Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Chopin!!!!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
I have been fortunate on a few occasions to see Ingrid Fliter live in Glasgow. One of those live performances was of her playing Chopin's Piano Concerto No.2, which was breathtaking. She has made her name playing Chopin, going back to 2003 when she released a disc of a live concert she did at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw. More solo Chopin discs followed, including a brilliant recording of complete Chopin waltzes for EMI in 2009. But I and many of her fans have been waiting for her to record his two piano concertos. I am glad to say that this year (2014) she has recorded them for Linn Records and what superb performances she gives of these famous Piano Concertos! For me she really shines in the Second Concerto with great sensitivity in the Larghetto (2nd movement) and sparkling play in the final Allegro Vivace. The Scottish Chamber Orchestra under Jun Markl gives her a rich and quality backing and they must have thrived on playing with such a gifted musician. Along with Argerich, Pires and Ashkenazy she can be included as a top Chopin interpreter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did I need another record of these concertos ?, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
When the reviews started appearing of this record I thought do I need another coupling of these concertos. They have been very well served throughout recorded history - a few examples being Rubinstein's early 1960s couplings , Argerich's superb records with Dutoit and earlier with Abbado and Rostropovich , Perahia/Mehta , Zimerman ( both directing and with Giulini) , Vasary and Kulka and Semkow and that nonpareil of a recording of the E Minor with Pollini and Kletzki.

Ingrid Fliter's EMI disc of the Waltzes had to my ears marked her as a Chopin player of the first rank so I took the plunge and ordered this too. I found that record of the Waltzes to be enchanting and that adjective aptly describes this recording too . She is accompanied with enormous sensitivity by the SCO and Markl and the concertos sound newly minted . The E Minor is superb but the real triumph is the weaker , earlier concerto the F Minor named No 2 . This can sound wishy washy but in her hands it sounds like a masterpiece and the Larghetto is unmatched .

Probably a first choice now for anyone coming to the concertos as a pair for the first time and an essential purchase for lovers of Chopin .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
This is a great recording of these concertos. Fliter has Chopin under her skin. Listen and wonder. As I do every day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love Ingrids playing., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
This is the best recording I have heard of Chopin's piano concerto's. Played with such passion & feeling. I recomend this recording to anyone who loves piano music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring vivid interpretation, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
Technically speaking Flitter is an outstanding artist. I found her interpretation to be very original, performed with impeccable clarity. The high definition quality provided by the SACD recording does also bring this well know pieces into your "home stage" with all their grandeur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
I recently heard Ms Fliter in a live all Chopin programme and this prompted me to buy this disc. I have already an elderly but excellent LP fo these works played by Abbey Simon, marrred only by the severe cuts to the opening orchestral tuttis in each concerto's opening movements. On this disc the full texts are played, which happily restores the balance between orchestra and soloist. Ms Fliter's playing is stylish and faultless and, as has been commented elswhere, her rendering of the slow movement of the second concerto is indescribably beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are excellent performances up there with the best in the catalogue ..., 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
Ingrid Fliter was a new name for me and I bought this on a personal recommendation. I am very impressed with this young lady who I think will be a real star in the future. These are excellent performances up there with the best in the catalogue and it's an excellent recording too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
I am fairly new to classical music and started listening to Classic FM a couple of years ago. I have listened to many great Classical CDs but this tops the lot by a country mile. Ingrid Fliter's piano playing on the disc is breathtaking. The album is dramatic yet also relaxing particularly track 2. Ingrid and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra compliment each other superbly. I first became aware of Chopin's music listening to Ji Liu's album however, although very good, this album by Ingrid is miles better. If I could give this album a higher rating than 5/5 then I would !!! Very highly recommended and definitely one of, if not my favourite albums of 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
This is a superb cd and Ingrid in my opinion performs Chopin brilliantly and with great feeling and skill. I would love to see more DVD's of these classical greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
revd t e leach (Rotherham, S Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
great performances - just right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2
Chopin: Piano Concertos 1 & 2 by Ingrid Fliter (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews