Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Fantasy Debut Since Mark Lawrence's Prince Of Thorns!
The story is told from the 1st person perspective of Falcio Val Mond, First Cantor of the Greatcoats. His charming, romantic and noble (though he'd hate for me to say that) personality traits are what caused my to form an allegiance with the character early on and maintained that connection throughout.
The basic storyline (without any spoilers) is that Falcio dreamt...
Published 9 months ago by Shane Dunne

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
I just could not get on with this book, the way it was written, the characters did not capture my imagination, i did not escape into the world and get carried away, after all it is fantasy! Therefore quickly deleted.
Published 1 month ago by Fireball 61


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and would recommend any fantasy fiction fan to pick it up and give it a try. A fresh and interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable book with twists all the way to the end. Great as a stand alone book but I will be keeping an eye out for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful adventure..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Falcio is the first Cantor of the Greatcoats. Trained in the fighting arts and the laws of Tristia, the Greatcoats are travelling Magisters upholding King’s Law. They are heroes. Or at least they were, until they stood aside while the Dukes took the kingdom, and impaled their King’s head on a spike.
Now Tristia is on the verge of collapse and the barbarians are sniffing at the borders. The Dukes bring chaos to the land, while the Greatcoats are scattered far and wide, reviled as traitors, their legendary coats in tatters.

So here we have the start of a brilliant new series, a glorious adventure of a novel with terrific characters, and a sprawling magnificent story which gives a truly addictive reading experience.

It put me in mind of The Three Musketeers but with a wonderful humerous yet ironic undertone, some laugh out loud moments (Falcio and gang are both driven yet realistic and this leads to some extraordinarily witty and whimsical exchanges) and a whole load of action of the swashbuckling variety that will have you on the edge of your seat.

Intrigue, betrayal, redemption, sword fighting, mystery, mayhem, you name it you will probably find it somewhere in the pages. The story romps along at a tremendous pace, holding you in its thrall until you get to the last moments which WILL leave you wanting more.

The mythology and world building are perfectly constructed, I loved the simple flowing yet beautifully written descriptive prose and I fell in love completely with the characters and the world they inhabit…I truly can’t wait to find out whats next.

Brilliantly concieved, cleverly executed and a whole bucket of fun, this will be one of the most entertaining novels you read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatbook about Greacoats, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this. A real page turner. Can't wait for the next instalment. I hope I don't have long to wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed it, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Took me a few chapters to get into it but then I couldn't put it down. Looking forward to the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant ...I can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traitors Blade, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very very good fantasy novel.Engaging witty excellent fight scenes good pace tight well planned and believable story lines which manage to keep u guessing for the most part although die hard fantasy readers will get quite a few of them! Characters are well developed loved all three lead greatcoats Falcio in paticular. It will be interesting to see how de Castell develops the whole story and characters in the second book for their surely has to be one!Dont turn into a GRR Martin!!!! In the meantime well done sir!!Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the year so far....., 7 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is my book of the year so far. It is the also first book I have reread immediately after finishing. It is not perfect - there are a couple of holes in the plot and a glaring continuity error but I just couldn't put this book down. The lead protagonist is fantastic, the fights are really well written and the plot and world building are really interesting. "Musketeers" in a fantasy setting should be a cheese-fest but somehow this book is less clichéd than a lot of other current fantasy. If you want a break from gritty antiheroes but don't want a stereotypical fantasy book then you can't go wrong with this one. Genuinely fun and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and not written for teens, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Some inventive characters and fun dialog makes this a solid rec for the hardcore fantasy reader. Four more words required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traitor's Blade (The Greatcoats Book 1)
£4.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews