Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORTAL
after several novels centred on shriever air force base, with the occasional glimpses of life elsewhere, it finally looks like the action will move to the Eden compound. good job too, because I was starting to sympathise with Brooke and ravens need to escape their military confinement.

I enjoy these novels, as evidenced by the 5 stars, but there is one thing...
Published 9 months ago by andrew from llangollen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Early promise is starting to fade.
I really enjoyed the first few books of this series following Cade and his family as they crossed america, as it crumpled under the zombie apolocalypse, trying to find each other, those first few missions with Desantos when Cade was drawn back in to military action, the intrigue of what was going to happen to Duncan and what exactly Daymon was going to do, it was all...
Published 5 months ago by McG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORTAL, 15 Jan 2014
By 
andrew from llangollen (llangollen, north wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
after several novels centred on shriever air force base, with the occasional glimpses of life elsewhere, it finally looks like the action will move to the Eden compound. good job too, because I was starting to sympathise with Brooke and ravens need to escape their military confinement.

I enjoy these novels, as evidenced by the 5 stars, but there is one thing that annoys me. why this insistence on explaining every single military term or weapon? does the author think us non military types are stupid? and is it really necessary to describe the journey every bullet takes as it goes through someones body, including the damage it causes?

cliffhanger was a bit lame, but still looking forward to the next novel to see what happens next. the title alone WARPATH promises much action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Shawn Chester strikes again, a series that is keeping me wanting more and more. Cade is the hero everyone wishes they would be if the poop hit the fan. Full of struggles and challenges with a constant I want to know what happens next. I am loving the series Shawn. Next please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The action just never stops, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Book 6 in the series and still the action keeps coming thick and fast. Not a book that would make a lot of sense without reading the story from the beginning, but a good reason to do so! As ever the characters in this series are struggling to survive a zombie apocalypse and ever step forward they make means two steps back. It's a gripping story that I have found so hard to put down. Danger in every imaginable form comes at them relentlessly in the form of the walking dead, bandits and a megalomaniac that wants to own the USA.The main good guys are living in Schriever air force base where the latest President, government and armed services that are still alive have grouped.They are trying desperately to find a cure to the disease that has caused the living to turn into gut munching zombies. As ever when man really needs to band together there're those that are just interested in their own agenda making life on the road a very dangerous place even if you've found a Ford F650 to drive! Simply unputdownable, and I can't wait for the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Another great story in this continuing tale of survival against the odds. The characters continue to develop as does the mystery surrounding the true cause of the plague. A little bit miffed that one of my favourites got bumped off but I guess it all adds to the story line and besides, s*** does happen! Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Superb - this series of book keeps getting better. cant wait for the next installments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series so far, really looking forward to the next installment. If you like Zombie Apocalypse novels, this is one of the best Zombie Apocalypse series i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early promise is starting to fade., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the first few books of this series following Cade and his family as they crossed america, as it crumpled under the zombie apolocalypse, trying to find each other, those first few missions with Desantos when Cade was drawn back in to military action, the intrigue of what was going to happen to Duncan and what exactly Daymon was going to do, it was all very promising.

But for all the excellent work done in the build up to each major piece of the story the endings are such a let down. The groups set up to be the bad guys are taken out so quickly and with such ease you wonder what was with all the build up. The biker group from Trudge, Robert Christian and his New world order inspired group, even the potential (but seemingly implausible) fight against the chinese is dismissed in a singular unimpressive paragraph, and you can expect more of the same with this book.

The zombie parts of the book are still as good as any other zombie fiction, but its the human interaction that takes books to the next level in this genre and until this series can nail the endings to the human story arcs as satisfactorily as Shawn Chesser gets to that point (or how he does the zombie parts of the story) I feel this series is ultimately going to disappoint.

The series is beginning to feel that Mr Chesser doesnt know where he is heading with it so each story arc that he has built up brilliantly is quickly brushed aside for the next new thing he has stumbled on. Leaving us with the only running themes of Brook & Raven stuck at Colorado springs airbase doing very little of note other other then bridging Cade's and the rest of the militarys missions. Whilst Cade checks his Glock and his M4 for the 100th time in the series (described in great detail each time) ready to double tap the next zombie.

The series now feels like its heading towards it conclusion in the next book (or two) Its time for the series to live up to that early promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From strength to strength, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Yet more action packed pages from a master of the genre, this carries on directly after the last paragraphs of the last book. With barely time to catch your breath the story resumes, without giving too much away to peeps new to the series. It's still a roller coaster ride. In the face of yet another loss cade is in danger of losing his focus. In one of the most tense moments of the tale yet he has to risk all to even stand a chance to return to his wife and family..... Read on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait for the next in the series! However I require more cliffhangers!!!!! Keep up the good work Shawn Chesser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just so much zompoc win!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
As contagious a series as the Omega virus itself! Polished off 6 in as many days and am chomping at the bit for the next one! Brave, more "real" in going places even the greats of the genre in film, TV & literature don't. Beyond suspenseful. Best book choice I made all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal: Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse
£3.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews