Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere inTime .......
A beautiful film with wonderful music and restrained but charismatic acting by the late, great Christopher Reeve, Jane Seymour and Chistopher Plummer. It was filmed on Mackinac Island in Lake Michigan in summer 1979 where the atmospheric Grand Hotel really exists and cars have always been outlawed so that to this day transport is by horse and carriage or bicycle...
Published on 11 May 2006 by Viewer 17

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining romance movie flawed by a poor transfer to DVD
I won't go into Somewhere in Time's worth as entertainment here - suffice to say that I think it's a wonderful film, adapted by the brilliant short story writer Richard Matheson from his own story and well worth 5 stars. But in this review I'm focusing on the technical aspects which I feel detract from the DVD.

This DVD (ASIN: B0000UM0OE) features a 'matted...
Published on 13 Oct 2007 by Ian Cooper


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Tissues at the ready!, 21 July 2009
By 
Michelle Irvine (Fife, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're into weepies then this is your film. It's sweet, heart wrenching and unashamedly soppy - I dare you not to shed a tear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 2 May 2009
By 
Ms. R. Montagnini "Roberta" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
the movie is unforgettable... it tells a story of a man that is capable to go back in time to be with his loved woman.

5 stars! amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere In Time, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Torry Quine "Sid" (Blackdog, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
Superb movie, superb soundtrack. Really pleased to find a copy so easily on Amazon. Well priced, promptly despatched, completely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time-Travelling Romance, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. Tebbs "bass man" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
One of my wife's favourite films, this combines romance with time travel! This movie has a wonderful feel to it and great music - by John Barry and Rachmaninov. We don't watch DVDs as a rule, but this is one of a handful of films we'd have no hesitation putting on when there's nothing worth watching on the goggle-box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time travel without the machine, 4 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
Due to an extraordinary event a person longing for an earlier time (1912) is introduced to a method that will accomplish this. There he finds love. Will he stay or is there more in store for him? The answer lies "Somewhere in Time."

The story is based on a novel by Richard Matheson with a score by John Barry.

For those that may forget the details of this movie they will not forget Variation 18 of Sergei Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

It is well conceived and paced for the content. The viewing audience is polarized as to whether this is the type of film they would watch, but all agree in the quality of this one. I personally think it is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST WONDERFUL, 30 July 2014
By 
Mr. Bw Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
This is a Wonderful Film,I so enjoyed the Extras that gives a insight to how the Film came to be made etc.Proberly one of the Best Tear Jerkers to be made yet so underrated.The Film Score by the late John Barry(the Icing on the cake.) plus the late Christopher Reeves,one of my Best Films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! But where did the watch come from?, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superman showed just how Super he was in this beautiful movie. Christopher Reeve said he had more fan questions about Somewhere In Time than any of his other work. The scene where he first sees the picture of Elise McKenna is magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Picture-SHAME the sound is RUBBISH MONO, 29 July 2014
By 
Brian KNIGHT ""Holywell"" (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Good Picture-SHAME the sound is RUBBISH MONO! W A K E-U P----------Universal, would it have cost/and taken so much time to have released this in at least BASIC STEREO. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film is ver y good, but quality of the DVD I received is awful. Blacks out quite often, so ruins any enjoyment of watching the entire film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG HOW MUCH DO I LOVE THIS THIS FILM ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVOURITES ..., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OMG HOW MUCH DO I LOVE THIS THIS FILM ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVOURITES THANX SO MUCH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import]
Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] by Christopher Plummer (Blu-ray - 2014)
10.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews