Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation indeed!
I was transported to another place and time... Numerous ones, actually. Fernley handles intricate plotting with a sure hand. I'm cursed or blessed, depending upon how you look at it, with the ability to spot red herrings a mile away. I truly was in the dark here. But not in an off-putting way... Never overloaded with too many loose ends, but always juggling a theory...
Published 6 months ago by Jeff Lerner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Writing by Numbers
All the usual elements of a very average thriller. Guns, beautiful women, a cast of one-dimensional characters, and a mcguffin that could change the world - though it seems a bit unlikely in this particular case. Could have done with a decent editor as well as some decent research. Giving up a quarter of the way through - at my age, life is just too short to read this...
Published 5 months ago by Older and Far Away


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation indeed!, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
I was transported to another place and time... Numerous ones, actually. Fernley handles intricate plotting with a sure hand. I'm cursed or blessed, depending upon how you look at it, with the ability to spot red herrings a mile away. I truly was in the dark here. But not in an off-putting way... Never overloaded with too many loose ends, but always juggling a theory or two, thinking more than once, "aha, I know where he's going!" But I didn't, and where he took me was always better, more clever, and less expected than I thought. I seldom write these, but I seldom pass a cold, stay-in weekend as entertained and challenged as I was by The Babylon Revelation. A revelation indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable.., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
A proper adventure story - there are nods to Bourne, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Dan Brown etc but Fernley has his own characterful voice and he knows how to keep you entertained! Some great vignettes - the BBC execs seem uncannily true to life - and well researched in terms of background material which adds a reassuringly authoritative depth. Give me more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Dan Brown, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
What a revelation indeed! This book certainly gives Dan Brown a run for his money. Thoroughly enjoyable and fast paced - it would make a great film. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Thriller, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
The Babylon Revelation is a really good read. it reminded me of the best of Dan Brown, combined with a little Robert Harris and even Stig Larsson in places. The characters are really well drawn, some of the minor characters would be central in lesser books, and there's a good sense of place throughout. The pace is fast, this is a book that had me gripped over the New Year break.'There are a number of plots and sub-plots, all of which hang together well and the ending, well the ending was surprising, a genuinely unexpected twist in the tale. Fernley is really good on the ancient Babylonian scenes and story - it had me running to check the story of the fall of Babylon. If you're a fan of conspiracy theories, ancient history or just want a really good read, I'd recommend. No doubt someone will be snapping up the film rights, this would be the basis for a good summer blockbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
Rip-snorting novel that romps across the globe. It's Foucault's Pendulum meets Dan Brown and teaming up with Kate Moss to go on a sort of grail style quest. Twisty, with good detail and well written with a nice surprise at the end. It could be a wee bit shorter but on the whole a great read. I'd read another Jack Fernley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed, smart and great fun, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
An exciting thriller about an ancient cylinder with a history written on it than will change the history of religion and the world if revealed. As a result, many different people are after it, from ancient priests to BBC reporters to mysterious women. A proper adventure.

I like the way this book moves fluidly between so many countries and times, including Iraq, London, Italy, Persia, Arabia, Vienna. Lots of fascinating history in there. There is a big number of characters but each one is well drawn and each new scene exciting and fresh as the plot develops. The author has crammed a lot of history, people and adventure into one book, which makes it brilliant escapism for cold winter nights. If you like Dan Brown etc you should enjoy this. Very fast-paced plot, hard to keep up sometimes! But most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real page-turner, 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
I bought this because I love Dan Brown and I wasn't disappointed. It was a real page-turner with great central characters. Hope we see more of them. Was interesting to be reminded of CHARIOTS OF THE GODS and Erick Von Daniken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Writing by Numbers, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
All the usual elements of a very average thriller. Guns, beautiful women, a cast of one-dimensional characters, and a mcguffin that could change the world - though it seems a bit unlikely in this particular case. Could have done with a decent editor as well as some decent research. Giving up a quarter of the way through - at my age, life is just too short to read this sort of poorly written tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear Me!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
Having read previous reviews I decided to purchase this - but what ill conceived nonsense it was. I found it to be dull, repetitious and predictable. I was eagerly skimming through it at times just to get to the end. I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 17 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Babylon Revelation (Kindle Edition)
Read it. If it were a drink it'd be a shot. A strong one. And you'd order another. Intense and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Babylon Revelation
The Babylon Revelation by Jack Fernley
2.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews