Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The case explained
Morag Kerr has resolved the mysteries of the Lockerbie Bombing better by far than anybody else ever has, including of course the Camp Zeist judges.

Her case for the bomb having been planted in the baggage-container at Heathrow, namely the unexplained suitcase seen by baggage-handler John Bedford, persuades me completely. Her analysis of the...
Published 16 months ago by wa233

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pluses and minuses
On the minus side, I had to skim through pages of technical detail. Could some of this go into the appendix? It takes a long time to build up to the conclusion

On the plus side I was impressed by the overall conclusion. I had thought that the 'need' to have Syria as an ally in the 1990 Gulf war was the prime cause of the focus on Libya, but this book makes...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. L. Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The case explained, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adequately Explained by Stupidity?: Lockerbie, Luggage and Lies (Kindle Edition)
Morag Kerr has resolved the mysteries of the Lockerbie Bombing better by far than anybody else ever has, including of course the Camp Zeist judges.

Her case for the bomb having been planted in the baggage-container at Heathrow, namely the unexplained suitcase seen by baggage-handler John Bedford, persuades me completely. Her analysis of the photo-identification and MEBO timer evidence destroys any value these items retained as evidence against Megrahi. This is the definitive work on the subject.

The shame is that it has taken so long to get to the truth, that an innocent man suffered years in prison, and of course that the real culprits remain at large.

Edit: I wrote a full review on my blog at: http://3stes.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/why-lockerbie-bomb-was-loaded-at.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those many and varied people who have always felt ..., 3 Dec. 2014
By 
S. Kendon "Samuel Whiskers" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those many and varied people who have always felt the conviction of Abdelbaset al-Megrahi was at least flawed if not a flagrant injustice, this book comes as a welcome addition to Private Eye's Flight from Justice in the limited coverage of this strange tragedy.
In meticulous detail the author demolishes the Crown case against the accused, showing clearly how the events are much more convincingly and completely explained by a series of events which seems simply not to have occurred to the investigators, many of whom do not come out of the story with any credit at all. Megrahi was clearly no angel, but the contortions gone through to secure his conviction are in glaring contrast to the straightforward and entirely coherent explanation of the bomb being loaded at Heathrow. How this most obvious explanation escaped even cursory scrutiny can indeed only be adequately explained by stupidity, a lot of people doing their job very poorly, with the added frisson at the end of the mysterious printed circuit board which even Morag Kerr cannot explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where detail becomes fun, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extraordinary opportunity to delve into the fine details of the forensic case against Megrahi and all its weaknesses, and scary errors, misdirections, or underplaying of evidence that might occur in any enquiry. There is a whiff of politics in the air, where the Brits and Germans offload the blame onto poor Malta who appears to have had by far the tightest airport procedures. Key testimonies from Bedford and Manly go against the grain and point to the bomb being placed in London. And what placing. The bomb was quite small, but ‘miraculously’ found itself right next to the fuselage where it could do damage. The chances of that occurring through coincidence were miniscule. A super book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many books have been written about this tragic and complex event over the years, with some more convincing than others. Having read this work, it is indeed hard to argue with Morag G. Kerr's analysis. She leaves no stone unturned and is utterly diligent in her research. I hope this book gets the attention and recognition it truly deserves. Genius work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pluses and minuses, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. L. Lynch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adequately Explained by Stupidity?: Lockerbie, Luggage and Lies (Kindle Edition)
On the minus side, I had to skim through pages of technical detail. Could some of this go into the appendix? It takes a long time to build up to the conclusion

On the plus side I was impressed by the overall conclusion. I had thought that the 'need' to have Syria as an ally in the 1990 Gulf war was the prime cause of the focus on Libya, but this book makes clear that the forensic investigation was incompetent from the word 'go', and was focusing on Libya well before Saddam invaded Kuwait. The incompetence of the forensic investigators should not be surprising when you recall the flawed convictions of the Guildford 4 and Birmingham 6 in the 1970's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough analysis, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adequately Explained by Stupidity?: Lockerbie, Luggage and Lies (Kindle Edition)
If everything written here is true then there are some really incompetent "experts" involved. Which of itself casts some doubt on the conclusions. Of course the author admits that she was not privy to all the facts, but what she does provide seems pretty conclusive.

This is very well written for a non-fiction book and kept your interest. In other hands it could have been very boring but I enjoyed reading it very much. Makes you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make your own mind up, Was Megrahi just a pawn in a much larger game?, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading this book I now want to find some other books on this terrible event. I understand their is one called Lockerbie: Fact and Fiction by the doctor father of one of the victims who has campaigned on behalf of Megrahi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Key to a Scandal., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adequately Explained by Stupidity?: Lockerbie, Luggage and Lies (Kindle Edition)
This a work of stupendous forensic brilliance. Such a pitiful shame for Mr Megrahi that the professionals involved in the Zeist trial failed to reach her stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convincing, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compelling reading to begin with but difficult for me to follow at the back end.

Nevertheless - despite of not being able to properly follow the concluding chapters I was convinced by Dr Kerr and her analysis that the bomb-suitcase was loaded at Heathrow and that the feeder-flight luggage from Frankfurt / Malta was placed on top of the bomb and could not have caused the disaster. Clearly Megrahi was an innocent man.

The book's title Adequately Explained by Stupidity? carries a question mark - In my opinion it should be Adequately Explained by Gross Stupidity. One can only wonder at the workings of the minds of those who sat in judgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews