Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
Told me everything I needed to know to get started with HTML5 and CSS3. I particlularly appreciated the chapter on responsive design.
Published 17 months ago by Peredur ab Efrog

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, frustrating delivery
I want to like this book. It has good content, covering the breadth of new features under the "HTML5" umbrella. It presents good advice on how to use the features, particularly the idea (that many professional web developers should heed!) that a website needs to be structured for, and accessible to, those who visit it, and thus how to use different technologies...
Published 9 months ago by Scott Marshall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, frustrating delivery, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Scott Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I want to like this book. It has good content, covering the breadth of new features under the "HTML5" umbrella. It presents good advice on how to use the features, particularly the idea (that many professional web developers should heed!) that a website needs to be structured for, and accessible to, those who visit it, and thus how to use different technologies to achieve that. But this book stops short of going into the gritty detail that's need to really understand and use these technologies fully.

More importantly though, this book can't decide whether it's for beginners or experienced web developers. It definitely assumes previous HTML (etc) experience, and (in the early chapters at least) tries to pitch itself as a more advanced tome. But the style is chatty, informal and wordy - as though trying to help a bewildered beginner. But then it uses this style to present definitely non-beginner topics. So it's neither one thing nor the other, and loses out as a result. For an advanced book, it could (and should) have covered twice as much material (or, for the material it contains, been half the size and price!). For a beginner's book, it pre-supposes too much prior knowledge. Also, the later chapters aren't so good; as the topics become more 'advanced' it's clear we're at the limit of the author's own knowledge, and the number of obvious mistakes (that should easily have been corrected in a first edition, let alone this second edition) increases dramatically. By the end, it feels like it's run out of steam, which is a shame as there is much to commend this book.

In summary: if you're a beginner in HTML development, the tone of this book is great for you, but you may struggle as it relies on you having prior experience. If you're a competent HTML developer wanting a reference book for all the new HTML5-related stuff, this book will give you a great guided tour (at a frustratingly slow pace), but falls short of providing the detail you'll ultimately need. This book is probably best for an "advanced beginner" - someone who's toyed with HTML, CSS and JavaScript and knows their way around, and now wants a helping hand to get to the next stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5: The Missing Manual (Kindle Edition)
Told me everything I needed to know to get started with HTML5 and CSS3. I particlularly appreciated the chapter on responsive design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but not for beginners, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly written and gets you up to speed with what HTML5 can do. However, it seems aimed very much at developers already familiar with HTML, so I'd be wary if you are wanting to learn HTML from scratch, or if you just want to know about the common tags you can use in your CMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - good examples - bigger scale examples with ..., 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book - good examples - bigger scale examples with more code snippets would be good, but overall a great book to learn and develop your HTML skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT A WINNER, 15 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HTML 5 is no longer a language as this book clearly explains, it is a mixture of standards that cobbled together keep the people that govern the web happy, not a book for beginners. You will have need to html already under your belt along with css, and now you'll also need javascript so if you want to be able to write code in what they call HTML 5 the just learn HTML off the internet, get the missing manual for css3 and a good book on javascript and you'll almost be there, at least for another 6 months before it all changes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Useless as either a tutorial or a reference, 12 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book spends a lot of space telling you what is different about html5 and previous versions of html, xml, xhtml etc. When it eventually does get around to being a manual, it's layout and content remain poor. After spending a few hours on it, I've given up. It's on it's way back to Amazon. If you are an expert on html already and want to know history and differences this may work for you. If like me you want to learn from near beginner, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasitc, does what it says on the front cover!, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. T. M. Giles (Staines (the west side) UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you new to HTML, HTML5, then this book will help you get up to speed. As a database dev and programmer, I have not had to worry too much about HTML until this year. I bought several books and this is clear, well laid out and gives examples that seem to fit real world problems.

There is a bit of CSS at the back - but grab the CSS missing manual as well if you need to develop a responsive website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML5: The Missing Manual
HTML5: The Missing Manual by Matthew MacDonald
£19.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews