Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love during the English Civil Wars
A Captive Heart weaves a beautiful romance into a background of historical fiction, resulting in a satisfying journey through the latter part of the English Civil Wars. The main characters are very likeable, and I loved the twist in the plot, which brought a smile to my face. It's lovely to see more historical fiction set in the often-overlooked Seventeenth Century, and I...
Published 10 months ago by Andrea Zuvich

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not such a good book
I didn't enjoy reading this book
I got a bit lost in it at times
I would not recommend this book
Published 8 months ago by Mrs Sarah Gregory


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love during the English Civil Wars, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
A Captive Heart weaves a beautiful romance into a background of historical fiction, resulting in a satisfying journey through the latter part of the English Civil Wars. The main characters are very likeable, and I loved the twist in the plot, which brought a smile to my face. It's lovely to see more historical fiction set in the often-overlooked Seventeenth Century, and I look forward to future works by Patricia Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful love story, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
Patricia Scott has chosen a really interesting period of history for this romance. The English Civil War is not something I have read about in historical fiction before and this Romeo and Juliet type narrative concerns two young people who are caught on different sides of the war, but after they meet by chance they fall in love. I really liked the fiesty, tomboy heroine Tamsin and I was rooting for her and Adam to get a happy ending the whole way through. This is a beautiful little love story set against an exciting historical period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reading., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
Glad I found this book, I enjoyed it from start to finish. Will look for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this! Set in Cornwall/Scilly Isles so it was lovely to hear about the surroundings. Well written and easy to read. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Captive Heart, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
A Captive Heart I Loved this book could not put this book down had to keep turning pages to see what going to happen recommend to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not such a good book, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
I didn't enjoy reading this book
I got a bit lost in it at times
I would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails to captivate my heart., 27 Dec 2013
By 
PJ Preston "ppreston21" (Hythe, Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Captive Heart (Kindle Edition)
(review by Cat, not Phil)

What drivel! I presume this is written as a skit? It made me laugh when I wasn't struggling to make sense of the overlong sentences: 'She made up her mind then, whatever lengths she had to go to, once Adam had recovered sufficiently enough to travel, she would help him get away by boat back to the mainland, and then she must forget him, hard as it might be afterwards.'
If your level of literature is to read the generic romance section in a library perhaps this is worth a read. I enjoy trying new authors' works; but on this occasion I'm glad this book was a Kindle freebie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Captive Heart
A Captive Heart by Patricia Scott
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews