Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear."
As soon as I completed The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer I started to prepare myself. The dreaded Sophomore Slumps, The Middle Child Syndrome... whatever you want to call it I had braced myself for the worst because it is rare that the second book in trilogy lives up to the first and even more rare that it surpasses the first.

Now that I have finished The Evolution...
Published 21 months ago by Christine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Review
It's frustrating to read because you get the feeling of being trapped and panicked from the main character Mara. It is a bit slow in places but overall an interesting story.
Published 18 months ago by Alice Dowsett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear.", 28 Jan 2013
As soon as I completed The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer I started to prepare myself. The dreaded Sophomore Slumps, The Middle Child Syndrome... whatever you want to call it I had braced myself for the worst because it is rare that the second book in trilogy lives up to the first and even more rare that it surpasses the first.

Now that I have finished The Evolution of Mara Dyer I am sat wondering why I ever allowed myself to worry.

"If I were to live a thousand years, I would belong to you for all of them. If we were to live a thousand lives, I would want to make you mine in each one."

The Evolution of Mara Dyer was amazing... if not more amazing than The Unbecoming. Normally I try to write my reviews immediately after finishing a book but in this case I have had to force myself to wait. I needed time to process everything I had read and to be honest it took me a couple of days to start something new, this rarely happens.

My emotions were on high alert for this entire book. I thought that The Unbecoming was suspenseful but man... it has nothing on book two. Even now, days after finishing it I am having trouble coming up with a way to put everything out there in this review. I just don't want to ruin any part of this book for anybody who will be reading it. It is definitely one that you are best going into with as little idea about the events so that you can thoroughly enjoy it first-hand.

I want to first give further praise to Michelle Hodkin. She is absolutely amazing. The writing is flawless and leaves you guessing all the way through. Even though we are in Mara's head you will find yourself second guessing what is happening and you will even stop and wonder if it is even happening in the first place. I mean how is that even possible? We are in Mara's head how can we not have all of the answers as to what is happening? How? It is because the writing is phenomenal.

"Everyone is a little crazy. The only difference between us and them is that they hide it better."

This book gave me the creeps, but in a great way of course. What frightened me the most you ask? That spooky, scary as heck doll. I hate dolls. Every single time this doll came into the scene my heart started racing. Plus there are crows falling from the sky, crazy people, stalkers, mental hospitals... *shiver* Creeptastic to the max and I wouldn't want it any other way.

"The people we care about are always worth more to us than the people we don't. No matter what anyone pretends."

I mentioned in my review of The Unbecoming that I love Mara's family and these feelings have not changed. I love how they are doing everything they can to be there for Mara. They appear to have no clue at what is really going on and even though you want to scream at them to really stop and listen to her I wouldn't expect them to do anything differently. And Daniel...

"My brother cleared his throat. "I wish she knew that I think she is the most hilarious person on Earth. And that whenever she's not home, I feel like I'm missing my partner in crime."
My throat tightened. Do not cry. Do not cry.
"I wish she knew that she's really Mom's favorite--"
I shook my head here.
"--the princess she always wanted. That Mom used to dress her up like a little doll and parade her around like Mara was her greatest achievement. I wish Mara knew that I never minded, because she's my favorite too."

Who wouldn't want Daniel as a brother? He is so supportive of Mara and he never gives up on her. He has become friends with Noah and trusts him wholeheartedly. He helps Noah and Mara spend more alone time together when her parents want to keep her under lock and key. He knows that being with Noah is helping Mara even though he doesn't truly understand why they need each other so badly.

"You can't hurt me the way you think you can. But even if you could? I would rather die with the taste of you on my tongue than live and never touch you again. I'm in love with you, Mara. I love you. No matter what you do."

Now on to Noah... of course if you read my review of book one you will know that Noah is my new book boyfriend. I repeat my earlier statement that every fictional boy to come after these books will be judged by the Noah standard. I didn't think it was possible but I have actually fallen even further for him now. He really opens up in The Evolution. We learn so much more about him and as always he is there for Mara when she needs him. He knows how to be there but not in a way that is overbearing. I. Love. Noah. Elliot. Simon. Shaw.

"The boy is destined for greatness, but with you, he is in danger...You must leave him. This is what I have seen."
"I can't," was all I said to her, and quietly.
"Then you will love him to ruins," she said, and let my hands go."

And the ending? Holy Christ on cracker. Seriously it should be illegal to end a book like that when the next is not out for a year.

So now... we wait. The Retribution of Mara Dyer is due to be published on October 22, 2013. Simon & Schuster has announced that there will be no ARCs (advanced reading copies) released. They do not want there to be any spoilers leaked before publication and I completely understand that. There are too many questions that will need to be answered and I for one would rather not accidentally find something out.

What does this mean then? It means that we will all be finding out the end together which is actually really cool. I for one have already asked for October 22 off from work. I know I will need to start this right away... my only decision now will be if I stay up till midnight when it gets put on my Kindle or do I wake up really early on the morning of to start it. Decisions... Decisions...

"They rattled my cage to see if I'd bite. When they released me, they'd see that the answer was yes."

Christine
Rainy Day Reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The evolution of Mara Dyer *!Caution, contains spoilers!*, 2 Nov 2012
I am not writing this review to get you interested in this product, so if you haven't read the book yet and are looking for a quick summary: don't read this review.
It's going to be riddled with spoilers!

I have been looking forward to this book for quite some time.
I was in an absolute terrible mood after reading the first book, because I had no idea that it was only a first volume.
While I loved every page of the first book, I have mixed feelings about this one.

While the story is spectacular and so original, I felt there was just a bit too much going on in this book.

I loved the Jude breaking into her house angle and that every now and then it had me thinking that maybe Mara was really going a little crazy.

I don't quite get how Abel Lukumi will feature in the next volume, I understood his addition to book one and while he wasn't really in this one, It's safe to assume he'll be coming back for the final instalment. (The next one is the final instalment right?)

Mara's family continued to capture my heart, how much they love her and how they just can't make sense of her.
It feels real to me. And Daniel is just an amazing brother.
Mara's mother become much more interesting in this sequel because she was obviously worried about Mara being like her own mother.

I love all the twists and turns and unexpected surprises but there were just a few too much.
Getting admitted, getting released, her grandma, Noah's mom and her grandma, Jude kidnapping her, Getting admitted (again) and finally (my least favorite) the big showdown at the retreat.

The Jude-kidnapping her one, I loved! It was brilliant, the way he made her cut her own wrists so she would get admitted and her family would think she was suicidal.
That's what I call absolutely brilliant writing, and I applaud Michelle Hodkin for that.
But the showdown at the in-patient retreat felt a forced to me, rushed even. It was a bit predictable and for me the book should've ended after Noah and Mara discovered that Dr Kells was in the know about everything.

Which brings me to the final reason, the MAIN reason this book is amazing: Noah and Mara's relationship.
Their relationship is HOT. It's riveting really; the loyalty, the attraction, their conversations,... all of it.
I'm hooked.

But mainly: Noah Shaw.
Because Noah is, to quote the book, sex in a slim-cut tux.
I knew something was going to happen to Noah at the end of the book, but I was hoping that he wouldn't die.
Though I'm pretty sure that we'll find out Noah managed to escape death when the next book comes out.
There's no way in hell that she would kill Noah off just like that, let's face it Noah is the reason 70% percent of us are so into this book.
So I'm calling Michelle Hodkins bluff on this one.

All in all, this book is worth 4 stars in my account; for the great writing and vocabulary, the interesting characters and the dynamic between the characters.

Noah Shaw is worth 6 out of 5 stars, quite possibly the most amazing book-love-interest ever!

I will be waiting impatiently for volume 3.

If you would like to share your thoughts on the book with me, don't hesitate to comment on my review.
I would love to hear other people's thoughts on this, maybe you have an insight that I don't have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maya survived when her friends died when they went out on a dare and the building collapsed. The only thing is that she keeps seeing Jude who was there when the building collapsed but his remains were never found.

The only person who believes her is Noah, her boyfriend. Her family thinks she is unbalanced and after an incident she ended up in a home for the mentally disturbed.

Her life becomes unsettled and more complicated and someone in the home bullies and betrays her. This led to tragic events and with all the twists and turns, I found it difficult to put this book down.

I can't wait for the final book and would recommend this Trilogy to YA book Lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling read with the perfect ratio of fear and emotion., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow.

This book is currently my favourite book of the year, I adore it!

Ms. Hodkins deserves more credit for this book, as in my eyes it is up there with The Hunger Games and any highly regarded YA book on sale. The characters are great, Mara is the perfect narrator -not annoying but still has a personality. I love the idea that we may not be able to trust her narration anyway, and her uniqueness makes me admire her as a protagonist. The plot has the perfect combination of twists and turns - moments that make your heart stop and others that pressure it into a sprint. The writing style is original especially and the description is lovely. All of the other characters are really relatable to also -We desperately need more Noah Shaw's in the world!

Overall, a great read that will have you on the edge of your seat and desperate to reach the last page - thoroughly advise everyone to read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was incredible! I had been looking for a new series to indulge in and the Mara Dyer series was the perfect thing for me, the mystery of the plot and the twists along the way kept me hooked throughout. It was thoroughly entertaining and I have already recommended it to all of my friends and family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Spoilers!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was preparing myself for the worst for this book; in general I find that most books worsen increasingly throughout a series. This probably explains my complete delight at reading this book and finding it even more enjoyable than the first. If you are one of those people who seriously rate to characters in books, this might not be an easy read as I personally found myself cringing badly during the book, as not much goes well for mara, and she is continuously treated as a mentally ill person who should not be trusted. However, it is still a seriously enjoyable read, especially with Daniel, always being an amazing brother, lots of laughs especially with witty mara, but most of all, Noah.
Oh my gosh. He is generally the perfect man. Even with mara being so likable, it is hard not to hate her out of jealously. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was perfect.
It was never boring or slow but never too fast.
I couldn't stop reading it and I can't wait for the next one.
Definitely one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mara dyer, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book deserves 5 stars the storyline is fantastic and you get to know the characters as if they were your friends I'd recommend this book to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Evolution of Mara Dyer, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the second in the Mara Dyer Trilogy and is worth every penny that you spend on it. If you havent redad the first book i reccomend you do since without the knowllege of whats previously happened i imagine it would be very com=nfusing as it is with most serieses but this one in particular! It is a great book with lots of unexpected twists and turns. I would generally say not for children not becausre if the content but because of the storylines unpredictability and the medical references which i actully found refreshing because i hadnt come accross a book that went into that much information beforre and i thoroughly enjoyed it!!! Lots of Love Amy xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS SERIES, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was never bored when i read this and the previous and absolutely love the storyline and the characters! one of my favorite series and cannot wait for the finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews