Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Oldfield's rock songs
By a stroke of good luck Mr Oldfield was asked to perform at the 2012 Olympics and this release reflects a burst of energy and it certainly comes across that all had a good time making this. It is beautifully reflective in parts; Dreaming in the Wind is particularly good and the upbeat Moonshine is one of Mike's catchiest songs to date. It certainly isn't Tubular Bells...
Published 9 months ago by Ben P

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield just doesn't do vocal tracks well enough.
Looking back over the collection, with very few exceptions, Mike's vocal tracks invariably come across as simplistic and in no way feel like they came from the same pen as his more substantial, sometimes inspirational, instrumental works. This album lacks ideas and any spirit. I'll be parking this one at the bottom of the pile, and I get no pleasure from saying that...
Published 7 months ago by Graham Butler


‹ Previous | 118 19 2027 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
Brilliant album delivered in timescale. Listen to it and you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
very fast delivery great to hear mike oldfields music change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice item !, 2 Sep 2014
By 
P. Adams "pauladams5" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
Ok ... one good track ... does not a great album make !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ugh, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
If it weren't Mike, it would be something I would have switched off within a few seconds and certainly wouldn't be thinking I must really give it another few chances. After three run-throughs it just sounds like very uninspired tripe with banal and twee lyrics. Mike has only rarely reached tolerability with his lyrics (while I would put instrumental works like Songs from Distant Earth in my 10 favourite albums of all time, and will even give repeated airtime to lesser works like Light + Shade, so I can clearly give him the benefit of any doubt and find positives in unlikely places) and much of his vocal-based work verges on naff / cringeworthy (like ABBA, but without the charm)...and I fear, from my perspective, this is right down there with the very worst of anything he did in the 80s. I am intrigued by the number of 5 star reviews - is it just because you love Mike and are even more forgiving than me, or do those who adore his instrumental works somehow also like this, which would perhaps require a very broad mixture of tastes. That said, perhaps I am just envious of those who are able to enjoy all of his catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
Have got all the albums & listen to the all regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back with the Bells, 6 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this album, it is very different from the more classical genre of the recent 'music of the spheres' album and goes back to Mike's earlier work 'Five Miles High' and 'Moon shadow'. Many of the tracks are immediately recognisable as 'Oldfield', The vocal version track that stand out are 'Sailing' the first track on the album, 'Chariots' and my favourite track ' Castaway', I think that this track balances the music perfectly with the vocal.

The second disc in this set which are all instrumental goes back into the area of 'Sentinel' which is my favourite Oldfield album, and in my opinion was better than the iconic 'Tubular Bells'.

Its good to see Mike back and on form, well worth listening to this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Sep 2014
By 
J. Koppe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I haver heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
If you like Mike Oldfield, you'll love it. If you don't like Mike Oldfield Try it, then you'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best since tuular bells, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (MP3 Download)
every track is fantastic.mike oldfield at his very best.once heard,forever played.second track moonshine is very good,as all the rest are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Different, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man On The Rocks (Audio CD)
Each track is slowly growing on us and we like all the tracks. This album is very different to the usual Mike Oldfield albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 2027 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man On The Rocks
Man On The Rocks by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews