Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!
I have actually seen the series and it is absolutely brilliant.
There's never a boring moment with miss Fisher; gang warfare and ghosts and car racing are some of the things to look forward to. As well as Jack finally learning to let his hair down.

After watching the series on tv and being more than a little annoyed by the awful butchering of the episodes...
Published 7 months ago by Wilde woman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Who opened this parcel before reception?
The Product was not under plast when I received it. The whole parcel has been opened before reception of it and not by the customs as this mention was missing.
The Product in itself is OK.
Published 25 days ago by Fab


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have actually seen the series and it is absolutely brilliant.
There's never a boring moment with miss Fisher; gang warfare and ghosts and car racing are some of the things to look forward to. As well as Jack finally learning to let his hair down.

After watching the series on tv and being more than a little annoyed by the awful butchering of the episodes - entire scenes cut out that are referred to later in the episode- to fit the time I'm greatly looking forward to finding out what I missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second series even better than the first- sign the petition and get it renewed for a third!, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I continue to enjoy the lively characters and fascinating mysteries offered by this show. I live in the UK and only heard of this Australian show through a friend, but the characters are easy to like and the show puts in a lot more effort than many other shows bother nowadays.

At the moment season three is hanging in the balance and probably wont be greenlit. If you enjoy the show please sign the petition at Change.org
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved both the series of Miss Fisher on TV and series 2 is even better than the first. This is a good quality drama with excellent production values and great acting.

Getting the DVD is must for anyone who has enjoyed the series on Alibi as some of the scenes they cut are really quite relevant to each individual episode and the whole story arc of the series.

I really do hope the ABC make a 3rd season - fingers crossed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Miss Fisher Part II!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Already halfway thru the second series and realizing just how much Alibi messed with the series. All the bits that supplied continuity to the Phryne/Jack relationship were sacrificed - and the other important characters like Hugh/Dot, Bert/Cec. Miss Fisher's influence on Dot is becoming all to clear and Hugh is having to learn not to patronise her. She's not quite a 'modern woman', but she's on her way ... the burgeoning jealousy of Jack's ex adds dimension to the story - again this was ditched by Alibi. It says a lot for the two leads that viewers didn't abandon the second series but stuck with it in spite of often coming away with a sense of something not quite right with series 2.

Apparently, ABC are umming and ahhing about a third series. Their mindset is that only over 60's watch the series! How wrong they are. Many women today - young and old - would identify and approve of the choices Phryne makes. So go to [...] and learn how to petition them to make a third series.

Re Phryne and Jack's relationship: I think Jack is holding out for exclusivity, meanwhile, his association with Phryne is helping revive the career he had given up on ... which would make for a very interesting series 3.

My advice is the same for series 1: Sell everything, buy this DVD!

ps I've now viewed all four discs and has anyone else noticed that there is a scene missing? In episode 8 after the murder has been discovered and before Phryne arrives at the University, there ought to be a scene where she visits Jack and a quarrel ensues; hence her comments 'two steps behind' and 'I'm afraid I'm going to have to touch you'? Maybe mine is a duff disc. If not, I'll e-mail Acorn soonest. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Helen Kelley (Pleasantville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My Season 2 DVD's have not arrived yet. However, I could not even wait until the end of February, so I am watching Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries on AcornTV here in the States. The stories are entertaining, costuming absolutely gorgeous, cast on point, and the air of the 20's beguiling. I have become a diehard fan. Australian TV has definitely produced a winner. After watching some of the more heady programming (which I love), it is nice to kick back watching Phryne at work solving crime. Essie Davis is doing a wonderful job with this role. I am looking forward to Season 3!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant well done Australia, 13 April 2014
By 
H. Warren (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this series and the first series too. Will watch over and over again. If you like it too then I recommend you get The Dr Blakey mysteries too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's the best thing I've watched in years, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Anne "Mystery Mom" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I fully agree with all the other rave reviews, it's the best thing I've watched in years. A refreshing change to see a leading female character who isn't the 'norm' but has real guts, pushes the boundaries and has no fear of anything. Her only weakness, if you could call it that, is the loss of her younger sister which has affected her deeply. Essie Davis is fantastic in her role, she plays with enough subtlety to make her character endearing yet admirable. To be honest, all the characters are well cast and memorable, every single one of them fine actors. I just can't praise it highly enough. It makes me remember how British television used to be . . . . only this is better! Take note British programme producers, if Australia can do it, we can too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder mysteries, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have never heard of MIss Fisher's mysteries, I found it very entertaining and enjoyed watching this DVD, will certainly purchase other series in the future,I enjoyed the setting of this series around or about the 1920's, I loved seeing the fashions, hairstyles etc., thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased the first series and found it very enjoyable. This second series is just as good as the first with all the attention to period detail. Thoughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good sequel to Series 1., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the era of the 20's which the series is filmed in. The characters are very interesting and the episodes have good story lines
Love Miss Fisher - she is quite the lady and love her outfits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD]
Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Series 2 [DVD] by Catherine Millar (DVD - 2014)
£22.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews