Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great novel from Sarah Painter
First off, let me show some serious cover appreciation! That cover is stunning! Carina always have such beautiful covers!

I previously read Sarah's debut, The Language of Spells and loved it, so was thrilled when she released her second novel The Secrets of Ghosts. Although this is a stand alone novel to The Language of Spells, we get to revisit some of the...
Published 8 months ago by Laura's little book blog

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointed
Very disappointed! I enjoyed the first book -The Language of Spells - so downloaded this. It read as though it had been written in a hurry, lacked the depth and detail of the first book and the heroine was naive and irritating. There wasn't one character that induced any empathy in me at all and the book didn't engage me at all. I wonder if there was a rush to get this...
Published 1 month ago by fizz boot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up to first novel, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
I'd been really looking forward to reading this after Sarah Painter's debut, 'The Language of Spells' was released last year. And I wasn't disappointed. There was the same building of an eery and mystical world around a family blessed (or sometimes cursed) with magical gifts; the same clever building of suspense; and the same deft character building that makes Painter's protagonists likeable and intriguing. What differed is that our focus is now on the next generation gifted with a much darker magic, and the ghostly rite of passage that the discovery of the power leads to. Painter has plainly done her research well, and I felt I learnt things about the world of magic and witchcraft, as well as just having an enjoyable read. The book reminded me of works such as 'Her fearful Symmetry' by Audrey Niffenegger. A great follow-up to a great debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book and found an easy ready, just like the first. Perfect for a bit of escapism on a wet windy night, or on a balmy evening, which most of the book was set in! Nice development of a few key characters from first book 'the language of spells' but is very much a stand alone book and not a sequel. Would recommend this to a wide range of readers and ages. Lovely little moments are found throughout this book and it's one you will happily return to when winter is knocking again or that beachy summer holiday read is needed! Go on, go on, go and buy it and whilst at it, get the first one too!! Xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book and Sarah Painter's last book. Really recommend you read them. They keep you gripped throughout, and allows your imagination to wander into a world of passion and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An assured follow up., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
The only reason for not reading this entertaining and assured follow up to ‘The Language of Spells’ is that you will know the ending when it gets made into a film or TV drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly written, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
This book is equally as good as the first book written by Sarah Painter. Excellent sequel to The Language of Spells. The storyline builds on the bond between two family members in that novel as well as exciting new characters. You feel like you know them and visualise them all as you read. Brilliantly written. The romance and the suspense keep you turning the pages . I would deffinately recommend this book and any future ones written by this fresh new author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Another first class read from Sarah, who effortlessly paints a picture of a slightly magical, perfectly romantic and in this case rather creepy world, where a young witch's powers aren't quite what she hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good read., 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! Good characters and believable dialogue, as in Sarah's first novel, but even more depth of plot. The story drew me in immediately and held my interest and empathy to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!!!!, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Frenchykate (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
A real page-turner from beginning to end. I read, and loved Sarah's first book and this follow up is equally fantastic.
Humour, love, loss, and set during a basking hot summer, a perfect spring read to get us all in the mood for summer 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Katie magically comes of age., 26 Feb 2014
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
The Secret of Ghosts is set in the village Pendleford where Katie Harper is celebrating her twenty-first birthday with her friends and family. Although she is enjoying her life and having fun she is also harbouring thoughts of her greatest disappointment, she, a Harper woman, has not yet discovered her magical talents like the other generations of Harper women before her did, this despite having lessons from her aunt Gwen, a finder, for the last seven years. But her own best efforts are increasingly frustrating Katie. However hard she concentrates, however hard she tries, her spells go disastrously wrong.

Now employed at the local boutique hotel, Katie discovers the body of a guest, dead on the floor of his suite, when bringing him his room service order. The shock of it all makes her faint. A fellow wedding reception attendee, Max, also has an interest in the mysterious death of the hotel guest. They team up and Max also shows persistence and tolerance in his friendship with Katie. But this is only the beginning of the magical story, as Katie soon discovers her ‘Harper’ gift, a gift that will lead her into mortal danger, a gift that starts with Katie being able to talk with the long dead.

The Secret of Ghosts is the sequel to Sarah Painter’s debut novel ‘The Language of Spells’ in which Katie and Gwen also feature. It is imaginative and thrilling, enchanting, well-written and thought provoking, with a dash of romance and a sprinkling of humour. I read this novel within a couple of days and really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un put down able !!, 26 Sep 2014
By 
R. Moore "Ros Moore" (Wellingborough England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Ghosts spirits freezing rooms handsome man,belonging to an ancient family of whitches,this book has it all,and will have you really caught up in this great tale, Ros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secrets of Ghosts
The Secrets of Ghosts by Sarah Painter
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews