Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Favourite
I first saw this movie in the 70s as a double bill with "The Rocky Horror Picture Show", which was the film I actually went to see. I'd never heard of "Phantom" before, but enjoyed it far more than "TRHPS". The movie is best described as a black comedy/theatrical rock/horror/fantasy, you'll see what I mean. Based loosely around the "Phantom Of The Opera" story and the...
Published on 1 Aug. 2002 by G. Miller

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Brian De Palma...
...but I can't understand the following this film has gathered.

It's silly, never funny and often tedious. I'll give this another view just in case, but I can't see this one growing on me.

Sorry Brian.
Published 16 months ago by KEYSER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars its a masterpiece, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Extrodinary movies modern for 1974 brian de palma it is genius rock'n roll movies its a super classic nice actors very good costume thanks you brian this history is imtemporel for decades,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phantom of the Paradise, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting Horror thats along the lines of.......you guessed Phantom of the opera but far more inventive if Horror is where you're at!
Alchemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too perfect to be really cult, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A remake of the Phantom of the Opera in a New York setting, in the days of rock and roll and of show business and of records and rock operas. That must have some kind of filiation or descent from the Rocky Horror Show from London, and it does, but not entirely. I just wonder if it is not also inspired by Anne Rice's Lestat de Lioncourt in his rock star episode of the Queen of the Dead. That sure reveals all the shortcomings and drawbacks of show business and the "mythology" that goes along with it. But it has another dimension that has to do with Brian de Palma too. He had to criticize society and its over-exploitation of artists. But that was easy. So he had to criticize the gullibility of performers of any type, particularly women, and of the audience. They believe anything that comes from the honey sweet mouth of a producer. The audience comes to the show only to experience the impossible or the improbable, and they applaud to the death of a person because that's too much, I mean it is real, really real, perfect, etc. They yell and clap when someone gets cut up and sliced on the stage because that smells like blood and blood is good on a stage, any stage, provided it is fresh and hot and they can get splashed with it. The audience also come because in a show like that they can do what they couldn't do on the sidewalk outside the theater and there Brian de Palma remains very suggestive but no more than suggestive. But what makes that film in a way superb is the fact that Brian de Palma uses his camera and his special effects so well that we really don't have to suspend our disbelief when something odd is happening; it is just normal in the odd situation we have been soaked in for a while. There is no innuendo or half measures or maybe some interrogations about the fact the main singer is gay like in the Rocky Horror Show. He is so gay that he edges onto the caricature without really slipping on the other side. And the language within the producing team about it is just homophobic enough to be believable, but not too much though, just what we can hear on a sound stage or in the wings of a theater in such a situation, though certainly no diplomacy about it, absolutely none. Just plain and simple homophobically gross. So it can end in a total slaughter of everyone available on the last night with knives, daggers, electricity, weapons, machine guns, you name it you have it. And it looks so nice, all those dead bodies floating in blood galore. Apart from that decadent artistic perfection, the film is nothing but a remake of two or three films and nothing else. The electric guitars are not noisier that a couple of cimbaloms.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
By 
Piter "Necronomicon" (Paris France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A VERY great bluray edition with a lot of bonus features...All Bluray shoulb be done like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes brill film, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this film good story great catchy tunes bit dated but very watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prompt delivery...strange ( funny) DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and greatly overlooked film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
VERY GOOD,THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a cult, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a cult classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so fun, 10 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this film! it was so stupid but brilliant at the same time! the songs were dead catchy and i loved the 70's cheesey-ness that went with it. it totally ripped off my faverit film but it was so good i forgive it. well worth buying even if Phoenix's eyebrows where more terrifying than the phantoms face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Brian De Palma (Blu-ray - 2014)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews