Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
43
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
38
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2006
Somewhere roundabout 1994 I walked into HMV with the sole purpose of buying Metallica's Black album. I was pleasantly surprised to see said disc was part of a '2 for £22' offer, so I did the sensible thing and scouted round the store seeking a CD to partner it.

I considered AC/DC and The Who amongst others before spotting Troublegum. I'd heard a couple of singles off the album and thought it was worth a go, after all it was only a booby prize - the Black album was what I was really after.

Got home and played Metallica straight away. Now I'm probably in a minority here, and millions of Metallica fans will think I'm barking mad, but some of those songs just didn't know when to stop. Enter Sandman and Sad But True aside, I found the album ...well, boring.

So with my high expectations comprehensively deflated, I dismissively, if not resentfully, spun Troublegum on the ghettoblaster instead. And that's when my day took a turn for the better.

Without a word of a lie I spent the next three quarters of an hour of my life air guitaring, air drumming, headbanging and making devil's-horn-hand-signals to an imaginary band in my flat.

Forty five minutes and fourteen songs later, the crushing disappointment of the Black album had been erased and replaced by the redhot glow of smug satisfaction that envelops you when you discover something fantastic of which your mates know absolutely nothing.

Three Irish lads venting their anti-catholic wrath, purging themselves of failed attempts with women or just self-loathing for not having the guts to ask them out in the first place. Every line of every song is a vitriolic stab into the heart of each song's victim.

Andy Cairns growls his way through this CD with remarkable and beautiful melodies delivered with a velvet sledgehammer. This record crosses through pop, punk, heavy metal and back again effortlessly. The production is faultless and each bandmember's performance is immaculate. There isn't a single filler track on this album, the 'worst' song weighs in at nine-out-of-ten.

My writing can't fully describe the glory of Troublegum. This record silences Metallica's finest hour. Maybe that's the greatest tribute I can give to Troublegum, and Metallica must have been spitting bullets when they heard it.
55 comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2001
Troublegum is an often overlooked classic from the book of British Rock. It opens with the thundering "Knives" which sets the tone for the album with its stop-start riff and screaming vocals. Other highlights include the undoubted anthem "Nowhere", the eternal crowd pleaser "Die Laughing" and the riff-tastic "Isolation". The album has a characteristic sound with its buzzsaw guitars and Andy Cairns desolate lyrics. If you are looking for a starting point for Therapy? this is it. It is hooky enough to be instantly likeable and yet raw enough to reflect Therapy? of old and their storming live show. Five stars is not enough!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
It feels great to blast my walls, head and hair again with the awesome Troublegum! And this time, it's on full overdrive.

The remastering work is fantastic. Monstrously loud, thick and clear. It's a very exciting experience to relive the album on this new edition.

Back in 1993, these guys were climbing to the top of the charts with Teethgrinder and Screamager. But no one knew where they were headed next year, with the follow up to Nurse, their debut album. The first single, Nowhere, became an instant classic, when it hit the charts in early 1994. It was clear to me that teen angst was to be the fuel to one of the most brilliant rock records of the 1990s. And that was exactly what hit so many teenagers, like me, in the head! We could relate to so many of these lyrics. I bet a lot of teenagers today can too. That's why I keep recommending this album to everyone, especially young rock'n'rollers.

This album can change your view on rock music and teen troublegums. You have been warned. :)

This Deluxe Edition is a killer release. There are 2 extra CDs, filled with great b-sides and remixes. For anyone who's interested in great rock music, with a punk/metal twist, you have to have this record. If you want it on CD, then get this release. Absolutely fan-freakin'-tastic! I'm sure the band is very proud to have this edition to show you guys how much they rocked back in the day.

There's also some extra juice for hardcore fans, like me: the last four tracks on CD3. Those are demos, previously unreleased. As far as I'm concerned, that's the kind of extra that makes this collection a 5+ star item. I loved those demos. They're an absolute proof of how much Therapy? rocked and still rock and will continue to rock, always blessed with impressive creativity.

All in all, there's no other sound on any album, from anyone, anywhere, like these guys achieved on Troublegum. It's unique in every way, as the band never cloned their own records. Remarkable work, sold over a million copies and this 3CD Deluxe Edition is a must-have for rockers everywhere!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2000
One of the greatest albums ever recorded and in my top ten of all time. this is the sort of record that has to be listened to over and over again it is that good. the best punk album with a heavy dose of pop sesibility since a man called Kurt recorded something named Nevermind. Yeah its that good!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2008
1994 - Ah! Them were the days kids. Long hair, long lie ins and skipping lectures to go to the pub!
2008 - Mortgage, 2 kids, no hair and a Job.
Times change kids, but one thing hasn't! Troublegum still blows me away to this day!!!! It's gotta be in my all time top 5 (Metallica - Master Of Puppets, Iron Maiden - Number Of The Beast, Slayer - Reign In Blood, and AC/DC - Back In Black taking up the other 4 places in no particular order).
Straight in with no kissing - The crunching riff of KNIVES grabs you by the proverbials, and off we go on this awesome rollercoaster of an album. The perfect pop punk of SCREAMAGER follows, with that Beavis & Butthead main riff, and a chorus that Green Day would kill for. Other highlights include the pop metal of NOWHERE, the bruising down tuned darkness of UNBELIEVER, the crushing TRIGGER INSIDE, DIE LAUGHING and FEMTEX, the twisted, dark cello driven UNREQUITED (a song that gave us a hint as to Therapy?s follow up - Infernal Love) and of course the grand finale of BRAINSAW.
This is an album full of classics, and many of the tracks still feature in Therapy?s live set to this day. BUY OR DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
As vital, furious, powerful, disturbing and just plain good now as it was 21 years ago, when I bought it during release week.

From the opening full-throttle assault of Knives, this is an intense, yet brilliantly accessible record made by a band at the peak of their powers. The rest of the UK might have been going mad for Britpop back then, but Troublegum is as good a pop / rock record as anything those bands put out – and frankly, I’d argue that’s it massively superior to anything released in 1994 (and I include the Manics Holy Bible in that).

Chris Sheldon’s production is quite superb, full and well realised. It’s a rare album that has no really weak tracks. Tracks 1 through 11 just flow supremely well, with bite, bile, tunes and angst to spare. Femtex and Unrequited are perhaps not quite as strong as what went before, before Brainsaw brings things to a cracking end.

The 20th Anniversary edition is pretty good too (though the remastering makes the sound a fraction thinner, to these ears), covering the whole era pretty thoroughly. Great value for money.

In any format, Troublegum is quite simply a brilliant – properly brilliant – album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
If you are looking for an instantly likeable easy to get into record that rocks like a bastard then this is the record for you. The tracks on this record have not aged. Therapy released this at the height of their career when they could do no wrong, it is a classic and their best record by far. All the tracks are standout, Trigger inside, Screamager, Die laughing and Stop it your killing me are just superb, the rest are pretty damn good too. This record is perfect for the gym, download it onto your i pod and you see if you dont get a personal best. Stunning rock music how it should be played
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
So you call yourself a music fan? And you don't own Troublegum? You should be ashamed of yourself! Where do you start with Troublegum? Infectious melody? Magnificent drumming? Great cattchy lyrics?

Basically this album has it all, its a perfect balance of pop/rock with a touch of teen angst and dark humour for good measure.

Do yourself a favour...own it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Amazing album! Seriously you need to own this album if you are into 90's metal/rock/punk as this is an essential classic. The Irish trio throw out hit after after hit of catchy anthems with practically every song on the album could be (and deserves to be) a single. The legendary Screamager & Going Nowhere cry out with rage, wit & anger all wrapped up with catchy hooks.
I cannot rave enough about this album, it really is THAT good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
One of my favourite albums of all time. Ah Troublegum. You BEAST of an album. I've had a copy of the original album since it first landed back in the mid nineties, just picked up the Deluxe Edition and I'm very glad I did.

The first CD in this collection is the original album. I'm not surei if it's a remaster or not but it sounds pretty crystal clear to me. This is just a flawless album from start to finish. From the ultra scary, twisted Knives, the rock classics Nowhere and Screamager (two of the catchiest melodic rock songs ever produced) The sublime 'Stop it you're killing me'. The twisted genius of Lunacy Booth. The inspired derranged chorus of Femtex. Trigger Inside....Isolation..... pop punk, goth, jarring metal, it's all here. The album sold millions. It fully deserved to shift every copy.

Please do yourself a favour and listen to this album. It's majestic.

The second and third discs of the deluxe edition hide some real goodies too. Too many gems to pick out. Always had a soft spot for Evil Elvis (the lost demo) the inspired cover of Judas Priest's Breaking the Law, the madness of C.C Rider. There's a ton of clubby remixes of Troublegum songs. Live tracks. Strange oddities. Tracks for the shortsharpshock E.P. Demo tracks. It's a great big package of win wrapped up in a ribbon of stonking.

There's also a nice little booklet with lots of interesting factoids and band shots for the completists. There are many worse things you could do than pick up a copy of this album right now. This is the best release of one of the best albums I've ever heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)