Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years in the making....
Here's an album worth waiting 20 years to hear! The "Reimagining" of Brian's first album from 1993 is a real gem. The original Long Night Out was recorded with a very low budget, with a few of his friends helping out. Budget aside, the same is true of the new album, but his friends two decades on are considerably better known , and BC's studio equipment and...
Published 9 months ago by Saxmeister

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Outing
Along his known themes, this is another good quality from Brian. I still feel that It's On Tonight is one of his best works.
Published 8 months ago by Jimi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years in the making...., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
Here's an album worth waiting 20 years to hear! The "Reimagining" of Brian's first album from 1993 is a real gem. The original Long Night Out was recorded with a very low budget, with a few of his friends helping out. Budget aside, the same is true of the new album, but his friends two decades on are considerably better known , and BC's studio equipment and production skills have gone stratospheric!
There's not a filler track to be found here, every one is a beautifully crafted and contains contributions from some seriously talented musicians. The two opening tracks contain some magnificent guitar from Lee Ritenour,and Chuck Loeb, Russ Freeman pitches in on Double Exposure, but pride of place on the guitar goes to Steve Lukather on the superb Beautiful Liar.
There's some fine sax contributions from Eric Marienthal, and especially the title track from Candy Dulfer, and some funky horn work from Patches Stewart, and Rick Braun, also the set closes with some haunting vocals from Jonathan Butler.
This really is a must have for any fan of this style of music, and it should please devotees of BC and hopefully win him some new followers too.
If you have never witnessed the spectacle of a Culbertson live performance, then do yourself a favour and catch his shows in London in early May.
Ok, I'm off to play the CD again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Outing, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
Along his known themes, this is another good quality from Brian. I still feel that It's On Tonight is one of his best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
I have all of Brians albums so couldn't resist this latest one, what a musical triumph every track is fantastic, the guest artist are impressive- Russ Freeman, Rick Braun to name a few. Brian is such a huge talent I reccomend this album to any serious music lover, the only other best thing is to see him live- WOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in your music collection, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
A must have for your Smooth Jazz music collection : Features Great well known Guest Artists.
Particularly like the Track: Beautiful Liar
The title track is really good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longer the Better, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
What can I say about Brian, except this man is true artist. I bought this album to see the difference between his 1994 version called ' LONG NIGHT OUT ' and his new and current album. If you read the CD notes you will see that the 1994 version had very basic recording techniques but is still a quality recording, however the new version is a massive improvement on the old. To add to quality he has some very well known guest artists on the tracks which enhance the sound, it also sounds fantastic on decent headphones. If you rate Brian then do not hesitate get your copy from Amazon you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal lift music, 3 May 2014
By 
J. Holland (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ideal lift music - provided there aren't too many floors. I believe his music is described as smooth jazz which may be quite accurate if you remove the word 'jazz'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian bashes out another winner., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Long Night Out (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Brian Culbertson over the years. He can deliver some rather beautiful delicate melodies amongst some complex instrumentals, with a large dash of what was originally known as Jazz funk.
After a hiateus of not buying smooth jazz, I re-visited this & I liked a lot. I would recommend this as to anybody who is a fan, or dipping their toe into the jazzy grooves of Brian Culbertson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Long Night Out
Another Long Night Out by Brian Culbertson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews