Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars136
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
Max Plowman gives an erudite and sensitive appreciation of his time as a junior officer in the Great War.

Plowman himself is capable and brave, well-respected by his men and fellow officers. He is acutely aware of how character determines a man's response to the demands of war in the front line, in both officers and men. Character portrayal is a strength of the book.

Top Brass is seen as falling short too often: "...the colonel himself ...never managed (though to give him his due he tried very hard) to reach the trenches". And " At Beauquesne we passed some large country houses that are said to be in use as army headquarters. One could not help admiring the command's taste". Also "For the higher command the war is a great adventure and into it they can and do put tremendous zeal and endless thought. At the same time they have all the excitement of a bigger game than any other"

He is also concerned about the mechanisation of war. "We have endowed machinery with the power once confined to a man's right arm, and now the machine continues to function long after our natural instincts have spent themselves. That is what makes this war so ghastly. It is machine-made."

Plowman became increasingly disillusioned with the conflict. If only the British public knew what was going on, he thought: "...in the words of our battle-hymn, 'They'd never believe it'"

Following recuperation in England from a bomb blast he wrote to his battalion adjutant asking to be relieved of his commission on the grounds of religious conscientious objection to all war. What is not in the book is that he was arrested and tried by court martial for refusing to return to his unit. He was dismissed from the army without punishment.
0Comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
Amongst the dozens of WW1 memoirs written by junior infantry officers, this one stands out as being particularly well-written. Max Plowman, who originally wrote the book under the name of "Mark Seven" gives us atmospheric episodes from his six months on the Western Front, and it rings completely true in every respect. My grandfather too was a junior officer on the Somme, and his reminiscences, told to me as a teenager, are in total accord with this fine book.

I read this book in a couple of days, and almost at once became dismayed at how fast it was going by and how near I was to the end. I am about to read it a second time: it is that sort of book.
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
A powerful and emotional account by a soldier during of one of the most dreadful events in our history. The memoir is engaging and vivid, offering a raw and real look into World War I by a very talented and classical writer. Max Plowman was a very admirable man and I have much respect for not only his abilities as an author, but also his endurance through a time that is almost unimaginable these days. I found every chapter to be just as captivating as the other and with the visually rich, detailed writing painting a picture through each chapter in the mind, it ended up leaving a lasting impression on me that proved hard to fade.

I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for an unadulterated and raw look into the events that occurred on the Western Front through an intelligent author's perspective.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Very good book it was good to get another view of a horrific war what those men went through is unbelievable and the mistakes the senior officers made was disgraceful. Well worth a read
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
One of the few officers who made it through WW1, this is a very human and moving account of the best and the worst of life on the front. Well written, full of action, polite (except perhaps to certain staff officers) this is a book that really deserves reading by the millions of people today who lost relatives in the trenches of the Great War.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I read this as a follow-up to Margaret McMillan's 700 pages The war that ended the peace. Together they give some understanding of the causes of WW I and the misery of those common soldiers who fought in it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
An interesting and illuminating book about the day to day life in the trenches. Whilst there is no "over the top" action, the trials suffered by the troops in the mud of the trenches are no less demanding and life threatening than the bullets and shells of the enemy. Could people today endure what was endured?, I think not.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
A masterful work. When I started reading this book I questioned what It was going to be about, but quickly tuned in to the author's masterful and skilfully written little word pictures of life on the Western Front. The wholeness of the scene he depicts covers a complete spectrum of experience, giving keenly observed descriptions of the places he visited and the living conditions men tolerated in the trenches. His observations on those around him who shared with him the destruction, fear, horror and revulsion of total war, buoyed up by a will to survive, are very interesting. His few lines of verse are a highlight of the book.
I would compare Plowman's work to a painting, each paragraph a stroke of the brush blending or contrasting with the next, to create the finished picture.
Appropriate reading on the hundredth anniversary of the start of the Great war
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This covers the author's six months or so in an infantry regiment in the Somme region. Although Plowman didn't get involved in any actual 'over the top' or 'raiding' activities, he was in a front line regiment which had its fair share of artillery bombardment and casualties, and of course the discomfort of the trenches. This, combined with the never-ending round of work parties, marching and other activities made the war an endurance test for many. This is the aspect which comes over best in the book, which gives a realistic rounded account of a subaltern's life on the Western Front, rather than focussing only on the fighting aspects. Plowman later became a conscientious objector, and the book reflects the disillusionment with the war and the conduct of it which led to his later decision.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Probably the most authentic feeling book of the great war that I have read. I was brought up in the 1930s and 40s surrounded by ex soldiers who would not discuss their experiences which were too terrible to mention. Accordingly my actual knowledge of that conflict was very slight. The second world war then arrived and for years during and afterwards , stories of that time were openly discussed and portrayed in films etc. The comparison of coverage of both terrible wars was very different! This book accurately portrays the unbelievable conditions the participants had to endure,which I now realise were far worse than I had considered possible.No wonder my father and relatives would never wish to be reminded of them !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Centenary of WW1 in Picardy France visit the Somme Battlefields now