Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2014
This book is an amazingly detailed snapshot of the world's greatest artists. The presentation of each subject is concise and follows a defined pattern covering lifestyle, skills, historical background, relationships etc. Each artist is placed in his time frame and how he fitted in to his contemporaries. The book is incredibly comprehensive considering the limited number of pages allocated to each subject (three or four) and the amount of information presented to the reader points to a dedicated amount of research. I recommend this book to Art students not only for the subject detail but for the simple guidelines for finding the whereabouts of each artist's finest pictures. This is more than an instructional volume. I found it entertaining and would have awarded five stars except for the poor quality of the illustrations.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
This is a sound introduction to art through the works of famous artists. The information is clear and the pictures used are typical of the artist with a list of key works. It is a 'starter for 10' in that there is so much more to learn about each artist and a bibliography would have been a great help in following up each artist's life and work in detail. The glossary of terms is useful too. As an introduction to artists within historical periods and styles this is excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I'm not an 'arty' person, so this purchase was for information rather than enjoyment. This book, though, is interesting, very informative and full of those facts we know but have misplaced somewhere. I like it lots.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
A really good book of 220 pages which gives a double-page spread on all the major artists from early times. It gives some biographical and contextual information together with some examples of their work. It's a good, superficial (in a good way) introduction to art and artists. It should enable me to bluff my way through my next gallery visit. That will be the Wallace Collection so the pages on Fragonard, Watteau and Boucher were handy. If you're into art but can't do more than 2/3 hours at a time then this might be just up your street.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
The illustrations are fabulous and the links to other Artists provide a broad scope of influences and trends in the Art world
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Clear description of main artists through the ages.

If there had been more pictures I'd have given it 5 stars
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Great book, all you need to know about artists their work and different genres and movements. Everyone should have it !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Excellent, concise & colourful history of art from early 1300 Gothic to the more recent pop art movement. Gorgeous prints of major artworks too. A beautiful guide to dip into and learn more about art and artists' lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I found this book to be entertaining, educational and enlivening. Would thoroughly recommend for anyone with even a passing interest in art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Shows little insight into any of the artists and is extremely limited in the choice of works discussed. It ought to be entitled "hardly anything you need to know....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)