Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best John Milton Book Yet - 5*
I've had the absolute pleasure of reading all four of Mark Dawson's character novels featuring John Milton and this, without doubt, is his best piece of work to date - in my humble opinion. If you read the four books, you get a really rich idea of how the character has developed over the series so far with a real feel for who John Milton is and what is believable in his...
Published 7 months ago by Chris Orrick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but...
The least gripping of the series so far. Good plot with Milton doing his thing but too much padding. The speeches by the politician needed some editing.

Overall I love the series and the character and I'm still eager for more.
Published 2 months ago by J. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best John Milton Book Yet - 5*, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Chris Orrick "Chris" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I've had the absolute pleasure of reading all four of Mark Dawson's character novels featuring John Milton and this, without doubt, is his best piece of work to date - in my humble opinion. If you read the four books, you get a really rich idea of how the character has developed over the series so far with a real feel for who John Milton is and what is believable in his world. And so, when situations arise, it's not a total surprise to find him in the middle of it all.

In this book, Milton is again working in jobs that generally pay cash in hand and gets into all kinds of bother. Starting when he takes a booking to drive a 'customer' to a party. A quick relationship is struck up with the customer over the duration of the ride and this becomes the main thread throughout the book. A well developed and crafted storyline then ensues taking Milton deep into mafia-esk circles where he once again shows his strength of character but also his morals.

I especially love the way in which Mark Dawson weaves characters from previous books into this storyline, again in a very believable way - very clever indeed.

This is a fast, pacey book which readers will struggle to put down, especially if they have been following Milton from the start, but this book also stands alone as a cracking good read. I would recommend this book, and the series to date, to anyone who reads this genre usually but also those whose usual genre isn't crime thriller and that are looking for a different type of book.

I literally can't wait for the next one to come on the market. I always really look forward to reading how the author skilfully incepts John Milton into the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like all the previous 'John Milton' books, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
As always a face paced explicit book which keeps you intrigued all the way through.
They just get better and better, can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all the series so far and the character keeps getting better...ok you may think this is a little hokey that an agent starts shedding his armour after an outbreak of guilt taps him on the shoulder...but no me. THIS for me is what changes the series from a page tuner on a cloudy Sunday with a mug of tea to something I actively wanted to read...I won't give the plot away but I thoroughly enjoyed the story, the betrayal and character...gritty and sadly believable.... I am no expert but there are undoubtedly men and women out there int he armed services or intelligence whom ya recognise some of the moral file mans of the characters.

Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Love this book,have read all books in the series. Could not put the book down,great read.

One of my favourite authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely captivating......, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Gary Pugsley (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Well done Mark, the series still continues to hold my attention as tightly as 1000 Yards did originally! Great read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
verygood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Great book great series. In fact all mark dawsons books are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST YET?, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Well at the time of reading I thought so. DEFINITELY the best John Milton story yet. But this guy Mark Dawson is one to watch out for! Try taking a look at the BEATRIX ROSE Series---AWESOME!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive but quite a few plot holes..., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Started out promisingly but ultimately there this book plays out exactly as you think it's going to - no twists, no surprise, you'll have it all figured out by page 50. Must of the read is watching the author find flakey ways to allow the characters to catch up and link it all together. It all felt a bit straight to DVD to me.

Our hero, Milton lacks depth but makes up for this with a long list of cliches. He's a lone drifter, living in a bedsit and yet he is able to beat any man in a fight, has remarkably useful connections to the underworld In a city he has just arrived in and is on a personal mission to right the wrongs of his past... all that's missing is a flashback to a firefight where he lost a comrade who's about to become a father, and a commanding officer who can't handle his unorthodox approach to getting results.

There are countless holes in the plot that are incredibly frustrating and it all rests on a series of unlikely events - I don't want to give. It away for you but you will see.

All very obvious and sadly a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but..., 1 May 2014
By 
J. Jones (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Driver - John Milton #3 (John Milton Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
The least gripping of the series so far. Good plot with Milton doing his thing but too much padding. The speeches by the politician needed some editing.

Overall I love the series and the character and I'm still eager for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews