Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here
As I know one of the ladies who are portrayed in this book, I was interested to see what her life was like at the Butlin camp. I found all the stories equally fascinating and the synopsis of Billy Butlin also illuminating.
Published 3 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s ...
Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s and 60s. It tends to be repetitive as you read their accounts of life as redcoats.
Published 3 months ago by F. N. URE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
As I know one of the ladies who are portrayed in this book, I was interested to see what her life was like at the Butlin camp. I found all the stories equally fascinating and the synopsis of Billy Butlin also illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book and brought back so many lovely memory's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic memories, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
Really liked this book. It took me back to the times in the 70,s especially when I first went to Butlins as a teenager., also when we took our own children in later years. The Redcoats were always fantastic and my daughter who was 8 spent a lot of time collecting their autographed photographs and had her photo taken numerous times with as many as she could. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Redcoats A Winner., 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely story of what the Redcoats did on and off duty. Each individual story is a pleasure to read, each story does overlap to a certain extent this is to be expected, but everyone's story is completely different starting off from when they were young, then teenagers, onto working at Butlins and what happened to them later in life.
Some of the accounts are so difficult to believe you would be forgiven for thinking they were fiction when you suddenly think my goodness this is fact and it really happened to them.
Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s ..., 4 Aug 2014
By 
F. N. URE (Swansea UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
Quite interesting especially if you remember Butlins in the 50s and 60s. It tends to be repetitive as you read their accounts of life as redcoats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read, but some photos would have been an added bonus. Perhaps it was a copyright issue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy days of the old holiday camp billy butlin started ..., 12 Oct 2014
happy days of the old holiday camp billy butlin started it off the lives of these people were changed whenthey became red coats some to be famous others to just be there and enjoy them selves the jobs were busy and they had chance to meet their wife/husband or just have a mad fling good reminders of past hols at all in camps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Halcyon days, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Molly (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Just lovely! Every story a story worth reading in it's own right ... I'd finish one and think 'Oh damn, this next story's not going to be a patch on hers' but within a paragraph I was hooked again. Read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I found the book slow to start with, but ..., 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
I found the book slow to start with, but it picked up a bit later. Interesting to hear about life behind the scenes at Butlins and how the work ethic there helped the women in their future careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wish you were here, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here!: The Lives, Loves and Friendships of the Butlin's Girls (Kindle Edition)
Having spent holidays at Butlins during the 70's and 80's this book brought back many memories. I could quite imagine the the life the Redcoats lived, very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews