Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needed telling
The plight of Christians in the Middle East is something that the Western media seem not to be very interested in and Ed West is to be congratulated on raising the issue in this fascinating book. The so called Arab Spring and the continuing conflict in Iraq have been disastrous for Christians and no one seems to want to talk about it - not even Western Christians. It is...
Published 12 months ago by patrice

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars untold stories in our history
Although there is much in it I disagree with,
the book definitely highlight some of the dark periods in our history, I recommend reading it
Published 9 months ago by T. Gibreel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An indictment of political correctness, 9 April 2014
By 
Jean Acre (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A short, sharp read which highlights the hypocrisy and tendency of western Christendom to bend over backwards for Islam while ignoring the extinction of their faith in the Middle East at the hands of militant Islamism. As Mr West points out, a reluctance to defend their brothers and sisters in the Middle East will result in the Islamists escalating their militancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
A. F. Moss (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Ed West writes of one of the greatest tragedies of the age - the persecution of Christians in the Middle East. Countless thousands are being driven from their homes where their communities have lived for centuries, with many being killed. However the governments of the West say and do absolutely nothing. The Silence of our Friends indeed! This is a book that will upset and make you angry. Let's hope that enough people get its message and prompt Government not to be silent any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
So much that most of us are unaware of. Persecution to such a degree that Christianity is threatened while the rest of the world does nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An under-reported tragedy, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
We hear occasional reports of the more eye-catching attacks upon Christians in the Middle East, but this shows succinctly how much greater the problem is. For such a short book, it also does a pretty good job of giving a bit of historical context. Recent Western intervention has clearly exacerbated the situation, but may be accelerating an exodus that has been underway for a century. Thankfully, West doesn't neglect the persecution of other religious minorities in the region too. I'm ashamed to say that I didn't even know that 796 Yazidis had been killed in the second worst terrorist attack in history.

West tries to blame our ignorance on the Left's supposed domination of broadcast media, but our press hasn't shown much interest either. The demise of religious minorities throughout the Middle East is a tragedy unfolding before our eyes; or it would be if we were looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be silent SHOUT, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Lisa (LANCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very compelling read. It is quick to read in that it is succinct but it's content is shocking. This is recent history and horrifically relevant because of that fact. My only issue with it is that surely EVERYONE should read this and react yet it is only available in e-reader format?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and thought provoking., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The statistical detail and analytical presentation presents a horrifying picture of discrimination and intolerance that defies the imagination. Our apathy in the light of such intolerance will be held against us at the last great day of judgement. An important read for anyone concerned with social justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC ACCOMPLICES?, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The BBC I believe should bear a lot of the responsibility for the near Genocide of Christians throughout the muslim world, they devote more airtime to the death of one muslim terrorist than they do to the rape and murder of thousands of Christians in muslim countries.
Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vital call to action for an uninterested world, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent overview of the conditions the Christians of the Middle East now find themselves in. Each story of persecutio be seen by the media as just another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enlightened Exposé of The Conspiratorial Silence of the Western Media and Governments, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I had heard snippets of the contents of this book from elsewhere however I was still shocked at the enormity of the issue when all episodes were gathered and summarised together with added brutal detail.

The apparent criminal silence of governments and the media to a situation comparable to the holocaust which is revealed in this book together with the parallel hypocrisy when alarmingly dealing with lesser cases of non-Christian persecution/inequality is an international scandal that is deserving of the widest possible exposure.

This book goes a long way to provide for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking read, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a real insight into the plight of Christians in the middle east. It is extremely well written but heart wrenching to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews