Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2014
I suppose most of us of a certain age will remember two of Crispian St Peters' 45rpm hits on vinyl: "You Were On My Mind" and "The Pied Piper", both of which have stuck with me over the years. But what I hadn't fully realised before buying this double cd set was just how many songs he had recorded and the range of styles and voice sounds he produced. Great stuff, something different in my collection, and well worth a listen.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
This 2 cd set has everything you'll ever need of C St P's recordings on the period covered. It's extremely well presented and there are some recordings which you might not have heard before but are well worth exploring. 1st class presentation and great sound. Couldn't ask for more.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Crispian St. Peters was born Robin Peter Smith in Swanley, Kent on April 5, 1939. In the beginning, his stage name was Woody Smith. When Smith was signed to a new 10 year contract, the first stage name suggested was Crispin Blacke – to match his new saturnine image akin to that of Dave Berry. But he hated it, and compromised: Crispian St. Peters. He had chart successes in UK and US in the late 60s. His two main labels were Decca in UK (Jamie in US) and Square. In 1995, at the age of 55, he sadly suffered a major stroke, which left him paralysed in his right arm, but he relearned to play his guitar using just one finger of his right hand. He eventually retired due to worsening health. In 2003, he died on June 8, 2010 at the age 71.

CONTENT:

I am compiled a more detailed listing, differentiating between singles (with label & number, chart position, a and b-sides) and album & EP tracks:

Disc 1:
01 At This Moment (Decca 12080)(uncharted single, 1965)
02 You’ll Forge Me, Goodbye (Decca 12080)(b-side, 1965)
03 No No No (Decca 12207)(uncharted single, 1965)
04 Three Goodbyes (Decca 12207)(b-side, 1965)
05 You Were On My Mind (Decca 12287)(UK 2/1966; US 36/1967)
06 What I’m Gonna Be (Decca 12287)(b-side, 1966)
07 The Pied Piper (Decca 12359)(UK 5/1966; US 4/1966)
08 Sweet Dawn My True Love (Decca 12359)(b-side, 1966)
09 Your Love Has Gone (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
10 Jilly Honey (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
11 When We Meet (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
12 It’s A Funny Feeling (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
13 So Long (Decca 13055)(uncharted single, 1970)
14 But She’s Untrue (Decca 12525)(b-side to Your Ever Changin’ Mind, 1966)
15 Goodbye to You (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
16 Willingly (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
17 Without You (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
18 That’s The Way I Feel (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
19 That Little Chain (from LP Follow Me, Decca 4805, 1966)
20 Changes (Decca 12480)(UK 47/1966; US 57/1966)
21 My Little Brown Eyes (Decca 12480)(b-side, 1966)
22 Your Ever Changin’ Mind (Decca 12525)(US 106/1966)
23 Almost Persuaded (Decca 12596)(uncharted single, 1967)
24 You Have Gone (Decca 12596)(b-side, 1967)
25 Free Spirit (Decca 12677)(uncharted single, 1967)
26 I’m Always Crying (Decca 12677)(b-side, 1967)

Disc 2:
01 Laura (from EP Almost Persuaded)(Decca 8678)(1967)
02 I Fall To Pieces (from EP Almost Persuaded)(Decca 8678)(1967)
03 Sweet Lies (from EP Almost Persuaded)(Decca 8678)(1967)
04 That’s The Time (Decca 12761)(uncharted single, 1968)
05 The Silent Times (Decca 12761)(b-side, 1968)
06 Low Bad Hurtin’ (as Country Smith)(Decca 12818)(uncharted single, 1968)
07 No Longer Mine (as Country Smith)(Decca 12818)(b-side, 1968)
08 Look Into My Teardrops (Jamie 1359)(US 133/1968)
09 Carolina (Decca 12861)(uncharted single, 1968)
10 That’s Why We Are Through (Decca 12861)(b-side, 1968)
11 Wandering Hobo (Square SQ 2)(uncharted single, 1970)
12 No Longer Mine (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)(Stereo LP version)
13 On And On (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)
14 I Made Her That Way (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)
15 I Met You (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)
16 Please Take Me Back (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)(Stereo LP version)
17 Look Into My Teardrops (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)(Stereo LP version)
18 Monumental Queen (promo-copy)(Mencap 002)(uncharted single, 1969)
19 Love, Love, Love (Square SQ2)(b-side to Wandering Hobo, 1970)
20 I’m Gonna Have A Little Talk With You Friend (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)
21 Soft As A Rose (promo-copy)(Mencap 002)(b-side to Monumental Queen, 1969)
22 I’ve Cried A Mile (from LP Simply, Square SQA 102)(1970)
23 Do Daddy Do (Santa Ponsa PNS 17)(uncharted single, 1974)
24 Every Time You Sinned (Santa Ponsa PNS 17)(b-side, 1974)

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This 2 CD set with 50 songs is indeed the most “complete” collection of Crispian St. Peters. The previously released Anthology by Repertoire was pale in comparison to this current set. The songs were listed chronologically, including both a and b-sides, plus album and EP tracks. The details are listed above.
2 The sound is very well remastered, with clear crisp vocals and no hiss.
3 There is a 16-page booklet, containing an excellent detailed essay about the life of Crispian St. Peters, plus valuable information on his discography. Picture sleeves and album covers were also included.

NEGATIVE POINT:

1 The rare 10” release R.D.M. – The Ballad of Richard’s Drivin’ Machine (Swiss 10” 1972) is not included. Yes, I am being too picky.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I have two other Greatest Hits Of Crispian St. Peters. The Anthology CD on Repertoire has 29 tracks, and will generally satisfy most people and is slightly cheaper. But if you are a collector and completist, this set is the ultimate definitive edition with all the a and b-sides, charted and uncharted, plus album and EP tracks. The sound is also excellent. This set is highly recommended more for collectors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Underrated artist but his two major hits are all time classics
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
This double album is a total waste of time, there are only two decent tracks on this whole double album, the two hit singles,
the rest are mediocre rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
If you are a fan of crispian st Peters, then you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
been after a cd version of this for ages great sounds from the sixties quick delivery too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Memories of bygone days round Richmond and Twickenham. Wonder what happened to some of the young ladies that were part of those days!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
quick delivery of excellent product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.51
£7.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)