Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lem Goes To LA, 20 Jan 2008
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Ah yes, 1916 widely recognised as a damn fine Motörhead album and a terrible year for war. One could of perhaps feared that 1916 would be a bit of a sell-out, all the signs indicated that; Lemmy moves to LA and the band to a major label.....could we expect power ballads and Tawny Kitaen? Well no, although 1916 was a bit of a departure from the tried and tested Motörhead sound in places (which frankly was needed after the stagnant `Rock and Roll') it still rocks like a b*stard.

1916 finds Motörhead in a experimental mood but unlike previous experimentation's (on the `Bomber' album for instance) 1916's quirks and experimentations don't sound contrived or as some of the experiments on `Bomber' did, just plain bad. No, as it turns out `Nightmare/The Dreamtime' and `Love Me Forever' (actually this is a power ballad) are quite good Motörsongs, hardly show stoppers but worthy nonetheless. But this experimentation shouldn't come completely as a surprise as lest we forget that Motörhead have actually changed their sound over the years. Despite this experimentation, the real killers on 1916 are the balls out rockers which come complete with Lem's wonderful `I've spent the past 20 years drinking and shagging' swagger. `I'm So Bad (Baby I Don't Care)' is one of my absolute favourite Motörhead songs with a rather splendid riff and some of Lemmy's best lyrics. It's a corker, with all the swagger and attitude you could possibly ask for....listen to it and reaffirm your faith in Rock 'n' Roll. `One to Sing the Blues' is a simple yet effective song, effortlessly catchy and a nice way to start the album. `No Voices in The Sky' was sent up wonderfully by Beavis and Butthead (eye for eye, tooth for tooth!) and is a melodic, lightening fast and almost poppy number, albeit still heavy. `Going to Brazil' is just plain old Rock and Roll, its stayed in the set ever since although because of this songs success with have had to put up with a few second rate copies of it on subsequent albums....but I won't hold it against the original. `Make My Day' is perhaps my personal favourite and a forgotten Motörhead classic featuring some characteristically brilliantly lyrics, these being my personal favourite;
`Dream lover, head to tail, coulda put a lot of boys in jail', Ah Jailbait......A rhyming couplet that would of done William G Shakespeare proud...
`R.A.M.O.N.E.S' is unsurprisingly a tribute to that great Rock `N' Roll band, The Ramones (but doesn't all that punk sh*t belong on Mars?) and this too is a great lively number that sounds just like classic 70's Ramones. Even thought some tracks stand out from the rest 1916 is a consistent piece of work and ranks among the bands best.

Performance wise, even thought this isn't the most celebrated line up Motörhead ever had, its generally good performances all round. Philthy Animal although he wasn't half the player he was when he came back after leaving in 1984, puts in a good performance here although he apparently had trouble with some of the timings in the studio. But you can't really tell here as they managed to coax a good performance out of him. Guitarist's Phil Campbell and Wurzel do a fine job here, with razor sharp riffing and good old balls out rock solos throughout. I'm quite fond of Motörhead's twin guitar line up, I find it ultimately more interesting sonically than the current line up (although that said the current line up is still fantastic live and the guitar sound on `Inferno' and `Kiss of Death' is much improved from say `Overnight Sensation', `Snakebite Love', `We Are Motörhead' etc). Lemmy of course plays some damn fine bass with his signature `plane taking off' sound and sings (note sings not shouts) as well as ever. The production on `1916' is greatly improved over `Rock `n' Roll' and `Orgasmatron', the guitars less thin and the vocal performance better.

So as with about eight over Motörhead albums, `1916' is a essential classic......and please Lemmy put `I'm So Bad (Baby I Don't Care)' back in the set list. Perhaps in keeping with tradition `1916' was followed by the much weaker `March or Die' (Motörhead albums go in a pattern of weak/strong, usually- except Motörhead don't actually do bad albums, just lesser ones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Heavy....The Postman Delivered It On A Forklift., 28 July 2012
By 
Mr. H. C. Dunne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1916 (MP3 Download)
Agree with all the positive reviews about this classic album. Listen to the title track, and if you havent got tears in your eyes, then you're made of concrete with a brain to match......brilliant album. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'kin great, 27 Dec 2008
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Simply put, read what others say about this album and you know it's gonna be good :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Album!, 17 Sep 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
When I loaned this to a guy I worked with at the time, he gave it back a week or so later, and said "Yes, it's very American!" Very American my big toe! Of course it is, it was the first album they recorded IN AMERICA, you Dummy! The truth was, he hadn't even bothered to listen to it! And I think a huge amount of people are like this with Motorhead and their music, they have this misconception / preconception of this 'very early on in their career distorted Wall Of Noise' so they just don't bother to listen anything they've recorded lately JUST IN CASE THEY HAPPEN TO LIKE IT! Motorhead have probably suffered over the years due to this ridiculous idea people have about them, whereas if they ignored everything other's have said, stood up to be an individual rather then a crowd-follower, and took the time to actually LISTEN to a few Motorhead albums they would find the music to be infinitely superior to their imaginings.
Motorhead were Nominated for a Grammy for this album, and it is one of their finest. And for my work colleague to come up with that, whereas if he HAD bothered to listen to it, he would have said something about the title track because for Motorhead it is / was extremely radical!
But this whole album, other than the atmospheric and touching '1916' track, is pure Motorhead at their very best, driving, hard, heavy, and an amazing album for the car. 'Nightmare / The Dreamtime' is also another track which can be described as "a bit unusual for Motorhead" too, but strike me, it's another very atmospheric and powerful anthem which really gets the adrenaline pumping.
For what this album costs these days on 'New & Used' your money couldn't be better spent, and the front cover is quite amazing, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motorhead in the 1990's, 20 April 2006
By 
Carl Ramplin "cvr37" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Motorhead have had a lot written about them - the 'Glory Days' and the years afterwards. This album features Lemmy (of course !), Wurzel, Phil Campbell and Philthy Animal Taylor.

I like this album. It is typical good Motorhead stuff - but there are also a few surprises too.

Some people say 'Oh this album is not as good as earlier stuff' and 'the latest album' was better' and other things. I think that each album deals with the time it was recorded ...

City of angels clearly about the move to the USA, and tribute to RAMONES, 'I'm so bad......', and 'The One to sing the Blues' are semi autobiographical, and I'm pretty certain I encountered some of the Motorhead crew whilst I was on a flight in Argentina - they were obviously 'Going To Brazil'.

Lemmy's fascination and knowledge of the War is well documented - and often misunderstood. He clearly abhors the waste of life and this is dealt with here on 'no Voices in the Sky' and the title track. Someone said the Lyrics are rubbish. They are not ...they are a personal take on the events and are as such moving.

This album stands the test of time for me - as have the band - and it is a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Motorhead, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Opening with thunder and lightening, ending with a lump to the throat tital track, classic Motorhead as only Lemmy and his cohorts can perform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 19 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Firstly, this album is one of the rarest out there so definately one for a collector.
The music is pretty good, the outstanding track being no.4, "Going To Brazil". The others are good and really grow on you after a few listens.
I would not reccomend this to a new fan (choose Orgasmatron or No Sleep Til' Hammersmith)but for one who wants more of the same great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 14 Jun 2002
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
This album is extremely rare, so a good one to add to a true fan's collection.
Overall, it's a good album, (best track is no.4) but it isn't a great classic like Orgasmatron or No Sleep Til' Hammersmith.
The music is filled with the usual great guitar solos, though a star has to be deducted for the strange track at the end and the lack of consistent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1916 (MP3 Download)
Long time favourite. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Pete Franklin My Son (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1916 (Audio CD)
Classic motorhead really - nothing else needs to be said! Gotta love the attitude, and Lemmy's lyrics are always cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1916
1916 by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews