Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needed telling
The plight of Christians in the Middle East is something that the Western media seem not to be very interested in and Ed West is to be congratulated on raising the issue in this fascinating book. The so called Arab Spring and the continuing conflict in Iraq have been disastrous for Christians and no one seems to want to talk about it - not even Western Christians. It is...
Published 13 months ago by patrice

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars untold stories in our history
Although there is much in it I disagree with,
the book definitely highlight some of the dark periods in our history, I recommend reading it
Published 11 months ago by T. Gibreel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that needed telling, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The plight of Christians in the Middle East is something that the Western media seem not to be very interested in and Ed West is to be congratulated on raising the issue in this fascinating book. The so called Arab Spring and the continuing conflict in Iraq have been disastrous for Christians and no one seems to want to talk about it - not even Western Christians. It is ironic that Western liberals can be so touchy about any perceived failure on our part to be sufficiently respectful of religious minorities in our countries (minorities who have the luxury of concerning themselves with hurt feelings) and so indifferent to the persecution and murder of Christians in the Middle East. If a non-Christian minority in a Christian country were being treated in this way, there would be outrage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent analysis, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
A. Dodds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As a western Christian living in the Middle East, I can not speak highly enough about this book.

He has successfully captured all the main points using plain and frank language which makes it accessible to anyone.

Please read this - it is today's untold story.

Please read it and tell others in your churches what is going on.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has changed some of my underlying assumptions about the Middle East, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book highlights the how the West turns a blind eye to its "friends" in order to placate those who are totally hostile to Western, democratic and secular values. Perhaps we have no alternative, but we should stop being hypocritical. It is excellently written, covers a wide span of Geography and time, and has lead me to rethink some of my underlying assumptions about global politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read this if you believe in freedom of expression, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
It is irrelevant whether or not you are a Christian; anyone who believes in tolerance, co-existence and freedom of speech should be outraged by the wholesale destruction of Christianity in the Middle East and Egypt. Ed West provides the disturbing facts about the way in which Christians and other religious minorities are being killed and terrorised in Iraq, Syria, and Egypt. Most puzzling is the silence of Christians in the west who seem obsessed by homosexuality, while turning a blind eye to the fate of groups who have been Christian for 2000 years. One cannot overstate the stupidity of George W Bush in announcing his "crusade" against "the evil ones," providing the perfect excuse for Islamists to massacre Christians in the Middle East. An essential, disturbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every one should read this book, 20 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting from begining to end. The big question is, why does the british media not tell people what is going on. By not telling about the way christians are being treated in the country,s of the arab spring the true outcome is being hidden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars picture of persecution now, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
An up to date publication giving the position on the persecution of Christians in several parts of the world.
Required reading for anyone following the increase in pressure on Christians throughout the world and wanting to know how to help and pray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A good read finished it in two sittings.The author has certainly opened my eyes re situation for Christians in middle east,the scandalous silence from the west needs to challenged and the sooner we the better.Overall an educational and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sobering and sad, 4 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Worth reading, a very sad look at the plight of Christians in the Middle East. A book that on finishing will make you think 'something must be done.' Perhaps all we can do is donate money to ease the plight of the refugees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The New Holocaust, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Ignored by the mainstream media the systematic destruction of the ancient Christian communities of the Middle East cries out for attention by all who care for human civilisation. It makes a harrowing and heartrending read. "Democratic" western governments and certain leaders past and present ought to feel shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An under-reported tragedy, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silence of Our Friends (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
We hear occasional reports of the more eye-catching attacks upon Christians in the Middle East, but this shows succinctly how much greater the problem is. For such a short book, it also does a pretty good job of giving a bit of historical context. Recent Western intervention has clearly exacerbated the situation, but may be accelerating an exodus that has been underway for a century. Thankfully, West doesn't neglect the persecution of other religious minorities in the region too. I'm ashamed to say that I didn't even know that 796 Yazidis had been killed in the second worst terrorist attack in history.

West tries to blame our ignorance on the Left's supposed domination of broadcast media, but our press hasn't shown much interest either. The demise of religious minorities throughout the Middle East is a tragedy unfolding before our eyes; or it would be if we were looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews