Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Dive into the World of Judge Dee - And a Freebie, too!
...so take it on the spot!

Robert Van Gulik has written more than twenty stories about Judge Dee, who is an historically confirmed legal scholar under the chinese Empress Wu Zetian (c. 625 - 705), also known as Wu Zhao and (in English) as Empress Consort Wu, who was a Chinese sovereign and ruled officially under the name of her self-proclaimed "Zhou...
Published 8 months ago by miki101.Michaela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dee short stories
First time I have read these , and being a devoted fan of judge Dee I enjoyed them. But they are not a patch on the full book length stories and are lacking the full roundness of a well told story I have come to expect.
Published 6 months ago by Mrs J Dalziel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Dive into the World of Judge Dee - And a Freebie, too!, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
...so take it on the spot!

Robert Van Gulik has written more than twenty stories about Judge Dee, who is an historically confirmed legal scholar under the chinese Empress Wu Zetian (c. 625 - 705), also known as Wu Zhao and (in English) as Empress Consort Wu, who was a Chinese sovereign and ruled officially under the name of her self-proclaimed "Zhou Dynasty", from 690 to 705.
The Judge Dee character is based on the historical figure Di Renjie (c. 630- c. 700), magistrate and statesman of the Wu court.
So if You are interested in Chinese history and the "Celebrated Cases of Judge Dee", too, here is an attractive opportunity to dive GRATIS into the 'crime scenes' of ancient China! Be prepared for some supernatural hand helping the Judge every now and then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great freebie, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
An ancient Chinese tale that is truly great entertainment. The only surprise is that more people have not encountered Judge Dee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good product - but NB before buying this that these ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
good product - but NB before buying this that these two stories are also contained in "Judge Dee at Work"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dee short stories, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
First time I have read these , and being a devoted fan of judge Dee I enjoyed them. But they are not a patch on the full book length stories and are lacking the full roundness of a well told story I have come to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First class read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
I first read the Judge Dee series over 35 years ago & i had forgotten how good they were. It is a shame the rest of the series is so expensive as if they either reduced the price or made a "bundle" offer then i would buy the lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chinese detection in the Ming Dynasty., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
See my review of the Chinese Gold Murders. These tales are interesting and entertainig, while they give an insightful picture of ancient China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder/ mystery in 7th Century China - customs change, but human nature doesn't, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in Ancient China: Two Judge Dee Mysteries (Chicago Shorts) (Kindle Edition)
This was a free download of 2 of the short stories contained in the collection 'Judge Dee at Work'. It takes a little while to get used to the style of writing, and the format of the law and justice in ancient China - the Judge's henchmen really enjoy dishing out punishment! Luckily, Judge Dee is there to reason his way to the truth.

'Murder on the Lotus Pond' is very atmospheric. The murderer is totally plausible, and there's a great deal of satisfaction in the revenge of the frogs.

'Murder on New Year's Eve' finds Judge Dee without his three (!) wives and children (visiting his First Lady's mother and not due back till spring), and he has added to his isolation by permitting his aides the night off to join in the celebrations, so he has to rely on his constables to help solve the mystery of a child's missing parents and a pool of blood on the floor. This is a simply-told tale, full of misunderstandings and wrong conclusions at all levels, until Judge Dee's logical brain finds the solution - just in time for the festivities.

Both stories are very good, although there are a couple of annoying misprints. Still highly recommended, but, since I see this is no longer a free download, I'd recommend buying the whole book from which these are taken, rather than paying for these two very short tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews