Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Favourite
I first saw this movie in the 70s as a double bill with "The Rocky Horror Picture Show", which was the film I actually went to see. I'd never heard of "Phantom" before, but enjoyed it far more than "TRHPS". The movie is best described as a black comedy/theatrical rock/horror/fantasy, you'll see what I mean. Based loosely around the "Phantom Of The Opera" story and the...
Published on 1 Aug 2002 by G. Miller

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Culty
An absolutely quintissential cult film, Phantom is one of a kind. Whilst not the only horror-musical on the block, it is perhaps the most genuinely dark.

I remember watching it late at night as a child and being struck by the sequences featuring the preening glam rock prodigy 'Beef'. I was also drawn in by the setting, a monolithic palace of sinister, drug...
Published 19 months ago by E. Granter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Favourite, 1 Aug 2002
By 
G. Miller (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I first saw this movie in the 70s as a double bill with "The Rocky Horror Picture Show", which was the film I actually went to see. I'd never heard of "Phantom" before, but enjoyed it far more than "TRHPS". The movie is best described as a black comedy/theatrical rock/horror/fantasy, you'll see what I mean. Based loosely around the "Phantom Of The Opera" story and the legend of "Faust", but in a modern (70's) rock setting. Directed by the now legendary Brian De Palma, he brings excellent performances from Paul Williams (deminutive American singer/songwriter, best known in the UK for the "Bugsy Malone" score) as the villan, Gerrit Graham as the brilliantly camp character "Beef", and William Finley as the "Phantom" (how anyone can convey such emotion with just one eye showing still amazes me). De Palma also uses his split screen technique to good effect. Looks very dated, but apparently a cult classic now (I thought it was just me). This is a movie you'll love or hate. Definately different. Hope this was helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. C. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have slipped upon this out of curiousity make sure you click and buy it now. Featuring tremendous direction, great performances and superb songs this is the movie Rocky Horror wishes it was. Great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See if you like Rock Musicals, 1 Dec 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, great soundtrack (be wary of the CD though, see my review on that) A brilliant satire on the Rock industry mixed with a touch of Phantom of the Opera and possibly just a nod to The Rocky Horror Show. Well worth buying for "Beefs" antics alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best available release., 14 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
*****THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE ARROW BLU-RAY******************

Picked this up directly from Arrows site in order to get it early. I've been a big fan of this film for many years. Phantom is a psychedelic rock opera that fuses Phantom of the Opera, Faust and the picture of Dorian Grey together with an excellent soundtrack from Paul Williams, who also appears as the villainous record Executive Swann.

Swann steals naive songwriter Winslow Leach's work and has him framed and sent to prison. After escaping he becomes horribly disfigured 'phantom' who haunts Swann's club the Paradise, sabotaging giggs and trying to further the career of the girl he loves, Phoenix (Jessica Harper) The whole film uses its dark faustian storyline to take major swipes at the money men who take artists work and corrupt it in order to make money. While the films plot seems to mainly be aimed at the music industry it could easily apply to film. Swann not only steals Leach's work and identity but in one memorable scene even steals his voice. The music is excellent and the whole film holds up well to this day. Certainly in my opinion it even gives Tommy a run for its money!

Arrows Blu-ray release looks and sounds excellent. It's loaded with bonus features from a previous French release. It's important to note here that the French documentary has clips from the film that look too bright and lacking in detail suggesting that Arrow may have even gone back to the source material and improved things somewhat. So if you already have that French release it might be worth considering ditching it for this. It also has a new bonus feature as well, a conversation between Guillermo Del Toro and Paul Williams that is also very interesting to watch and new to this Arrow release.

Overall then I would say this is well worth checking out. The film is certainly very different to a lot of DePalma's other films but really delivers the goods. You certainly won't see anything like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, dark, funny, and camp satire--with a guest appearance by T.O.N.T.O., 15 Aug 2009
By 
T. S. Hughes (Guildford, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd recommend the Phantom of the Paradise for any fan of glam, goth, 70s rock excess, the music industry in general, De Palma's films, sophisticated pop harmony, horror, Paul Williams, or just good movies that are a bit different. In many ways it's like a cross between Body Double and Rocky Horror, retaining the best traits of both. Williams' songwriting is very interesting, much better than his more famous songs for Bugsy Malone, The Muppets, Streisand, or The Carpenters. It's a much overlooked treasure of music, dark humor, and decadence.

Phantom of the Paradise is also a must-see for fans of Stevie Wonder or of electronic instruments. Bob Margouleff and Malcolm Cecil's legendary modular synthesizer T.O.N.T.O. ("The Original Neo-Timbral Orchestra"), which they used for all of Wonder's albums from 1972-75, makes a guest appearance as the instrument the Phantom uses in his suite. It's a beautiful instrument visually, as well as aurally, and it's nice to see someone actually playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great film, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this movie for years. A great transfer and some fantastic extras. A wonderful addition to my shelves. Looks Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too perfect to be really cult, 11 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A remake of the Phantom of the Opera in a New York setting, in the days of rock and roll and of show business and of records and rock operas. That must have some kind of filiation or descent from the Rocky Horror Show from London, and it does, but not entirely. I just wonder if it is not also inspired by Anne Rice's Lestat de Lioncourt in his rock star episode of the Queen of the Dead. That sure reveals all the shortcomings and drawbacks of show business and the "mythology" that goes along with it. But it has another dimension that has to do with Brian de Palma too. He had to criticize society and its over-exploitation of artists. But that was easy. So he had to criticize the gullibility of performers of any type, particularly women, and of the audience. They believe anything that comes from the honey sweet mouth of a producer. The audience comes to the show only to experience the impossible or the improbable, and they applaud to the death of a person because that's too much, I mean it is real, really real, perfect, etc. They yell and clap when someone gets cut up and sliced on the stage because that smells like blood and blood is good on a stage, any stage, provided it is fresh and hot and they can get splashed with it. The audience also come because in a show like that they can do what they couldn't do on the sidewalk outside the theater and there Brian de Palma remains very suggestive but no more than suggestive. But what makes that film in a way superb is the fact that Brian de Palma uses his camera and his special effects so well that we really don't have to suspend our disbelief when something odd is happening; it is just normal in the odd situation we have been soaked in for a while. There is no innuendo or half measures or maybe some interrogations about the fact the main singer is gay like in the Rocky Horror Show. He is so gay that he edges onto the caricature without really slipping on the other side. And the language within the producing team about it is just homophobic enough to be believable, but not too much though, just what we can hear on a sound stage or in the wings of a theater in such a situation, though certainly no diplomacy about it, absolutely none. Just plain and simple homophobically gross. So it can end in a total slaughter of everyone available on the last night with knives, daggers, electricity, weapons, machine guns, you name it you have it. And it looks so nice, all those dead bodies floating in blood galore. Apart from that decadent artistic perfection, the film is nothing but a remake of two or three films and nothing else. The electric guitars are not noisier that a couple of cimbaloms.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best musical film ever!, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Alcaide Luis "routard" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the top 5 of my all time favourite movies. It is just perfect. Acting, music, use of the split screen, pace, balance of the quiet and action scenes. Seen it about 60 times. The best DVD version of the movie is the french one (By Opening), but the other ones are OK. If you have not seen it, you are a lucky person, it will leave you happy as uou heve never been. A must!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phantom of the Paradise, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
A very interesting Horror thats along the lines of.......you guessed Phantom of the opera but far more inventive if Horror is where you're at!
Alchemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so fun, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this film! it was so stupid but brilliant at the same time! the songs were dead catchy and i loved the 70's cheesey-ness that went with it. it totally ripped off my faverit film but it was so good i forgive it. well worth buying even if Phoenix's eyebrows where more terrifying than the phantoms face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad5c0eb8)

This product

Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Phantom of the Paradise Steelbook [Blu-ray] by Brian De Palma (Blu-ray - 2014)
24.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews