Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere inTime .......
A beautiful film with wonderful music and restrained but charismatic acting by the late, great Christopher Reeve, Jane Seymour and Chistopher Plummer. It was filmed on Mackinac Island in Lake Michigan in summer 1979 where the atmospheric Grand Hotel really exists and cars have always been outlawed so that to this day transport is by horse and carriage or bicycle...
Published on 11 May 2006 by Viewer 17

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining romance movie flawed by a poor transfer to DVD
I won't go into Somewhere in Time's worth as entertainment here - suffice to say that I think it's a wonderful film, adapted by the brilliant short story writer Richard Matheson from his own story and well worth 5 stars. But in this review I'm focusing on the technical aspects which I feel detract from the DVD.

This DVD (ASIN: B0000UM0OE) features a 'matted...
Published on 13 Oct 2007 by Ian Cooper


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Tissues at the ready!, 21 July 2009
By 
Michelle Irvine (Fife, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're into weepies then this is your film. It's sweet, heart wrenching and unashamedly soppy - I dare you not to shed a tear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 2 May 2009
By 
Ms. R. Montagnini "Roberta" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
the movie is unforgettable... it tells a story of a man that is capable to go back in time to be with his loved woman.

5 stars! amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere In Time, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Torry Quine "Sid" (Blackdog, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
Superb movie, superb soundtrack. Really pleased to find a copy so easily on Amazon. Well priced, promptly despatched, completely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time-Travelling Romance, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. Tebbs "bass man" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
One of my wife's favourite films, this combines romance with time travel! This movie has a wonderful feel to it and great music - by John Barry and Rachmaninov. We don't watch DVDs as a rule, but this is one of a handful of films we'd have no hesitation putting on when there's nothing worth watching on the goggle-box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time travel without the machine, 4 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
Due to an extraordinary event a person longing for an earlier time (1912) is introduced to a method that will accomplish this. There he finds love. Will he stay or is there more in store for him? The answer lies "Somewhere in Time."

The story is based on a novel by Richard Matheson with a score by John Barry.

For those that may forget the details of this movie they will not forget Variation 18 of Sergei Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

It is well conceived and paced for the content. The viewing audience is polarized as to whether this is the type of film they would watch, but all agree in the quality of this one. I personally think it is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film is ver y good, but quality of the DVD I received is awful. Blacks out quite often, so ruins any enjoyment of watching the entire film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery arrived as expected. The music is wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed by quality of recording, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased the film for my wife to watch as she's mad about love stories. I sat down with her (knowing what would happen as I'd seen the film before). As the story unfolds Christopher Reeve's character finds himself in the past where he meets the amazingly gorgeous Jane Seymour. Unfortunately the DVD picture froze and would not continue, even after relentless resetting etc.
It's sitting in a drawer in our living room still in it's box and what to do with it ?

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie when I first saw it but this recording spoilt everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time travel romance that is too tenuous, 22 Dec 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere In Time [DVD] (DVD)
I have great difficulty with this film, I love the idea of the story but there is something about the realization. Somehow the plot is too slender and I was never able to become fully involved with the characters.
In the novel Richard Collier (Reeves) is terminally ill and one is apparently uncertain whether the time travel is hallucination or fact, which adds a dynamic to the story that is missing in the film. Also the suit Reeves wears for the 1912 scenes is almost out of vaudeville and detracts from the portrayal of the depth of Richards feelings for Elise.
On the other hand the treatment of Elise (Seymour) is ideal, pale muslin and cotton dresses giving her an ethereal quality. The character of William Robinson (Plummer) Elise’s autocratic impresario is excellent, a martinet he also deeply loves her in a platonic way that one can easily relate to.
It appears everyone involved loved the plot, but it feels as if they all had difficulty in the realization, it is simply too gentle and shadowy a concept to grip the imagination.
Although the plot is rather different I was mentally comparing it with William Dieterle’s 1948 masterpiece “Portrait of Jennie” where by superb direction one is never distracted from the drama by the surreal plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAFT BUT ENJOYABLE, 16 Sep 2009
By 
A. Taylor (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daft I know but both my wife and I enjoyed this film. The premise is certainly a bit iffy, unless of course you subscribe to the multiple universe theory :-) but that's not really the point. It's....a nice film and a pleasant way to pass an hour or so. With a conspicuous lack of special effects blood and gore as well as the seemingly de rigour multiple corpses and car chases of most films these days it's jolly good. Both the leads take their parts well as does Mr Plummer. Miss Seymour really was quite stunning when this film was made and is a real treat for the eyes all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import]
Somewhere in Time [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import] by Christopher Plummer (Blu-ray - 2014)
9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews