Customer Reviews


21 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only The Masses would listen to it..., 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
This is one of the finest albums by DM, it features tracks such as 'Strangelove' and 'Never Let Me Down Again', definately worth listening to if you're not familiar already.
DM are a must for self-respecting electronic music fans and this is a beautiful album to listen to. Described ny the group at the time as 'Electronic metal', I find some tracks retain much of the industrial qualities of earlier albums while others are softer and give the album a good balance.
This is Depeche Mode at their finest. Marvellous album artwork too!
This is the cheapest Ive seen this thing on sale, and I'm In Ireland, came to no more than £5 INCLUDING shipping, took a good fortnight to arrive though but whatever, it's worth the wait at that price, trust me!
BUY IT, BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS HOW THE mid80s SOUNDED - AND THEY SOUNDED GREAT!!!, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
MTV had been already established as mainstream, the BOSS was getting soft in the Tunnel of Love, BON JOVI were more about the hair than ever - and the British invented Alternative music. Two such post-punk groups, THE CURE and DEPECHE MODE, better than most others, were able to grasp the decade's vibrations and broadcast them back as UNBELIEVABLE MUSIC. Whereas the CURE were mostly edges, the DEPECHE MODE were mostly technopoetry.

This was the first album I ever bought as a CD - and I remember bringing it home to my new JVC HiFi, anxious to listen to the "crisp, digital sound" (little did I know that, only some years later, we would come to miss the fullness and richness of the old vinyl records). I was right to be anxious though: this was ONE OF THE GREATEST ALBUMS - EVER!

MUSIC FOR THE MASSES is one of those rare albums that can be listened to from start to finish. No filler material here. The voices are atavisticly haunting; the keys persistently penetrating; and the lyrics stay with you for ever.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
This is the best album of Depeche Mode. Right after Violator. I love it !!! I recommend it to everyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for 'Behind the wheel', 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
Went to see the Mode at the LG arena back in Jan.
Behind the wheel rocked the place!
Bought this album soon after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
I am gradually updating my whole mode collection through Amazon,these have a great crisp sound & well produced,Would highly recommend to all mode lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
I listened to the album several times within the first few days,
and it's one of those that you never tire of hearing.
I like the whole album which is unusual for me ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jun. 2015
By 
Aquavision Music Ltd (Iver, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Gatefold Sleeve) [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
delighted thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
Fantastic thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class of 87., 15 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
Brilliant Album..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded their Repertoire, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
This their sixth studio album expanded on the dark dense sound that they introduced on Black Celebration and paved the way for the first of their genuine masterpieces Violator three years later.

Containing such great tracks as Never Let Me Down Again, Strangelove and Behind The Wheel, the stand out track for me has to be Nothing, definetly one of the best tracks they ever recorded.

A five star, highly recommended must buy. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews