Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great John Barry film score!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I have this film on Blu-ray (R2) as it is one of my favourites from my youth. Part of what makes this film so memorable for me is the soundtrack, which is serene and beautifully conjures the images of the films underwater themes and locations. For me it is one of the late John Barry's best scores and being a fan of the late Donna Summer, this was a no brainer.

Track info:

Track 1 - Return To The Sea 2033 AD. (24.00 m) This is an instrumental incorporating the incidental and background music used in the film to a very long but satisfying 24 minute length, including the beautiful music included in the first scene of the film.

Track 2 - Theme from The Deep (Down Deep Inside). (4.24m). The main song from the film as sung by the late Donna Summer. Great stuff.

Track 3 - Theme from The Deep (4.34m). The instrumental version of the Theme used as the B side to the Donna Summer A side of the UK single release in 1977.

Track 4 - Calypso Disco (7.29m) A Caribbean calypso dance track performed by Beckett. Enjoyable.

Track 5 - Theme from The Deep (Down Deep Inside) (A Love Song) (4.02m). Performed by Donna Summer, this is the slowed down, sultry version partially used in the hotel scene in the film. A must for Summer fans!

Bonus tracks

Track 6 - The White House Years. An instrumental b side performed by John Barry from his US single release of the instrumental Theme. I am not sure if this was used in the original soundtrack but it is good and seems to fit the rest of the cd well.

Track 7 - Theme from The Deep (Down Deep Inside) (12" Disco Version) (6.10m). This extended version of the Donna Summer single is much the same as the single version except for a repeated chorus, verse and instrumental break.

The CD booklet included is fourteen pages and very extensive in relation to Casablanca records and the Deep project as a whole with many photos of all concerned. A very informative read.

The sound quality is very good and yes there are basically four versions of one song and three other tracks but overall this is a very good release for collectors of fine film music and/or Donna Summer fans. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic barry, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
great classic score by John Barry, although this is a repeat of the original album its well worth having as one of the bonus tracks track 6 is the main theme from Eleanor and Franklin called the white house years, this was only ever released as a 45rpm record in the USA on Casablanca records NB 887 in 1977, it has never been on CD until now, so if you already have the soundtrack from The Deep you should still get this album, the Eleanor and Franklin score has never been released, its a wonderful theme and is hear composed and conducted by John Barry, a must for all Barry fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another BBR masterpiece, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
STUNNING attention to detail - worth the money for the packaging alone. As a hardcore Donna Summer fan, who I was honoured to meet in London in 2004, I just had to have this album. "Theme from The Deep (Down Deep Inside)" in ALL its versions is one of my all-time favourite Donna recordings which she co-wrote. Set the UK charts on fire way back in 1977. I reckon Donna is looking down with a big smile and is sprinkling a big handsful of her magic dust on everyone at BBR for this TOTALLY brilliant piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just love this CD, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Domenick DeTommaso Jr. (Bronx, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
I just love this CD, this song seems to have slipped by many of Donna's greatest hits collections, don't understand why, but anyway, glad to have this in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep excellence, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Excellent remixed version of a fantastic soundtrack! Donna's voice is crystal clear and the bonus tracks are amazing! A must-have for any donna's fan!!! Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
This is very good. I just missed the Calypso disco track which was not included...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Glad this soundtrack has been re-released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Presentation!!!, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
A Great realease of "The Deep" and includes the wonderful "White House years: theme!!!! Super.!!! Grab it while you can!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer Love, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Treat this as a Donna Summer Maxi Cd. The Deep is the one that got away.Donna at her Best.Love to Love You Baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Deep, 30 Mar 2014
By 
C. Harrison (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Definitley a product of the day, John Barry's soundtrack is as good as ever, as one reviewer has said, maybe this should be treated as a Donna Summer maxi single
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deep [Expanded Edition]
The Deep [Expanded Edition] by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews