Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's good!
Sam Bailey certainly has a beautiful voice and has a huge amount of power behind it. There are a couple of new songs on here and the rest are covers. Adding to the album are duets with Nicole Scherzinger and another with Michael Bolton. Of the two duets, unexpectedly (to me at least!) I prefer the one with Michael Bolton. Their two voices seem to compliment each other...
Published 8 months ago by SM

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She needs a better record producer
Sam Bailey and Eva Cassidy are my favourite singers in the world. Eva Cassidy was a great musical arranger, and there are some goodish arrangements on this CD.

For me, there are way too many slow songs. Of the 11 tracks on the CD, the first EIGHT (not a misprint) are slow songs. By the third song I'm sick fed up of slow piano intros and the album is turgid. By...
Published 7 months ago by J. Mackie


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's good!, 24 Mar 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Sam Bailey certainly has a beautiful voice and has a huge amount of power behind it. There are a couple of new songs on here and the rest are covers. Adding to the album are duets with Nicole Scherzinger and another with Michael Bolton. Of the two duets, unexpectedly (to me at least!) I prefer the one with Michael Bolton. Their two voices seem to compliment each other very well.

The only slight request I have, is that I would love to hear more songs form her with a more gentle touch... The quieter ones. She certainly has the voice and ability to be able to sing such songs. But perhaps she is saving this for her next album (bring it out soon please Sam!).

I discovered her almost accidentally really, as due to work I don't normally get the opportunity to watch X factor. I heard a repeat of an episode on television and was really impressed. I'm still impressed after listening to this cd a couple of times this morning and hope to hear more from her in the future.

Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of Love Sam Bailey, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album. She has one strong pair of lungs.....cannot stop listening to the CD. Would highly recommend to others who enjoy power ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
I love this album yes only two original tracks but Sam puts her own unique talent to the covers. Excellent vocal range im looking forward to the day that someone gives this amazing singer the opportunity to make an album of original tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album from a lovely lady with an out-of-this-world voice!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Even though I watch X Factor, I usually don't bother investing in the artists after the show but with Sam I knew I wanted to hear an album from her from very early on in the live shows....this is it and what an amazing album it is! I've had it playing all morning - I just love her voice - it's phenomenal! There's also no mistaking it, in every song you can hear Sam's style and even though the majority are covers, they are well chosen and suit her perfectly with some favourites from the series too. The two duets are great additions too, particularly the duet with Nicole Scherzinger, it's one you just have to stop and listen to. There's a few original songs on there too, my favourite is currently Compass but they'll all good and perfect for her voice. Great debut album Sam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She needs a better record producer, 11 April 2014
By 
J. Mackie (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Sam Bailey and Eva Cassidy are my favourite singers in the world. Eva Cassidy was a great musical arranger, and there are some goodish arrangements on this CD.

For me, there are way too many slow songs. Of the 11 tracks on the CD, the first EIGHT (not a misprint) are slow songs. By the third song I'm sick fed up of slow piano intros and the album is turgid. By the eighth song, I'm wondering what kind of d...head would put his name to producing an album with 8 slow songs in a row. Sure, this would be expected of a Susan Boyle album, but why so many doleful songs for a performer as versatile as Sam Bailey?

There is one fastish track, "Ain't No Mountain High Enough", but it sounds like a Michael Bolton track with Sam Bailey joining in sometimes. Tracks 1,2,3,5 and 8 are all much the same type of song. Tracks 3,5 & 8 are all Diane Warren songs, and they all sound much the same. For example, track 5 is "There You'll Be" and the chorus of track 8 is "There I'll Be". Yawn. Thankfully they put "Skyscraper" in. And the duet with Nicole Scherzinger is just fabulous.

Sam's singing is simply stunning, but sadly I have to agree with the press that she's not displayed the range which she displayed on X Factor. She nailed every type of song every week, and musicians like myself were all talking about her phenomenal performances. Sam, please don't become another Susan Boyle. Get yourself a record producer with a bit of get up and go - and make an album with some street cred for those like me who were knocked out by the variety of your amazing voice on X Factor.

Without question, 5 stars for the voice. Sadly, only 1 star for the doleful over-production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a singer!, 3 May 2014
By 
Robert Milosevic (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Great voice, great emotional delivery, amazing versatility.... And she is amazing when performing live! What else can one want? The first record is showing her range and versatility - what is the next one going to bring? I am looking forward to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
lovely cd. great songs and great voice. really great choice of music for her first cd track. more to come, hopefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Sam Bailey., 28 April 2014
By 
Michael James Talbot (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Followed her through X-Factor. Delighted to buy her CD. She is the people's favourite. May she have a long and successful career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Thought this would have been brilliant but is such a let down. Nothing exciting about listening to such a boring cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sam Bailey CD, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Love (Audio CD)
Disappointing. All the songs she does really well are not on this CD.
Will have to wait for the next CD to see whether It is good enough to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power of Love
The Power of Love by Sam Bailey (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews