Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ”The breath came out of him . . . and with it came blood, bubbling up hot and thick.”
***Warning. This is a review for the casual reader. Most details will be redundant for long time fans.***

This is the first original novel, or novel of any kind based on the NBC television network show "Grimm". "Grimm" is a show that is a cross between urban fantasy and the police procedural, and the star of this show is the cop Nick...
Published 5 months ago by Mark Louis Baumgart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Might be an idea for the author to watch an episode or two
The storyline was interesting; but I kept getting irritated by the portrayals of the main characters from the tv show. It seems that John Shirley has been given a general outline of the premise of the show, but has never actually watched it.

When the author uses his imagination and describes characters who have been created solely for the purpose of this book,...
Published 3 months ago by Ms J. Henry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ”The breath came out of him . . . and with it came blood, bubbling up hot and thick.”, 15 Mar 2014
***Warning. This is a review for the casual reader. Most details will be redundant for long time fans.***

This is the first original novel, or novel of any kind based on the NBC television network show "Grimm". "Grimm" is a show that is a cross between urban fantasy and the police procedural, and the star of this show is the cop Nick Burkhardt, who in the first episode, finds out that he is a legendary Grimm, a hereditary hero whose purpose is to track down, and destroy the wesen, or the werepeople who live amongst us mundanes, sometimes, but not always, as a predatory presence. He realized his purpose late in life after his aunt dies, and ends up having to figure out the rules of his new role all by himself. During the first season he had to keep his secret from his partner Hank Griffin, while having as an unofficial partner, the reformed wesen, the Blutbad (werewolf) Monroe. During the second season, Griffin is in on the secret, as is his girlfriend Juliette. Really though, you don’t even need much of this to read "The Icy Touch", but it's nice to know.

As the novel opens, Captain Sean Renard, a wesen Hexenbeist himself, is assigning Burkhardt and Griffin a case involving the nasty death of a Drang-zorn, or the badger wesen Buddy Clements, who along with his wife had disappeared several days before. Buddy has turned up roasted and burned to death in one of his wesen badger holes. It turns out that the only thing that could have done this is a daemonfeuer, or dragon wesen, and one has blown into town as an enforcer for a foreign drug ring from France called La Caresse Glacée, or The Icy Touch, and it is comprised mostly of wesens. Once thought defunct, The Icy Touch is now back with a vengeance, taking on all other cartels, and laying them to waste. Oh, and they have an age-old grudge against all Grimms, with a particular hatred for all of those related to Burkhardt.

They now have their sites on taking over Portland, along with the rest of the world, with the elimination of Burkhardt as part of the deal. And they are going to do this through their charismatic leader, who is also abetted in his megalomaniacal quest by using of the fabled Coins of Zakynthos. These coins give the user great persuasive power, but while doing so, they will also slowly destroy them. This will end well for nobody.

The television show "Grimm" was never, at its heart, a show about kings, queens, and fairy dust, and its constant sidebars into such things usually leave me uninvolved, as I'm not really interested in an urban fantasy version of a nighttime soap. For me, the fun of "Grimm" is the gritty cop show parts, the parts in which Burkhardt learns about his heritage, while still being a modern cop, as he investigates the weird wesen inspired crimes, all while trying to keep things on the downlow.

So, while Griffin, Juliette, and Renard are all in on Burkhardt's secret in this novel, his adventure in this novel is still, with some historical flashbacks, a gritty, street level, crime story, mixed with Shirley's juggling of Burkhardt’s private life. True, the story could have been more graphic in parts for some, but it wasn't needed, so what Shirley serves up is a quick, and exciting, pulp crime story, full of twists, turns, and last minute escapes. "The Icy Touch" by John Shirley brings back memories of those fast-paced fifties and sixties paperback crime thrillers, with some supernatural elements. This storyline could easily have gone over several episodes on the television show itself. Yes, sometimes the plot twists and escapes will delve too much towards the deaux ex machina, but Shirley is skilled enough to pull such things off.

The doings with The Icy Touch also drags Monroe and his Fuchbau girlfriend Rosalee into things, and for long-time fans, we go into detail as why Monroe had his conversion into a vegan Blutbad. So, Monroe fans will get a real healthy dose of him in this book.

On the other hand, due to the nature of this book, you should have watched a few episodes so that you will get a more detailed image of what the characters look like, and how the weres change, as Shirley is often rather vague when it comes to dealing with such details. Let's face it though, purists will always find something to complain about, and will always look for a reason to hate these media-tie ins, but if you like the show, and you're not interested in nitpicking irreverent details, you should like this novel

On the positive side, this is a stand-alone novel as nothing is continued into to the next novel in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
Mrs. T. M. Hunter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the TV show but still pretty good, 1 Jun 2014
This book isn't as bad as people make it out to be but it is a very entertaining read. The characterisation might not be as good as it is on television but is a good story. Maybe a good read if your only a casual reader and not a fan of Grimm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Might be an idea for the author to watch an episode or two, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The storyline was interesting; but I kept getting irritated by the portrayals of the main characters from the tv show. It seems that John Shirley has been given a general outline of the premise of the show, but has never actually watched it.

When the author uses his imagination and describes characters who have been created solely for the purpose of this book, then it’s fine; However, Hank is just a stereotype, based on other procedural police shows that the author may have seen; I barely recognised him.

There are other inconsistencies too. I would be very hesitant to buy another book on the tv series from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm: The Icy Touch (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoy the tv show so thought I'd give the books a go. I didn't have great expectations as I'd read mixed reviews but I really enjoyed it. I think it's well worth a read especially if your a fan of the show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was ok, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm: The Icy Touch (Kindle Edition)
The book in itself was a half decent story but I kept noticing inconsistencies on characters between this and the series it's supposed to be based on, for example Hank (who I normally like) I found a bit annoying at times and he seemed to be more worried about his suits getting dirty than doing some police work and I can't recall even seeing him in a suit...at times I did wonder had the author even watched an episode...Although the book could be read without having watched Grimm, I do think it would help to have watched it to understand some of the terminology. All in all if you get over a couple of flaws it's an entertaining enough read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm: The Icy Touch (Kindle Edition)
it was a very good book. It helps if you have watch the TV series but all in all a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly Lacking from its TV Counterpart, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
OK, so I'm a huge fan of the TV series having loved the concept from the very first episode, however there are times when such a thing only really works in one format and sadly that's the case with this. Its not that it doesn't bring it to life, it does but without a lot of the background the reader is left feeling fairly flat as the author obviously is relying on people having seen what has gone before to get the full depth of character, the complex relationships and of course to be up with all the terms that is commonly used within.

Not that it's a bad thing catering to just that one market, but to be honest with you, its something that I feel is lacking due to not bringing the whole thing to a new audience. It is OK as a book, but for me, I missed the more personal interactions between Nick and Monroe with the whole thing feeling a little flat. OK, so it's the first book and future titles may improve on this but for me, if you can't get it fully right with the first title, then you've automatically cut off a huge part of your audience for subsequent titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grimm: The Icy Touch
Grimm: The Icy Touch by John Shirley
4.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews