Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sod Britpop - this was the soundtrack to the mid-90s for me
Remember the mid 90s? Remember the horrors of bog standard indie bands all being proclaimed by the press as the saviours of music? Remember the painfully embarrassing and highly orchestrated race for number one between Oasis and Blur? Remember when Therapy? stuck two fingers up at this sad state of affairs and released their third album Infernal Love?

It would...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by LukeW

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, bad, and ok
After the neck-breaking, power-pop joyride that was Troublegum, Therapy? return with this, their third full length album. Just to set the record straight- this is not "Troulbegum 2". And that is definitely a good thing. The Therapy? boys knew that albums like Troublegum are strictly one-offs. Repeating the formula wouldn't do justice to either a new album and...
Published on 1 May 2001 by bburke52@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sod Britpop - this was the soundtrack to the mid-90s for me, 18 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
Remember the mid 90s? Remember the horrors of bog standard indie bands all being proclaimed by the press as the saviours of music? Remember the painfully embarrassing and highly orchestrated race for number one between Oasis and Blur? Remember when Therapy? stuck two fingers up at this sad state of affairs and released their third album Infernal Love?

It would have been very easy and very predictable for the band to release Troublegum 2. As listenable as that would have been, it wouldn't have been a patch on this - one of their most consistent and solid albums to date. Infernal Love isn't just a bunch of songs; it's a proper album that rewards listen after listen from beginning to end. From the frightening opener `Epilepsy' to the glorious return to the light that is '30 Seconds', this is a band working together to produce one of their best works. Of course, this drift from the raw anger of Troublegum, while present in the lyrics of the awesome `Me Vs You' as well as `Misery', alienated some fans of their earlier work. Their loss, I thought when I was an angst ridden 17 year old with silly hair, and still do now I'm a 32 year old with no angst and no hair. Infernal Love is the best album Therapy? released in the 90s and while their more recent stuff is still great, this is definitely an essential purchase.

Sing it with me..."THERE IS A LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barnstorming riffs great vocals. Absolutely brilliant., 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
This album is simply jam packed with the most triggerhappy, riproaring riffs ever. Therapy have always flirted with metal and that shows, but this album mixes some of the most pop tunes and pop vocals with real crunch grunge guitars - the result is awesome.
Andy Cairns' voice can be as tender as it can be aggressive and distorted as hell. This album has some brilliant moments. From the sweet and moving cover of 'Diane', which will send shivers down your spine with its string arrangements and chilling lyrics, to the real go-crazy anthem track 'Me Vs You', which will have you singing along at the top of your voice and jumping round your room smashing things up.
There are songs which you'll immediately love - 'Loose', 'Stories' - but when you listen to the album a few times, the real classics appear. 'Moment Of Clarity' is the most outstanding track and will bring you back to this album again and again. These guys really are the riff-merchants of the decade. 'Troublegum' and 'Infernal Love' are two must-have albums from the nineties, 'Infernal Love' being the deeper of the two. If you've never heard any Therapy, (you probably will have without realising!) then if you like Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Silverchair, why isn't this in your collection? You don't know what you're missing! Classic rock...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shock therapy.., 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
From the pop punk angst of troublegum to this brooding serial killer? they did it, and they dont care what u think. as much as i LOVE this album, i have to rate it in the top three most depressing albums of all time, even the last songs closing lines of "there is a light at the end of the tunnel..." makes you feel completly and utterly alone....Therapy? is the best name ever for this kind of music, especially this album, this album "hurts" dont listen when depressed..but i defy you to put this album away once the hooks sink in..this band is "pure genius" no pun intended lads..lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album, 19 July 2002
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
Most people don't think this album is much cop after Troublegum just because it is different. After listening to it a few times you notice the songs are actually very good. The songs Moment of Clarity and Bad Mother are really good though most people thend to say they aren't. Other great tracks are the Husker Du cover Diane, Stories, 30 Seconds and Loose. The lyrics are as dark and evil as in most Therapy? songs but the album is also pretty depressing. As the title Infernal Love suggests it's about Love going wrong, apart from this the album is a must have for anyone's CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Deluxe Edition package of a stone cold Punk Metal classic!!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
How do you top a career-defining, faultless album as classic as 'Troublegum?'...Well, you don't REALLY. But you do what Therapy? did with this follow-up and do an album as good as possible, but in a totally different sound and in an even more against the grain vein. Gone (for the most part) are the heavily-distorted punk/thrash infused riffs, and the catchy, chart-bothering singles that (despite its mostly dark subject matter) still managed to sound joyful or even uplifting, in is this slow burning, DJ-mixed, doomy, mournful, angst-ridden gem.
The change in itself deserves plaudits, as Therapy? could easily have stuck to 'Troublegum's' winning formula and repeated the same album and fully capitalised on their chart success as so many other bands are tempted to do. I guess the anti-establishment, punk spirit took a hold of Andy Cairns and company and they decided that fame isn't really for them and stuck to their roots. Following a brief flirtation in the mainstream limelight on their previous outing, this fantastic album somehow disappeared without a trace, and Therapy? were back where they were on 'Nurse' - mostly unappreciated but extremely talented underground heroes.
This album is definitely a grower but is much more immediate than I thought it was the first time I heard it (I hastily sold this album years ago straight after listening to 'Troublegum' and thought it was crap by comparison...yes, I know, what a fool I was!!) I decided to revisit it following listening to some of the tracks on YouTube and was surprised how good they were.
The album itself is a lot slower, less catchy and upbeat than 'Troublegum' apart from the superb trio of 'Epilepsy,' 'Stories' and 'Loose.' The majority are slow, melodic numbers that somehow sound epic despite their relatively short lengths (no song is longer than 6 minutes if you minus the abstract DJ 'skits'). The majority of the tracks are 3/4/5 minutes and are mid tempo and very eerie and melodic as opposed to the straight-up, balls-out rock and riffs aplomb we'd normally associate with the band. However, it works very well and tracks such as 'Misery,' 'Jude the Obscene,' and 'Me Vs. You' demonstrate this new Therapy? sound very well and are excellent songs that might need a few listens to fully appreciate. 'Bad Mother' sits somewhere in between these two rough groups of songs and has both a slow build up before it changes pace quickly when it reaches the chorus and interlude, one of the album's highlights. 'Bowels Of Love' feels a little like 'half time' as it’s a dreamy acoustic ballad that is a break from the intense distortion and dread of the previous tracks. The strings cover of Husker Du's 'Diane' is another venture away from the traditional Therapy? sound, and, despite being a barely recognizable version of that song but maintaining its bleak and tragic lyrics is still eerily catchy and will have you singing along in no time. '30 Seconds' brings the album to a bit of a stuttered and loosely-tied end and is the weakest track on the album. There's only so many times you can listen to the overly repeated outro line of 'There is a light at the end of the tunnel' before thinking 'OK, that's enough - I get it!!' The fat is trimmed off on the bonus disc's acoustic version however and is a massive improvement in my opinion.
The Deluxe extra CD really is excellent, and is almost worth the full price on its own. It features a mix of acoustic and live versions of some of the best songs off 'Troublegum' as well as 'Infernal Love' itself. On top of that are two rare songs ('Our Love Must Die' and 'Nice Guys') acoustic versions of older or rare songs 'Opal Mantra' and 'Disgacelands,' one good remix of 'Innocent X' and one totally crap remix, but that's forgivable. The acoustic version of '30 Seconds' definitely improves on the original, and the acoustic take of 'Screamager' is classy as are the others, there isn't a bad track on the disc barring the one, afore-mentioned remix. Most Deluxe CD's extras are quite frankly filler or poor add-on's that don't really do anything to the album it is supposed to enhance e.g. poor left out songs, inferior demo recordings, but this is probably the best Deluxe Edition CD I have ever come across and definitely worth buying, a must for Therapy? fans and a great addition to any rock/punk/metal/good music fan's CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful re-issue!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
The 1995 classic Therapy? album - the one that sucker punched those expecting "Troublegum Part 2" at the time - sounds better than ever in this remastered edition. Just plain fantastic!

For alternative rock lovers, this bitter-sweet album is a must. Absolutely unique in the 1990s scene and still maturing, like a good wine. It's one of those albums which only makes sense if you listen from start to finish, a bunch of times. If you haven't heard it, get it, give it time, let it sink in, you won't regret it. Plus, you get an extra CD, full of great b-side tracks, clearly showing how bold and eclectic this band was/still is... making this the "Infernal Love" edition to own!

For the fans who know this record inside out, like me, there's a nostalgic value added to the revised decibels. But that's about it. It's good enough for me to have it remastered, but I would love to have something absolutely rare and unique in the extras. There are photos in the booklet that will surprise and the sleeve notes are a great, but I'm talking about music. I already owned and listened to death all the bonus tracks on the second CD. That's why this review won't be having the 5 star (4.5 would be the real star rating for me). Still, absolutely worth owning this edition if you still feel like listening to this record again. Really, get this one!

In retrospect, it's a singular album from a band that never repeated itself. In a powerful new edition. For fans to relive and new listeners to be surprised with a 90s gem!

Enjoy and Stay Happy! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF 2014 DELUXE EDITION, 11 April 2014
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
Why certain people have an issue with this album is beyond my personal comprehension. Yes. I guess Therapy? could have cobbled together "Troublegum II". But given Andy Cairns vast musical palette I would assume the band would've felt constricted by that easy way out. Dare I admit it, but as a contemporary of Mr Cairns (age wise), I can hear so many different threads at work. Killing joke, Banshees, Fugazi, Joy division etc. The albums final song "30 Seconds" even puts me in mind of "Machine Gun Etiquette" era Damned.In comparison to previous albums "Infernal Love" has a wonderful, almost cinematic quality to it. A maturity. Which as other reviewers have pointed out, puts it head and shoulders above the vile Britpop clogging up the airwaves back then. Oasis? If I had wanted to buy a Beatles Tribute bands album ,Id purchase "Best of The Monkees"!
On to the remaster, which to my ears seems louder but not excessively compressed. A lot of minor information such as background guitar lines etc are more apparent. The bonus tracks are largely around acoustic versions and remixes with a couple of cracking "b sides" .
Damn criminal shame "Infernal Love " isn't more widely known and revered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moody brilliant album, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
Troublegum is pop - this mostly isn't it's a bit like a dark expose. It's harsher and nicer than troublegum in different places. In fairness I would say that after Troublegum this is the next best Theraphy? album. Get this if you liked it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death, Destruction And Horror Never Sounded So Good, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
Unbelievably good record. Truly one of the best albums of all time in my opinion. Depressing as hell, yes. Catchy as hell, yes. Beautifully structured, written, performed and produced. 'A Moment Of Clarity' is the greatest Therapy song ever. Other highlights include the all-string Husker Du cover 'Diane' (far superior to the original), 'Me Vs. You', 'Misery', 'Bowels Of Love' and 'Stories'.
Hell, the whole album is a highlight. Love gone bad, death, drug-addled pain and confusion, it's all here and it's the best musical encapsulation of said emotions to date.
Essential, and by far a better album than Troublegum, I don't care what anyone says - even the band themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 16 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Infernal Love (Audio CD)
I rate Infernal Love the second best Therapy? album, right after Troublegum. People saw it as too commercial at the time, but personally, I don't mind the polished sound of the album one bit. It actually quite suits the pop sensibility of the band. On the other hand, there's plenty of loud guitars as well. Epilepsy is sheer insanity, Stories has the trademark Therapy? riff and chorus, no song is filler for me. Some of them preserve the dark Troublegum vibe, whereas some of them have turned out optimistic, which is quite a refreshment.

Wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infernal Love
Infernal Love by Therapy? (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews