Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Firstly, this is a 'film' for the fans. It's not a film in the sense Human Highway was a film, but it is a gig interspersed with Neil on a journey through his childhood. It doesn't shed much light on him as a person, but it absolutely sheds an incredible energy, and musical diversity to the otherwise overlooked Le Noise album.

The gig contains a number of songs...
Published 21 months ago by Tom

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
It's good but prefer some of neil's other material.
Published 6 months ago by Jonner 1970


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, this is a 'film' for the fans. It's not a film in the sense Human Highway was a film, but it is a gig interspersed with Neil on a journey through his childhood. It doesn't shed much light on him as a person, but it absolutely sheds an incredible energy, and musical diversity to the otherwise overlooked Le Noise album.

The gig contains a number of songs performed in 2011-12 using the synthetic Le Noise effect. The songs performed include new takes on Gold Rush, I Believe in You, Out of the Blue and Ohio. There's even a couple of otherwise unreleased songs for good measure. But what knocked me back was the performance of the Le Noise songs... Sign of Love, Hitchhiker, Love and War and Rumblin' are here. All good songs on the album cut, frankly (which you prefer, will be down to preference), but have a life and energy here which I would find hard to believe anyone would be able to turn away from. Two songs, however, stand above the rest. Peaceful Valley Boulevard is haunting and the finale, Walk With Me, hits notes he rarely did back in 'the day'.

Some will dismiss this on the grounds of the album it supports, but don't. Live at Berlin was a follow up to otherwise monotone Trans album, and is one of his most eye opening releases. This does the same for Le Noise, and really doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NY Journeys, blu-ray, region A (USA), import, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two great puzzles with Amazon product reviews:
* Why do people post a "review" of a product they've neither listened to / watched, or bought?....then distort ratings by giving it 1 star or 5 stars?
* Why do amazon mix reviews from different versions of a product (eg, blu-ray v dvd / cd v sacd) when they're sometimes several years apart in release date & mastering?, and in the case of blu-ray v dvd, sometimes quite different in content/extras?

Anyway.....a clue to the lack of a UK release date for both blu-ray & dvd lies with the word "Sony". The film is on cinema release, and not scheduled to make the rounds (smaller "art" cinemas most likely) of UK cinemas until Jan/Feb, according to NY fanzine sites. The product release dates will likely be a month or so after that. If the film was on an independent label, maybe this would be different.

For long-term NY fans, I suspect this is likely to be considered a 5-star review of his pension-age life (so far), looking back on a journey through his childhood, in the small "town in North Ontario", and his much-loved Massey Hall in Toronto. The concert footage is from his solo Le Noise tour, and includes a few gems from his past, with yet more variations in the arrangements.

There are some excellent detailed reviews of this blu-ray disc from amazon.com (should appear below these UK reviews), so I won't repeat that detail here. For me, a couple of recent albums (incl Le Noise) have been a little disappointing, but Neil's always been unpredictable & always liable to hit the heights again just when some think he may be on a downhill slope.

I made the choice to buy a code-free panasonic blu-ray player (via amazon), having relied on code-free dvd players for years, to let me buy some of the commercially obscure music I like, which sometimes isn't released here. So, just over £16 for this disc from moviemars (arrived in a week), one of half a dozen region A blu-rays I've "had to" buy already. For me, this justifies the additional cost for a code-free player, but I appreciate a lot won't share this view.

Neil may well have grown into a charicature of the "Old Man" he once wrote about, but his music still stands out when he's in the mood, and the opportunity to observe the character as well as his material is certainly worth adding this to the superb Heart of Gold film by the same director, as a further chapter in NY's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young Journeys DVD, 16 Nov. 2013
This film is a journey into Neil Youngs early life in Canada inter-spread with some great music that at times is very emotional and moving. the camera angles are very daring with several performances very close to Neils face that gives us a different way to see and hear Neils music. Johnathan Demme has a way to bring out the best in Neil Young and this film is yet another example of great music, great film making and of course Neil Young.
I was lucky to see Neil in concert this year and it is one of the best concerts I have seen, this DVD is one of the reasons why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this was real neil, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this film is so well made its as if you are there with the great man
a masterful performance by the master,poignant in places riveting at times
a must for neil young fans
one of musics all time greats,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeys dvd, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We loved this dvd....we are huge fans of Neil Young. His concerts are amazing and this dvd didnt disappoint us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars journeys, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as good as HOG, will be wonderful when the trilogy is completed on trunk show release , the interviews complete and answer so many questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD - Neil Young Journeys, 18 April 2014
By 
B. J. Laidler "Happy Printer" (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well produced DVD with mixture of songs and documentary footage of Neil Young visiting areas in Canada where he grew up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
A. J. North "anorth7" (leicester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Young at his best on and off stage,
brilliant camera presentation together with thoughtful edit
great journeys in the Canadian way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans!!, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neil Young Journeys (Amazon Instant Video)
This dvd is for the fans, but it really good viewing. I really enjoyed this dvd with it's mixture of clips around the area where Neil Young grow up and the concert footage. If I had any dislikes I must say that some of the filming was a bit hit and miss and this up-set the enjoyment of the songs - we do not need to see the very close up shots of Neil mouth! Apart from this, it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEIL TALKS ABOUT HIS ROOTS AND PLAYS LIVE !, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Johathon Demmie really knows how to get the real Neil Young on film, 'Heart of Gold' was a wonderful movie cum concert that if you haven't got then do yourself a favour, live in Nashville at the Opry House, full of great performances throughout.
To this new one Neil returns to his Canada roots, we take a tour around with him at times joined by his brother, with solo performances from his 'En Noise' tour. If you are sort of Neil fan this is unmissable stuff, Demmie's genius is gettinbg us to know the man more as he drives around, as he visits an old boyhood fishing spot, how things have changed in town, the ministers house, the various halls he's played there in his early days, right upto the songs throughout live loud and absolute magic (shame there's not a CD of these performances as well).
Neil Young is one of music's legendary greats but he's still moving the music forwards,still full of ideas and passionate about his music as he ever was.
This is a release of very rare and enjoyable quality, Demmie has caught the man and his music and has come up with a film to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neil Young Journeys
Neil Young Journeys by Jonathan Demme
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews