Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unequivocally best album of 2014 by a new artist (!!!)
Having just watched the BBC Music Awards 2014, it was a bit depressing. Yes - a wealth of great talent with capable musicians, but nothing truly emotionally engaging. Nothing that moves music in an exciting direction. And yes, I agree BBC is one of the best music documentors (but alas, also constrained to the dictates of what sells most, the exclusivity and bulldozing...
Published 4 months ago by Maxalbert

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The CD arrived promptly and in good condition. Some of the tracks are quite beautiful, others not so.
Published 2 months ago by susie.h


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unequivocally best album of 2014 by a new artist (!!!), 12 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
Having just watched the BBC Music Awards 2014, it was a bit depressing. Yes - a wealth of great talent with capable musicians, but nothing truly emotionally engaging. Nothing that moves music in an exciting direction. And yes, I agree BBC is one of the best music documentors (but alas, also constrained to the dictates of what sells most, the exclusivity and bulldozing nature mass market distribution channels etc). If you want special music you have to dig deeper, it'll be on the BBC, but won't be getting an award . . . in this light, the pompposity, glitter and sheer expense of the award shows comes across as tat.

Listening to Blue FIlm by Matthew Jordan Hemerlein is a joy, something highly accomplished and different in it's sound.The first track, "Look Away" is a good intro, it starts as a perfect, shiny pop song, but halfway through, slows down and turns into more acoustic / classical guitar - you feel distinctly that you have been taken down a hallway into another room, the effect is amazing and works.

It's clear from the beginning of the album this accomplished guy has a range. And he really is accomplished, he plays most of the instruments on the album and his voice is amazing. He has both a high and low voice, singing both with precision - when he sings the low notes it's very moving (perhaps because on balance there's more high?).

An odd thing is his use of staccato and tempo in his music, there is a very unusual, but immaculate construction to his work that makes you pay attention, yet the whole sounds so beautiful that it's effortless. It's rare to hear such beautiful first albums. The fact the music is so technically difficult informs us he could go in any direction. I very much look forward to listening to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Channel No 5 advert!, 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Richard Stacey "Dick" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (MP3 Download)
I bought this after hearing the music to the Channel No 5 advert and thought I'd try the rest of the album. Well worth investigating as a unique and eclectic selection of numbers. Might not be everyone's cup of tea but for the price of a digital album well worth taking the risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting., 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (MP3 Download)
Rather strange in a nice way. Laid back to the point of falling over. But the high light of the album has to be the re-working of the Grease classic 'You're the one that I want' - fascinating, quite brilliant and also very brave given that this is one of those 'untouchable' songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
Bought this having heard the Chanel advert.All songs are similar pace and mood -great for sitting quiet and relaxing.Gorgeous gentle haunting voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The rest of the track are brilliant as well, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
pegasus2000 (Exeter, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
tracks #1 & #10 are worth the price of the whole disc. The rest of the tracks are brilliant as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every time I hear it it gets better and better, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
S Hughes "coachsandra" (Wrexham, Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
Stunning Album! Every time I hear it it gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying! I love it!, 24 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
I've still to buy this from Amazon, but I will be soon, it's a very good album! Love the beats and sounds in some of the tracks! I'd have to say "Blue Film" is my favourite track! Definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
Very good, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
The CD arrived promptly and in good condition. Some of the tracks are quite beautiful, others not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
S. M. Pratt "Sheila Pratt" (Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Film (Audio CD)
Excellent and refreshing approach to music love the arrangements and Lo-Fang's vocals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Film
Blue Film by Lo-Fang (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews