptoms and side-effects.

So the book starts with a wealth of background information and various guides, explaining the book's central "whole-person" approach and underlining the necessity of good nutrition and keeping the body in the best condition possible. No comment can be made as to the accuracy of the information given or its suitability to an individual cancer sufferer - your doctor would be the best person to talk to - yet everything seems to be good sensible advice. The Penny Brohn Cancer Care is a leading charity offering specialist help to people living with cancer and their supporters, so you can deduce that they should know what they are talking about! It would not be hyperbole to suggest that much of their advice is general "common sense" that could equally be utilised for those suffering from other conditions too. At the end of the book is also advice for sufferers about how to support their body during treatment, looking at many common ailments such as nausea, fatigue and digestive problems. This is possibly nothing new but sometimes good advice needs to be repeated nonetheless many times. As a resource for a carer or family member this could be a great little thing in itself to help further their understanding.

So the recipes, split into four chapters - Shakes, Juices, Smoothies & Breakfasts; Soups & Light Dishes; Main Meals; Desserts & Baked Treats. A simple test reveals great results. If you were to rip a few pages out of this book at random and show it to somebody would they know this was a "special" book or not. The answer is no. It looks just like any other great, engaging recipe book. Sometimes it is a very fine line for somebody with a long-term or terminal illness as to whether they feel like a burden and a victim or not. Recipes from this book enable the entire family to eat great, interesting, inspiring and healthy food which will particularly suit a cancer sufferer. No palaver making "special meals" and treading on metaphorical egg shells here.

Just pulling a couple of recipes out at random. Japanese Lamb Burgers with Wasabi Mayo, Venison with Zesty Gremolata and finally Baked Lemon Cheesecake. They hardly scream out with being suitable for someone who has to very carefully watch their diet and health. Eating as normally as possible won't take your mind off your illness but equally it won't place a perception of an addition burden on to it either. It may feel like one is labouring the point here but it is worth reinforcing.

Each recipe is presented exactly how a great cookbook should be. Clear title and internal signposting, interesting introduction and scene setter, portion sizing, an estimation of preparation and cooking times and various nutritional information clearly labelled. The instructions are clear and simple to follow and the great food photography really pulls you in.

There's not a lot more to say. This is a great book. It would be a great general book without the special sections concerning cancer treatment and it is unfortunate that many people won't see this book by virtue of its title alone. One can only speculate how even "better" this book will be for somebody who has cancer or for a supporting family member. There are many food books that look at various sicknesses or allergies but there are very few that manage to mix sensitivity, compassion, engagement and great content together like this book has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource, 8 July 2013
I have recommended this to some friends and family diagnosed with cancer and they have found it a very useful resource. I have seen Christine Bailey speak and she seems very knowledgable. I would recommend it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dishes that I actually want to eat, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Guy Gervat (Saltdean, Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many of these recipes look really inviting and yet use ingredients that won't cause me a problem. It was the recipe for Blueberry Avocado Build-Up Shake that sold me the book. My only concern is that some of the recipe ingredients are unusual and therefore on the expensive side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide you and your body through treatment, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very informative book, with recipes for specific elements of treatment programme, that gives you confidence of actually being in 'control' of something during cancer - however, it can also be use as a guide to enjoying fresh, nutritious food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for us., 6 Jan. 2015
Unfortunately, this hasn't worked too well for me. I bought it to cook for my son who had cancer. A lot of the ingredients are expensive and although he is not a fussy eater, he didn't like several of the recipes I cooked for him. This was because he was unfamiliar with some of the ingredients. He hated the Goji berries in the chicken soup, (even though I think they are tasteless) and disliked the texture of the cashew & seed bars I made. It is particularly difficult when someone is going through chemo as their taste can change from day to day. I really wanted this to be a success but it wasn't. I think the best advice is avoid sugar if possible, it feeds cancer and include lots of bright colours in the fruit and veg you eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good information, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having Chemotherapy in June this cookbook has been full of information about how your body reacts to the therapy and how to counter act. Remarkable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nourish: the cancer care Cookbook, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and well presented. Would recommend to anyone going through cancer treatment and will continue to use it after recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good cookbook for cancer patients., 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really excellent. Very easy to follow and food so tasty and nutritious just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say, its a great book with lots of recipe ideas . These recipes are suitable for and appealing to the whole family so everyone can eat similarly I think thats a good thing for morale as well as keeping nutritional levels high at a time when eating can be difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a job getting cancer patients to eat, this helps, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
Brian Russell (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good information throughout, but some of the recipes are far from basic, especially if you are caring for a cancer patient who dosnt like this and that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nourish: The Cancer Care Cookbook
£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews