Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon customer reviews indicate that some people hated the movie
This movie is a tragic/sad story about marriage disguised as a romantic comedy...
Amazon customer reviews indicate that some people hated the movie; I imagine they expected to see a typical American romantic comedy and were really disappointed that the ending, for example, created ambiguity and was not a straightforward happy one... Well, too bad for them because...
Published 4 months ago by FunFan

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I thought you were gonna be there when I died."
It's not that easy to pin down quite why Sarah Polley's Take This Waltz doesn't really work: the performances are excellent and there are plenty of strong scenes, yet this tale of desire and emptiness never really connects. Part of it is the unashamed contrivance of the initial set-up, with Michelle Williams meeting cute with Luke Kirby and bonding when she's shamming...
Published 24 months ago by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a love affair ......... with Canada, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take This Waltz [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was sufficiently intrigued by this film to watch the included extra - which includes interviews with Canadian director/actor Sarah Polley, and various members of the cast. I was glad that I did, because it helped to explain the sense of emptiness that I was left with after watching the film. In a way that was the point - that there is a part of most of us that feels there is something missing in our lives when we settle in to cosy domesticity.

The most striking thing about the film for me was the lighting and the way it was shot. The sense of bright, hot and humid Toronto was brilliantly captured. In fact this is sometimes like an advert for Canada - those beautiful brightly painted shabby chic houses in Little Portugal, Toronto, the wilds of Nova Scotia, not to forget the soundtrack featuring Leonard Cohen and Feist channeling Ron Sexsmith. Not quite sure they got it right with the Buggles choice for the fairground scene, but perhaps I missed some deeper reference?

Michelle Williams does a great job here, bringing an authenticity to a role that could have come across as a bit shallow. 'Happily married' but inextricably drawn to the sexy neighbour. She does manage to capture the sense of desire, denial, and ultimately hard gained knowledge that falling in love does not change the world and everyone has to learn to deal with 'the fade'. I thought Luke Kirby as Daniel also managed to find something rather special in his performance, which went deeper than his attractiveness. Sarah Silverman is surprisingly good as well and really sums up in the key line of the movie for me - "Life has a gap in it. It just does. You don't go crazy trying to fill it like some lunatic". Ironic coming from a alcoholic that has just fallen off the wagon.

This won't be everyone's cup of tea. The pace is languid for the most part, but then shoots forward towards the end. This is more about emotion than action. Overall: worthwhile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a curious film, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take This Waltz [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I never heard anything about this film before viewing it and I dont know any of the actors besides one of the male protagonists who I believe also starred in SONY PICTURES HOME ENTERTAINMENT The Green Hornet.

It is the story of an unhappily married woman who is wooed by a new neighbour, it switches between the home dynamic between her and her distracted and inconsistent husband, the bohemian neighbour and his efforts at seduction and family and friends.

I am unsure of any major themes, although the characters are interesting but lacking in any real depth, the acting is good and probably the better for not being a feature which has a lot of big names.

Perhaps there are some themes about age (the contrast between young and old, childish or childlike character), crisis or priorities (contrasts between alcoholism and other crisis, the husband appears to "fiddle while rome burns" focusing on his cookery writing rather than his wife) and maybe the song "Video killed the radio star" has some significance.

There are a number of nude scenes, including some in the showers after the female lead and her friends have been to a swim aerobics class, which didnt seem that necessary and a later montage of sexual antics was the same.

I have used the word curious in the title of the review because that is how I feel about this film, it is not exactly compelling viewing or worthy of a lot of discussion or rewatching but if you possess any curiosity you will feel like watching it to the finish. Whether or not you feel it was worthwhile or not will be in question, if you like features of this kind (I am thinking Amelie [DVD] [2001] or Lost in Translation [DVD] [2004] but those are features with more rewatch value than this production).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor story, decent acting, 23 Mar. 2014
The summary of the film pretty much describes what happens, but it happens very slowly.

The chemistry between the two supposed lovebirds is weak and uninspiring. Took effort to watch the whole thing and do not feel rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better then i thought it would be., 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Peter J. Hewitt "history fan!" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take This Waltz [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I won't go into the story as other reviews have explained it very well.
I dindn't expect to enjoy it as much as i did but at the same time it is one of those films that when seen once i probally wont be bothered about seeing it again.
The acting was very good and i liked seeing a younger married couple with there childish like at times relationship making it more modern.
As for the "affair" i found i was will they wont they, should they or shouldn@t they and did not guess the result (which i wont give away!!).
So i would say if you fancy this film, it is worth giving it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brave attempt, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take This Waltz [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Take This Waltz is a brave attempt to sensitively portray someone falling out of love with their husband and into a different kind of love with someone else. It's full of interesting characters with realistic quirks and foibles, and director Sarah Polley works hard not to force the plot along. The problem is, the pace is so leisurely that very little has happened by the end, and most of the tensions are left unresolved.

There are some very good moments in this film -- protagonist Margot (Michelle Williams) is so terrified of getting lost in airports and missing her connecting flight that she pretends to be disabled so that staff are forced to push her from one place to another in a wheel-chair. Her husband Lou (Seth Rogen) is a cookbook writer who only knows about cooking chicken, so they always eat chicken. Her best friend is an alcoholic on the wagon, and her new love interest is a rickshaw puller. When Margot finally leaves Lou, she does it not to be with Daniel (Luke Kirby) but because she discovers that her husband has been playing a practical joke on her in the shower every day of their married life.

If you're looking for a break from Hollywood fare with its stylised characters, meaningless sex, over-dramatic relationships and unlikely sequences, then Take this Waltz may be the breath of fresh air you are looking for. This is a real film festival type film, and, indeed, it has received accolades from the Hamburg, Hollywood and San Sebastian festivals, as well as from numerous directors' and crtics' societies.

The trouble is -- from my point of view -- there is just not enough happening in the story, and it is not told far enough or the characters explored deeply enough to justify it. It's the film equivalent of sitting in a café listening to someone tell you what starts as quite a passionate story, but which peters out the further it goes. There is no moment of clarity in this film, no turning point, no achievement (or dashing) of initial hope. Margot's life desperately needs something to happen in it, but nothing really does. Also, she desperately needs someone to understand why she ran away, but she never explains it, and no-one guesses it. Despite this, you don't come away with the virtuous feeling of having watched a semi-documentary, because Sarah Polley ensures we get the point by accompanying key moments with tracks like Video Killed the Radio Star and Leonard Cohen's Take This Waltz.

This may be a pivotal film in Polley's development as a director. I hope so. I would like to think that the best is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to expectations, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take This Waltz [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I watched this on the strength of Michelle Williams' presence: since first seeing her in the magnificent 'Station Agent', she has proved herself to be an outstanding actress who has often been in quirky, indie films which focus on character and eschew the glossy production values of standard Hollywood fare. (Try 'Blue Valentine', 'Meek's Cutoff', 'Wendy and Lucy', as well as the more mainstream 'Brokeback Mountain' and 'Marilyn'.) In that context, this is something of a disappointment, though still eminently watchable. I was also interested to see another Sarah Polley film as an earlier acclaimed film had left me cold: I really wanted to see what I might have missed about her work.

The basic premise is interesting enough, of a woman falling out of love and finding emotional and sexual liberation outside her marriage, and I find it very difficult to put my finger on why it doesn't quite succeed, though I think part of the problem lies with Seth Rogan: for me he seems so limited in conveying a character who is interesting or appealing enough to have attracted Margot that it is hard to believe their relationship ever existed, though conversely, I suppose, one can see why she wishes for escape! His voice, for example, is utterly lacking in flexibility and nuance.

Some of the elements suggest a romcom package: her phobias which prompt the pretence of disability to enable her to cope with them; Lou's (Rogan) exclusive focus on chicken cookery; the stranger on the plane who happens to live over the street and earns money selling rickshaw rides. And yet the film presents it all 'for real', and not entirely convincingly so. The arrival of the ending seems clumsily delayed so the sense of the story arc is mismanaged (and I really don't think Polley is 'playing' with audience expectation in an interesting or subversively creative way). The, for want of a better description, sexual montage which we see towards the end, presumably inserted to show how far Margot has moved on, is not convincingly presented as a plausible development. Or perhaps she has just got herself into another relationship that isn't 'right'. But that's a guess, not anything the film really seems to imply or illuminate.

I found Polley's previous film 'Away From Her'(acclaimed by critics), a real damp squib too, doubly disappointing as family experience made me particularly eager to see a thoughtful film about the effects of dementia within a relationship: that too was only OK, and not a film I would want to see again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it. I didn't really know what it was ..., 11 Oct. 2014
Absolutely loved it. I didn't really know what it was about going in, and I think it was better that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Take This Waltz (Amazon Instant Video)
Beautiful, subtle but edgy, quiet, true to life. A female perspective on love, lust, boredom and relationships. Seems refreshingly new somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Take This Waltz (Amazon Instant Video)
I have just wasted two hours of my life watching this film, sadly two hours I can never get back.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully shot, wonderful dialogue, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take This Waltz (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this film. Such a gorgeously-shot portrayal of what it's like to be human - with all its beautiful moments and its melancholy ones. It does a great job of portraying human relationships and how they alter and change, and that nagging sensation of what-if and never fully feeling satisfied. This film is not dramatic or pretentious, it just is - a pleasure to watch and utterly engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take This Waltz
Take This Waltz by Sarah Polley
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews