Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good anchor but requires deep drilling
Requires drilling two 10mm, 100mm deep holes (with masonry bit like a 10x150) and to widen the entrance of the holes to 14mm (with a 14mm masonry bit, any length will do as you only need a few cm).

For fitting, I would suggest placing the assembled anchor in the desired position (including sleeves), to drill a 1 cm deep hole by passing the bit through one of...
Published 3 months ago by superfrog

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abus wall anchor
I purchased this in order to secure a kayak which I have just bought. It took a couple of attempts to attach it to the wall as one needs an extra long 10mm drill bit to drill the hole. The other observation I would make is that the plastic parts are a bit flimsy and it would improve the product geatly if these were metal sheaths. Have only had it a week so that's it for...
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by P. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abus wall anchor, 13 Oct 2010
By 
P. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
I purchased this in order to secure a kayak which I have just bought. It took a couple of attempts to attach it to the wall as one needs an extra long 10mm drill bit to drill the hole. The other observation I would make is that the plastic parts are a bit flimsy and it would improve the product geatly if these were metal sheaths. Have only had it a week so that's it for now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good anchor but requires deep drilling, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Requires drilling two 10mm, 100mm deep holes (with masonry bit like a 10x150) and to widen the entrance of the holes to 14mm (with a 14mm masonry bit, any length will do as you only need a few cm).

For fitting, I would suggest placing the assembled anchor in the desired position (including sleeves), to drill a 1 cm deep hole by passing the bit through one of the sleeves, then to insert a screw in the sleeve and hole and do the same on the other side. The holes are easily and reliably marked in this way. The drilling can then be completed. Beware, this product is not very tolerant of drilling at angles, you need to drill straight down through your surface or you might struggle to fit the fixing through.

The depth of the holes makes the process impossible on thinner wall and is also problematic on thinner walled buildings. When installing the anchor on a thin walled brick property, I found myself reaching the plaster on the other side (but happily not breaking through)

The screws are good quality and the whole assembly is pretty easy. Inserting the rivets that cover the screw heads is a bit of a faff but happens after reasonable amounts of cursing.

For the price, and if you are able to drill in the floor or wall to a depth of 10cm without issues, this is a really good product. if not, prefer a product that uses shorter stubbier metal sheathed fixings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good anchor.check drill size, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Good price for a well designed anchor.
Needed a 14mm driil bit for the metal inserts not the 16mm described in the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too small for modern motorcycle chains, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
I have used one of these wall anchors to secure my motorcycle for many years, but when I had to upgrade the lock and chain to one specified by my insurers I found that the opening is too small for a typical 12mm diameter link chain. Otherwise an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
I've seen this as much as 40 elsewhere so for 9 on Amazon it seemed like it was a misprint!

Great value wall anchor from one of the leading names in security locks. I needed to buy 2 drill bits (a long 10mm for the wall screws and a short 16mm to countersink the metal sleeves) to a total cost of 9 so it was 18 all in and on the wall. I deliberately stripped the screw heads once they were in and then hammered the metal covers in so its a sledgehammer job to get it off (you can never have too many anchor points in a garage!)

It's solid as a rock on the garage wall behind my Boardman bike with a heavy duty U lock locking them together, peace of mind as you'd need time and heavy duty tools to steal my bike now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Wall/floor anchor, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Difficult to install due to the necessary long shank drill, however once done it is very strong securing wall/floor anchor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent deterrent., 10 July 2014
By 
C. I. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Great solid piece of kit that will keep you bikes safe. Easy to install with clear instructions. Does require a decent power drill for the holes. My cordless wasn't up to task so had to hire one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abus WA50 wall anchor, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Really well made, comes in 3 pieces I assume to help resist attack if one side is pryed away the other half of the backplate will remain intacked being a separate plate. Front plate has edges rolled up, making it very rigid but also a nice rolled edge which helps your securing cable feed in and out under normal use and would stop it being a cutting edge if attacked withsomething forcing it against the edge like a prybar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best I could find on the market and great price., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
Does the job. Very secure. Best price on the internet at just over a tenner! You will need an extra long drill bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Those Wacky Germans!, 18 May 2014
By 
Skeptic "skeptic" (Studio City, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abus WA50 Wall Anchor (Sports)
This is a well made product. Very strong and reasonably priced. However, it come with wall anchors made for concrete or brick and suggests that for softer walls, like limestone, other bolts should be chosen. Hmmmm. What about wood? I know this was made in Germany, where they don't have wood framed houses, but it's sold in America, where wood framing is the PRIMARY home building material. Did this never even enter their minds?!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are absolutely no suggestions on how to anchor this to your wood framed garage, porch etc. You're supposed to hammer in the metal caps after installation to prevent screw removal but if you are mounting this on drywall, you're going to beat the wall do death in the process.

Back to the drawing board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abus WA50 Wall Anchor
18.99 - 37.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews