Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
The relationship at the centre of this story is heart-rending and incredibly complex. These are two people who know each other as nobody else does, although there are still secrets between them that threaten to destroy their relationship. They're best friends who care deeply for each other - but even Sebastian doesn't know the true extent of Violet's fears. He knows that...
Published 13 months ago by Caz

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Way too long
I was disappointed as I had read the governess affair and enjoyed it. The characters were not particularly likeable and story lacked lacked the warmth that a romantic story should.
Published 12 months ago by Semijeje


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Caz "So many books, so little time..." (Frinton-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The relationship at the centre of this story is heart-rending and incredibly complex. These are two people who know each other as nobody else does, although there are still secrets between them that threaten to destroy their relationship. They're best friends who care deeply for each other - but even Sebastian doesn't know the true extent of Violet's fears. He knows that her marriage had not been a happy one - especially towards the end of it - but doesn't know how badly Violet has been affected by the emotional cruelty of her late husband. All he knows is that the Violet of today is a different woman to the young woman he grew up and fell in love with; fragile, brittle and sharp-tongued, she shrinks from the slightest physical contact and never wants to talk about herself. So he keeps his distance, never letting on how he really feels until a nasty argument causes things to change between them.

My heart broke for both of them. Violet is so tightly wound and has suffered so much that she feels worthless and regards herself as cold and empty with nothing to offer anyone. She doesn't want to feel emotion because it terrifies her to think of losing herself to feeling, so she focuses on her work, believing that to be the only thing of value about her.

And Sebastian. Oh, what a wonderful character Sebastian Malheur is. Thinking rationally, I know he's far, far too good to be true, even on the scale of romantic heroes, who are, by their very nature, all too good to be true! But his sensitivity to Violet and protectiveness towards her; the way he takes care of her in so many ways that she doesn't even realise, was really quite beautiful to see and won me over completely.

I am, once again, in absolute and total awe of Ms Milan's storytelling abilities, her amazing characterisations and her emotive and powerful writing. Sebastian and Violet are incredibly well-drawn characters who absolutely and completely belong together, and the level of sexual tension between them is off the charts. I was fascinated by the detail the author included about Violet's and Sebastian's work, and about the discoveries made by one of the secondary characters with whom Violet collaborates towards the end of the story.

"The Countess Conspiracy" had me riveted from start to finish. It's so beautifully written that the emotions just leap off the page, and there was more than one time while reading I found myself with a tear in my eye or a lump in my throat. It might not be the book for you if you don't like a large amount of angst in your romance, but I'm never one to shy away from a high angst content provided I know all will be well in the end and I loved it.

You can read a more detailed review of this book at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book is better then the previous one's in series, but still doesn't fulfil the expectations. All books are thought provoking but could do with main character's having more action or dialogue rather the pages full of their thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best of the series, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
this is my favourite book of the series it was an engrossing gripping read with the reader never knowing or being able to second guess the plot which made it a captivating read i strongly reccomend this book
the storyline itself is a five star read i would actually rate the book four and a half stars (but there isnt that choice) the reason i took half a star away was for the american words
that are not in the english language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Lazuli Sinclair (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have to confess I don't write reviews nearly as much as I should do, but this book has simply compelled me. Courtney Milan has styled a book that encompasses a beautiful romance as well as a moving tribute to women. A strong female lead with a brilliant mind captures the reader's heart as we root for her - not only with her romance but in her life and her discoveries in the scientific world. A well rounded book that perfectly entwines love and logic with a good strong dose of humour. This romance novel succeeds in being interesting even without the romance with a good plot and character development. The author has accomplished that most brilliant thing; making the reader actively feel emotions throughout, wringing almost tears from me at points (and I'm really not one to sob easily).
In her Author's Note Milan takes time to acknowledge the female minds that have been unfairly unrecognised throughout history, and dedicates it to "every woman whose name has disappeared without recognition"; women for whom I think this book does proud. I'd like to thank Ms Milan for this splendid read, and thoroughly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious! Amazing, Brilliant Story, 23 July 2014
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Courtney Milan is truly an incomparable. As I read Sebastian's and Violet's story, I felt as though I had been taken on a slow steady roller coaster ride. Ms. Milan's ability to reel you in until you are wrung out is a rare quality in writers of this genre. Violet was a brilliant, although sad and wounded creature. Sebastian was first and foremost a genuine friend - albeit a friend who truly loved her even though she could barely allow his touch.

As Violet's story is unraveled and you understand her self-esteem issues, you have an even greater appreciation for Sebastian's role in her life. I absolutely loved their story and can say that it is one of the most amazingly well-written romance novels I have ever had the pleasure to read. I can only liken it to a fine dining experience held in an exclusive restaurant, presented on the very best china, served with the finest wine, attended by the most gracious serving staff. Yes, reading this book was an experience - definitely not your run of the mill romance novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
String female heroine, great plot. There were moments where things slowed down a bit but other than tht a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, gorgeous story!, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
4.5/5 stars

I've been waiting for Violet and Sebastian's story for a long time, and at last Miss Milan delivered! I can honestly say that the dynamics in this book's relationship surprised me.

Usually the man is the aggressor, the pusher, the one who is more detached. In this case it's Violet who is an impregnable fortress and it's Sebastian, who is under his veneer of a scandalous scientist, still a gentle, kind and loving boy who fell in love with Violet at sixteen.

Sebastian is heartbreaking. He is such a wonderful character, - amiable, charming, the person who will make you laugh to put you at ease.

What Violet asks him to do slowly destroys him from the inside because he can't stand when people hate him. The last straw is when his older dying brother refuses to make him a guardian for his son thinking him frivolous and irresponsible. Sebastian decides to change and the biggest thing he can do is to admit that Violet is a genius behind his shocking discoveries on genetics.

This whole book is dedicated to women in science who often hid behind their husbands to force the scientific world accept their work in the past few centuries.

Violet has a brilliant mind, a multifaceted personality and many secrets. She has a formidable mother and selfish sister, so in many ways the only person who understands and supports her is Sebastian. So when he refuses to keep the charade any longer and starts trying to woe her heart, Violet is at loss. She is socially dysfunctional and mentally unprepared to accept that Sebastian's love for her is real even if she secretly desires him.

Oh, this review is such a mess because my feelings towards this book are a mess too! Courtney Milan doesn't write simple historical romances. Ever. There are always so many layers and impossible decisions to make that they leave your brain muddled, but at the same time she is so emotionally rewarding that I recommend her wholeheartedly. Please, read this book, peeps! It's marvelous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed all of these, but I think this is the best. The characters are really well drawn and I found myself really rooting for them. Great to see botany take a central role! Definitely a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Such a wonderful book! This is the best of The Brothers Sinister Series and that is saying something as they have all been excellent so far. Courtney Milan has very quickly become an auto buy author for me.

Violet is a woman of immense intellect who must hide it because in this era it is unseemly. Sebastian has been helping by presenting her work as his own, but he can do it no longer.

Violet sees herself as unlovable and cold with "sharp edges" as she puts it, but Sebastian sees the passionate and caring woman she keeps from the world and even herself. He wants her to see herself as he does and for the world to recognise her brilliance.

I really fell in love with Sebastian, he has his own issues, but he has found the woman that he loves and even if she will never be with him, he wants her to be happy above all things and to see how extraordinary she is to him.

Really looking forward to the next book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, emotional and amazing, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Countess Conspiracy (The Brothers Sinister Book Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the first two books in the Brothers Sinister series - but this one absolutely blew me away. It's genuinely one of the best romances I've ever read, and I loved every minute of it, even when it made me cry (at two different parts). It would stand alone just fine - you don't need to have read the earlier books to enjoy it - but if you have read the earlier books, it's fun to see the reactions of recurring characters as all of Violet's and Sebastian's secrets finally come out.

Mostly, I just love, love, love both prickly, wounded, wonderful Violet, and sweet, much-smarter-than-he-realizes Sebastian - and their romance together is just beautiful to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews