Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEMPLE OF THE KING..., 12 Dec 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reviewing Michael Schenker is often troublesome,you love the man's guitar playing but you shudder at his choices, of band mates especially vocalists,sub standard performances and sometimes below par 'new ' material.It would seem that Schenker has now realised that for most fans his appeal is in the past,so here we are presented with a stunning selection of tracks from MSG/UFO and the Scorpions,only 2 of the 19 tracks from Tilburg have been written in the past 25 years or so.

So to the concert,from the moment 'Into The Arena' & 'Armed and Ready' burst out of the speakers,you can breathe easy He's on form,those solo's rippling across the stage,yes at times he's self indulgent.who cares,there are many great lead guitarists but only a handful are capable of sheer genuis,for me Schenker is one of those and its a pleasure to indulge him listening to this album.

Its a stellar performance wiping away the irritation of the last live disc,a superior band,a far better sound quality and a better celebration of the man himself,still it would be remiss not to mention the singer 'Doogie White'( a success on Rainbow's Stranger in us All album),he nails the MSG tracks to perfection,in my opinion,but struggles badly with those of the Scorpions,whilst he's adequate at those of UFO (which only highlights how under rated Phil Mogg really is).

In general i can get by the vocalists limitations and enjoy the disc,Schenkers on fire,the band is tight and the 2 tracks from 'Temple of Rock' are excellent especially 'Before The Devil Knows Your Dead',if he can hold this level of performance together and remain consistent in the song writing department,we may just get a solo album to rival the past.

As a bonus we also get 5 tracks from The High Voltage Festival with Michael Voss on vocals,if anything the bar is raised even higher here,with several guest appearances ,fantastic stuff.

If you've swithered as to wether to buy this disc,dont worry,its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for guitar fanatics!, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly can i just say that yesterday(sunday)this was on sale for £3.99! Great,so i purchased it straight off,today it has gone up to £10.49...very strange! Anyway,it is good and Michael Schenker is playing better than ever! Yes he is self-indugent? but for god's sake,it's his band and he is the focal point of it! i bet he'd get criticism if he didn't let rip whenever he felt like it.As for too many Scorpions and Ufo songs...fine by me partly because i thought temple of rock wasn't a great album.
At the end of the day it's michael i want to hear and he is brilliant,and Doogie white is a lot better than Gary Barden...in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome From The Man, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a live album from the best heavy rock guitarist when he is on form, and boy is he on form here. This is his best live release since budokan and the mixture of UFO,Scorpions and MSG tracks makes this album unique. Only one little quibble why no Lost Horizons, every other MSG classic is included. When I listened to this album first I had to stop and replay Let sleeping dogs lie it is that good.
As for the band the Scorpions rhythm section do a good job and the keyboard player is fine. As mentioned before the vocalist is good on some tracks but lacks a bit on others partly due to letting the crowd take over too much. But in the end you are only buying this album for one thing and thats too hear if Michael still has it.
He has in spades and yes the solo on Rock Bottom is still as good.
Got my tickets to see him next year and hope for as good a performance.
After all the rumours and troubles Michael has come through and is playing as well as ever if there was any justice he would be packing out arenas and stadiums.
Bonus for the fans you can get closer in the smaller venues.
Buy this album you wont regret it brings back some great memories from the seventies and eighties, or if you havent got any MSG albums get this for a quick resume of a fabulous 40 year career.
Oh and if you want to hear the other side of Michael check out MSG unplugged live.
Long may he reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Roll on April 2013 next year. Michael was good last time i saw him should be even better next year with this band line up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temple Of Rock - Live In Europe., 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent setlist and performance.A good blend of MSG,Scorpions and UFO live classics.Captures perfectly Michael Schenker. live ably supported by Dougie White, herman and Frances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And so it came to pass that the faithful attended the Temple Of Rock, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
And so it came to pass that the faithful attended the Temple Of Rock, and lo there faith was rewarded. I must admit, it is nice to see Michael Schenker attempting to redeem himself after so many attempts to shoot himself in the foot over the years. From his days as a teenage prodigy with Scorpions through numerous tempestuous collaborations with UFO, and his own up and waaaaay down solo career, the talent he had was almost lost in a blizzard of Mad Mickey tales.

However, he is trying to live up to his legacy and, in his own words, "The Temple Of Rock is almost finished. There's not much new left to expect, but I am glad to be a part of this temple," says Michael. "It's unbelievable fun and an honor to share a stage and make music with some of the world's best musicians." Which brings us to the main part of this release, which is a concert recorded in Tilburg, in the Netherlands from May 2012 that sees him teaming up with Doogie White (ex Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen, Everyone Else) on vocals, former Scorpions colleagues Herman Rarebell on drums and Francis Buchholz on bass and the multi-talented Wayne Findley on rhythm guitar, keyboards and harmony vocals.

It's very much a greatest hits set, taking in reams of material from his early days with UFO, Scorpions and his solo days. There are a couple of surprises, with some tunes from Scorpions, post Michael, but with Herman Ze German and Francis Bucholz in place, it makes some sense. And he even tackles 'Assault Attack', one of my favourite of his solo songs, but not one I expected to hear. There's also the obligatory two new tunes from the latest solo album, one with Michael Voss on guest lead vocals. Now, I'm a fan of Doogie White, but he does struggle a bit on some of the Scorpions tunes, which don't really fit into his range, but he handles the UFO / solo Schenker ones well.

Over on the second disc, you also get five songs from the High Voltage festival in 2011, and they actually knock the main set into a cocked hat. It's probably because Michael Voss is on lead vocals for the set, and he really goes to town on 'Another Piece Of Meat' and 'Rock You Like A Hurricane'. Add in some Rudolf Schenker on three tunes, and it really does sound considerably more lively.

That's confirmed when you play the DVD. The Tilburg concert seems murky and dull, whereas the Sky broadcast High Voltage material really stands out. You also get an extra appreciation of the remarkable shift that Wayne Findley puts in, especially filling out the vocal sound. He really is a remarkable musician. I still get quite upset when I see that Michael Schenker has gotten old, because I remember him when he was a skinny wee boy. Unlike Doogie White who has, apparently, made a dent in the Killie pie mountain. Again, the High Voltage set is a killer, what with brother Rudolf Schenker on 'Rock You Like A Hurricane', 'Hanging On' and 'Doctor Doctor', although there is a remarkable lack of brotherly bonding on stage. Oh, and keep your sunglasses handy for when former UFO man Pete Way arrives for 'Doctor Doctor', as time has not withered his trousers! The bonus feature is largely inaudible handcam footage of the dressing room pre-Tilburg, but the main features are well worth it.

CD or DVD? It's a tricky one. If it wasn't for the fantastic High Voltage footage, I'd go for the CD, so you'll need to be extra nice for the next couple of weeks, and ask Santa to get you both. Although, as well as the two versions I have it's also out as a limited edition with 2CD, 1 Blu-Ray and a DVD, as well as the normal blu-ray
version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A current and solid live release from Schenker, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed Schenker for years now, and own every CD and DVD release he has put out. This live album, from only May of this year, contains the full show. The fault with so many reviews of Schenker's live albums is that they are always compared to his first, most successful live solo release, 'One Night At Budokan'. This release is indeed very good, but it is short-sighted to ignore the wealth of material Schenker has released (and continues to) since then. 'Temple of Rock - Live in Europe' is very well mixed, with Schenker's guitar up nicely, and we hear everyone else plenty well enough. It does very much feel like a 'live' show, and is not one of those annoying live releases mixed as though to sound like a studio recording. We hear the crowd, but not too much. The set itself covers much of Schenker's career, but personally I think there is too much UFO and Scorpions material in there (11 songs, in fact) which is a shame when Schenker has so much brilliant material he can draw from. The new album is only represented by two songs here: 'Hangin' On and Before the Devil Knows You're Dead', which again, I think is a shame as it's a solid release. That said, it is a great live show and the band are clearly loving it, which make for more enjoyable listening. It is better than MSG's previous live release (the 30th Anniversary show in Tokyo), which features (a now retired- or almost) Gary Barden, whose voice was never great and is now far worse, as well as his demonstration of this by letting the crowd sing as much a they can, instead of him. Doogie White, by contrast, is a great and enthusiastic vocalist who delivers the songs with the commitment and effort you would expect. Elsewhere on the stage, we have the accomplised and long-time MSG member Wayne Findlay and the ex-Scorps Franic Bucholz on bass and Herman Rarebell on drums. Schenker himself nails everything (he has been sober since late 2007). Well worth checking out if you are a MSG, UFO or Scorpions fan. Also catch him on his upcoming European leg of the 'Temple of Rock' tour next Spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THAT'S More Like It!, 14 Feb 2013
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bemoaned the fact that the studio "Temple Of Rock" album was not the greatest of albums - although it did contain the ear-worm "Before The Devil Know's You're Dead" track and wondered why it was that Michael had very often associated with vocalists that could not match up to his music. Well, he must have been listening because what he's presenting us with here is a cracker of an album - possibly one of the best live one's that he's put his name to. And moreover, the vocalist is almost (I did say almost!) on a par.
Crisply recorded, MS kicks off the set with the mighty "Into The Arena" instrumental flexing those fingers and letting rip with the riff and the tasty licks and runs as he fills every last gap - this is scintillating stuff! "Armed And Ready then backs up this punchy start and whilst I was expecting the dodgy vocals, none came forth...now we're in rock heaven! "Cry For The Nations", "Let Sleeping Dogs Lie", "Assault Attack" "Rock You Like A Hurricane" are all here, the disappointment is that "Before The Devil" doesn't come across quite as well as it does on the studio album but hey!, that's a minor issue!
Along with AC/DC's River Plate album and Zeps Celebration Day, this Temple Of Rock -Live In Europe album will be treasured as yet another fine example of the majesty and glory that is rock music.
If you do not possess a Schenker album, then this is a fine one to start with - for all the rest of you, get this one into your collection now - you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live in the temple, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this live cd is just brilliant old songs and new ones this band are on fire this is as good as one night at budokan.strangers in the night infact you could say better buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent overview of what MS is capable of. A great rock album that stands up there with the best live albums. A great additions to any rocks fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Temple of Rock - Live in Europe
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews